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1. SB91A s introduced on behalf of the General Residential Landlord/Tenant Coalition.
The General Residential Landlord Tenant Coalition is a state-wide coalition of tenant
advocates and landlord interest groups that has existed for about thirty years for the purpose
of coming to consensus in revising, clarifying, and updating Oregon’s Residential Landlord
and Tenant Act (ORLTA) in ways that work for landlords and for tenants. SB 91A is the
product of months of negotiation (14 regular monthly meetings typically of 3 hours each
since May of 2012) by the Coalition. The bill is consensus for all but one member, who
objects to one part of one issue (see 5-c-i below or Section 3 (3)) in the bill.

a. The Coalition consists of 10-15 active members, which includes landlord
representatives, tenant representatives, and representatives who have both
perspectives (a housing authority and a local government housing program specialist.)
The email list consists of 62 folks, and meeting notices, summaries, and drafts of
proposals are shared with all along the way. Participation is open to anyone.

b. The coalition has existed since the early 1980s, and has produced a negotiated bill
amending Oregon’s residential landlord/tenant law every session since then except in
1991, when we agreed to focus instead on affordable housing funding.

c. The coalition works a number of issues which don’t show up in our bills, perhaps
because we decide they are not good ideas (for example, this time, extending the
statute of limitations for landlord/tenant claims) or because there is not support
among a significant members of the coalition or because an issue is complex and
needs more work, in which case we may try to work it further for a future session
(e.g., guests and exclusions).

d. Coalition bills are always a product of compromise. No side gets everything that it
wants. And there is no way to quantify who got what or whether each side got an
equivalent amount. Still, pulling out one issue now may well cause the whole
applecart to fail.

e. One of the benefits of the coalition is its longevity, in that we have a commitment to
come back in future sessions and try to fix any mistakes that we’ve made; see the
housekeeping issues in this bill, for example.

2. The negotiated agreement includes five issues or areas:
a. Mandatory Renter’s Liability Insurance (#3 below)
b. Fees (#4 below)
c. Prior History (#5 below)
d. Early termination in a foreclosure (#6 below)
e. Housekeeping (#7 below)

3. Mandatory Renter’s Liability Insurance:
a. Current Law: Current statutes are unclear on the ability of landlords to require
Renter’s Liability Insurance as a condition of tenancy.


https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2013R1/Committees/SGGCP/Overview

b. Problem: Landlords would like to be able to require tenants to maintain liability
insurance, to insure the landlord and other tenants for any damages caused by tenants’
actions. Tenant advocates are concerned about the cost of renter’s liability insurance,
and the inability of some tenants to find insurance they can afford, or at all. Insurance
is often more expensive in lower-income areas, so low-income tenants get hit harder
by a cost they can least afford.

c. Solution: Allow landlords to require mandatory renter’s liability insurance, with
some parameters:

Vi.

Vil.

viii.

Xi.
Xil.
Xiii.

Must be in a written rental agreement.

Required coverage may not exceed $100,000 per occurrence or the customary
amount in that rental market, whichever is greater.

A landlord must advise an applicant in writing of any insurance requirement
and the amount required, prior to entering a rental agreement. The landlord
may require documentation of insurance coverage before the tenancy begins.
In an existing tenancy, a landlord may amend a written rental agreement to
require renter’s liability insurance, after giving the tenant at least 30 days’
written notice of the requirement. If the tenant fails to obtain insurance
coverage within that 30 day period, the landlord may terminate the tenancy
pursuant to ORS 90.392. The tenant may cure the cause of the termination as
provided by ORS 90.392 by obtaining insurance within a second 30-day
period.

A landlord may require documentation of continuing or renewed insurance
coverage on a periodic basis related to the insurance policy coverage period or
more frequently if the landlord reasonably believes that the insurance policy is
no longer in effect.

A landlord may only require that a tenant obtain or maintain renter’s liability
insurance if the landlord also has comparable liability insurance coverage and
provides documentation of that.

