
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
DATE: February 15, 2013 
 
TO: House Committee on Transportation and Economic Development 
 
FROM: Tom McClellan 
 DMV Administrator 
 
SUBJECT: HB 2263–Business Regulation Fee Increase 
 
 
INTRODUCTION 
 
HB 2263 increases business licensing fees for dealers, dismantlers and other vehicle-related 
businesses subject to regulation and inspection by the Department of Transportation. A fee 
increase is needed to continue delivering the services and support these regulated industries 
expect from our agency.   
 
BACKGROUND 
 
The DMV Business Regulation Section licenses and monitors vehicle-related businesses and 
issues temporary permits, trip permits, and dealer plates to certified dealers. The group also 
investigates improper activity by licensed and unlicensed businesses. The Business Regulation 
Section enforces the standards set by law, promulgates rules to protect consumers, and protects 
certified businesses from unfair competition. 
 
Business Regulation is funded by a combination of Highway Funds, civil penalties, and fees paid 
by the regulated businesses. Fees are set in statute and are deposited into the agency’s 
Transportation Operating Fund (TOF) along with civil penalties collected for improper practices. 
The Section operates with revenues from both the Highway Fund and the TOF. 
 
DMV business regulation fees were last increased in 2001 and no longer cover the full cost of 
operations.  The TOF fund balance declined significantly during the economic downturn.  
Operating costs have increased even with cost-cutting measures over the last three years to hold 
positions vacant and to improve internal processes for faster issuance and renewal of business 
certificates. 
 
IMPACTS 
 
HB 2263 increases the fees for original and renewal certificates for dealers, dismantlers and 
other vehicle-related businesses.   A cash flow analysis identified the fee increases needed to 
maintain current service levels. The results were shared with the Oregon Dealer Advisory 
Committee, which endorsed the proposed set of fees. 
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HB 2263 proposes a larger proportional increase for dismantler certificates due to expanded 
regulation of these businesses over the years without a fee increase.  The amount of work 
required to certify, inspect, and investigate dismantlers has grown to the point that it is nearly 
comparable to a new or used vehicle dealership.  In addition, industry representatives indicate 
that a “supplemental” dismantler certificate is equivalent to establishing a second dismantler 
business.  At their request, the supplemental dismantler certificate fee is proposed to match the 
original dismantler certificate fee. 
 
The fee increases were reviewed thoroughly by the Oregon Dealer Advisory Committee, which 
includes representatives of each of the affected industries.  ODAC members suggested changes 
during the development of this concept and gave unanimous support for HB 2263. 
 
 

License 
Current 

Fee 
Proposed 

Fee 

Dealer Certificate $958 $1,100 

Dealer Supplemental Certificate $230 $350 

Dismantler Certificate $450 $800 

Dismantler Supplemental Certificate $90 $800 

Duplicate Dismantler Certificate $30 $40 

Appraiser Certificate $75 $100 

Late Penalty Fee $100 $150 

Compliance Enforcement Fee $42 $75 

RV Show Fee $32 $50 

 
 
CONCLUSION 
 
The fee increases in HB 2263 are needed to continue delivering the current level of regulatory 
oversight and support expected from certified vehicle businesses in Oregon.  The ODAC 
stakeholder group was consulted by the Department, and has given unanimous support after its 
suggestions were integrated into the bill. 
 