Neither the landlord nor the tenant can make unreasonable demands that have
the effect of harassing the other with regard to providing documentation of
insurance coverage.

A landlord may not require use of a particular insurance provider or carrier,
require that a tenant name the landlord as having special status on the tenant’s
insurance policy, or require waiver of the insurer’s subrogation rights.

A landlord cannot make a claim against the tenant’s liability insurance unless
the claim is for damages or costs for which the tenant is legally liable; the
claim is greater than the amount of the tenant’s security deposit, if any; and
the landlord provides a copy of the claim to the tenant contemporaneous with
filing the claim with the insurer.

A landlord may not require insurance if the tenant’s household income is
equal to or less than 50 percent of the federal Housing and Urban
Development family adjusted median income level for that area and
household size, as measured up to a five-person household.

A landlord may not require insurance in low-income subsidized housing.
Penalty for frivolous claims against a tenant’s insurance (damages plus $500).
A landlord must provide notice of the requirement for renter’s liability
insurance before charging a screening fee of an applicant.



4, Fees:

a. Current Law: Currently, ORS 90.302 (2) allows landlords to charge $50 non-
compliance fees for 5 specific non-compliances.
b. Problem:

iv.

Landlords would like to be able to charge fees for additional types of non-
compliances with written rules or rental agreement provisions, for
unauthorized smoking and unauthorized pets.

Landlords want to be able to escalate fees for repeat violations.

Tenants worry about inappropriate use of fees assessed unfairly, with little or
no process to challenge the issuance of the fee. Bad-actor landlords sometimes
assess fee after fee, leaving vulnerable tenants with the choice of paying up or
losing their housing.

Escalating fees exacerbate these fears.

c. Solution: Add two new noncompliance fees in 90.302 (2) (f) (the provision that
allows noncompliance fees), for smoking and unauthorized pets. Add an escalating
factor, for repeat violators. Add procedural protections for tenants to prevent mis-use

of fees.
i.

iv.

V.

Vi.

Fees can be stair-stepped as follows: First noncompliance, warning notice;
second noncompliance within one year, $50; third and any subsequent
noncompliances within one year of the warning notice, $50 plus 5 percent of
the rent.

Fee provisions must be spelled out in the rental agreement/rules, including any
stair-step.

A landlord must give a written warning before assessing a fee for a
subsequent noncompliance (part of the stair-step); warning must specify the
fee, including the second-offense, stair-stepped fee.

A landlord must assess the fee within 30 days; can’t wait and surprise the
tenant later.

A landlord cannot both assess a fee and evict the tenant for the same
noncompliance; landlord could evict for subsequent noncompliances without
assessing a fee for that noncompliance.

A landlord cannot deduct the fee from a rent payment. The landlord can
deduct from any deposit or evict using a 30/14 day for-cause notice.

5. Prior History:
a. Current Law: Current law prohibits landlords from considering an applicant’s prior

eviction history if the prior eviction was dismissed against the applicant/tenant or
decided in the tenant’s favor, but allows unlimited use of prior eviction judgments

against

a tenant no matter how old or of the applicant/tenant’s prior history of arrests

and convictions.

b. Problem: Tenants with prior eviction history or criminal history often encounter
insurmountable barriers when seeking safe, affordable housing. Even if years have
passed since the FED, arrest, or conviction, the tenant often cannot overcome this



barrier. This history can shut the door to housing for years to come, even when the
past behavior presents no current threat or is for conduct unrelated to performance as
a tenant. Tenants looking for safe housing for themselves and their families deserve to
be evaluated and assessed individually.

c. Solution:
i. A landlord may not consider eviction history when screening applicants, if:
1. The eviction was dismissed or the applicant prevailed (doesn’t apply
if the case is still pending); this is current law; or
2. The eviction judgment against the applicant/tenant is 5 or more years
old.
ii. A landlord may not consider arrest history in evaluating an applicant, where
the arrest did not result in charges which are still pending or in a conviction.
iii. A landlord may consider a criminal conviction (whether as a result of a trial,
guilty plea, or no-contest plea) and arrest and charging history in evaluating
an applicant if the conviction or pending charge is for criminal behavior that
is:
A drug related crime;
A person crime;
A sex offense;
A crime involving financial fraud, including identify theft and forgery;
or
5. Any other crime, if the nature of the criminal conduct for which the
applicant was convicted would adversely affect the landlord or other
tenants’ property, or the health, safety, or right to peaceful enjoyment
of the premises by other residents, the landlord or the landlord’s agent.

Hwpn e

6. Early termination in a foreclosure:

a. Current Law: ORS 90.310 requires a landlord of a property with 4 or fewer units to
disclose the existence of a pending foreclosure of the property to a tenant prior to the
execution of a rental agreement for that property. If a home goes into foreclosure after the
execution of a rental agreement, state and federal law protect the tenant’s ability to
remain in the home for the remainder of a fixed term lease, or for 90 days after the
foreclosure if the rental agreement is a month-to-month agreement. ORS 90.367 allows a
tenant to apply a security deposit or pre-paid rent to any rents owing a landlord who goes
into foreclosure, on the theory that a landlord in financial distress will not otherwise
refund such payments. These provisions of current law provide some protection from the
instability that foreclosure inflicts on tenants. However, there is no provision allowing a
tenant to terminate a fixed term lease for a dwelling unit that goes into foreclosure after
the lease has begun.

b. Problem: When a rental unit goes into foreclosure, it is a reflection of the landlord’s
financial distress. Upon notice of a pending foreclosure, tenants are compelled to



continue paying rent to a landlord who is not in-turn paying their mortgage and not
providing the tenant with the implied right to a secure tenancy. A tenant may want to
terminate a lease and relocate for a variety of reasons such as the uncertainty of the future
housing security.

c. Solution: Amend ORS 90.367 to allow a tenant, after receiving notice that the rental
property is in foreclosure, to serve a 60 day notice of termination of the tenancy on the
landlord. If the landlord does not provide proof that the foreclosure has been averted
within 30 days of receipt of the tenant’s notice, the tenancy will terminate and the tenant
is released from the rental agreement.

7. Housekeeping:

a.

ORS 90.275 (1): Remove the reference to guest in the temporary occupant statute.
A temporary occupant is not a type of guest.

Amend ORS 90.160 re calculation of notice periods to clarify inconsistency
regarding use of the term “midnight.”

Amend the period to refund of rent to avoid waiver in ORS 105.120 to ten days,
to be consistent with other sections in the Act on this topic.

Amend ORS 90.320 (1) (k), pertaining to carbon monoxide detectors. In 2011, the
Coalition bill amended ORS 90.316 and ORS 90.317 to be consistent with Fire
Marshal rules, but we failed to amend a similar provision in 90.320.

Amend ORS 90.302 (2) (c) to add a penalty for tampering with a carbon
monoxide detector, same as with a smoke alarm.

Amend ORS 90.425 and 90.675 to clarify that a landlord who simply stores a
tenant’s abandoned property, without seeking to dispose or sell it, still must give
the required notice and comply with the rest of the procedure.

Amend the definition of “rent” in ORS 90.100 (35) to clarify that rent is paid in
exchange for use of the dwelling and the premises.

Small changes to the rules relating to fees/deposits:

i. Amend ORS 90.302 to allow a landlord to charge for allowing credit/debit
card payments, where the landlord is passing through the credit card
company’s fee and the landlord also allows check or cash payment.

ii. Amend ORS 90.302 (6) (c) to clarify that the fee exception language
includes the cost to replace a lost key.

ii. Amend ORS 90.300 (6) (c) (a) (ii) to clarify the deposit language
regarding carpet cleaning.

iv. Amend ORS 90.300 (7) (c) (B) re deposits to clarify that the application of
the deposit for “down time” covers just time needed to clean or repair
beyond ordinary wear and tear, not standard cleaning.
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