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Problem:  There are 123 property tax expenditures.  Many have similar but different provisions 
for application, eligibility, timeframe, approval and disqualification.  The degree of variability is 
becoming unmanageable for county assessor’s offices throughout the state and leads to errors.  
The inefficiency in the administration of these programs was highlighted in Representative 
Nathanson’s recent task force on Government Efficiency.  A workgroup of county assessors 
facilitated by the department developed this bill as a follow up to recommendations from that 
Task Force.   
 
Solution:  Sunset unused or little used expenditures, conform various notices to a single format, 
simplifying certain lease notifications for exempt entities, conform the way claw back provisions 
are to be performed and shift the application responsibility to the person or entity seeking the 
exemption.   
 
 
Section 1 repeals SIX tax expenditures that are not used, little use or have never been used.  
They are: 
 

• ORS 263.290 (page 286 of your 2013-15 Tax Expenditure Report) This expenditure 
provides an exemption for all property of a sports and convention commission.  It was 
enacted in 1985 and has never been used.  ORS 263.210 already makes the commission 
a municipal corporation whose property would be exempt under ORS 307.090.   Sunset: 
None 
 

• ORS 307.065 (page 237 of your 2013-15 Tax Expenditure Report) This expenditure 
provides an exemption for all property of the federal government that is used and in the 
possession of a private defense contractor under an Air Force agreement.   It was 
enacted in 1965, there is no record of it ever being used.  Sunset: None 

 
• ORS 307.205 (page 266 of your 2013-15 Tax Expenditure Report) This expenditure 

provides an exemption for railroad right of way when used for public alternative 
transportation.  It was enacted in 1977 and is not used.  Transitions from rail use to bike 
use such as for rails to trails programs with the liability issue normally ownership 
transfer is preferred over permissive or shared use.  I believe any qualifying public 
transportation entity would be exempt under ORS 307.112.   Sunset:  None 

 
• ORS 307.220 (page 270 of your 2013-15 Tax Expenditure Report) This expenditure 

exempts nonprofit telephone associations.  This exemption was created in 1941.  The 
total benefit cannot exceed $37.  Our records reflect no filings.   Sunset:  None 
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• ORS 307.230 (page 271 of your 2013-15 Tax Expenditure Report) This expenditure 
exempts private telephone system property owned by an individual.  These systems 
consist of a couple poles and some line.  We are aware of only two for at least the last 
ten years with a total combined value of tax savings of $100.  By definition they cannot 
exceed $1500 or a tax savings of $22.  It was enacted in 1941.  Sunset:  None 

 
• ORS 307.240 This statute implements the two previously mentioned telephone 

expenditures.    
 

• ORS 308.559 (page 235 of your 2013-15 Tax Expenditure Report) This expenditure 
exempts property that is aircraft while it is being repaired.  It was enacted in 1995.  This 
exemption was used last in the 1999-01 biennium by Alaska/Horizon.   Sunset:  None  

 
“This exemption was created at least partly to encourage the location of a major aircraft 
repair facility in Oregon. The prospective facility was to be managed by a firm named 
Pamcorp. However, despite the fact that buildings were built to house this activity, 
Pamcorp did not succeed in operating the facility and is no longer in business. In this 
respect, the exemption has not yet succeeded in achieving its desired result.” 
 
 

Section 2 makes the application of Section 1 apply to tax years beginning on or after 2017.  This 
provision essentially allows opportunities for interested persons or businesses to use any of 
these expenditures and provide time to reauthorize any or all of these as you deem 
appropriate.   
  
Section 3 is the authority for legislative council to remove these statutes from the compilation 
when the expenditures end in 2017 unless reauthorized.   
 
The changes in Sections 4 to 14 are intended to conform and standardize the 
notices for exemption approval to April 1 for a series of housing related 
programs.  
 
Section 4-14  These sections provide consistency in the notices to assessors of various housing 
related exemptions.  April 1 is the primary date that applications are due for most programs.  
For all these programs we have inserted a reference to Section 4 as the filing deadline for filing 
notice of approval. 
 
Section 5 and 6  In this Low Income Rental Housing exemption the applicant files with the city 
or county, then the city or county files with the assessor.  This change makes it clear that the 
filing deadline for the notice of approval is as set forth in Section 4. 
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Section 7 and 8 In this Nonprofit Corporate Low Income Housing exemption the applicant files 
with the city or county then the approving entity must file the approval with the assessor.  This 
program requires an annual application.  Existing language has the applicant filing with the city 
or county by April 1.  Then the city or county files with the assessor but no filing date is 
specified.  The change in this section is that it conforms the filing to coincide with an April 1 
notice to the assessor.  
 
Section 9 In this Multiunit Housing exemption program the city or county must also approve 
the application.  The filing deadline for the notice is already April 1 so this bill makes no 
substantive change to this process and only makes it clear that the filing deadline for the notice 
of approval is as set forth in Section 4.  
 
Section 10 In this Single Unit housing program which is approved only by cities, there is no 
substantive change to the program.  The bill only makes it clear that the filing deadline for the 
notice of approval is as set forth in Section 4.  
 
Section 11 In this Vertical Housing program, the change proposed would have the approving 
entity, in this case the Housing and Community Services Department, notify the assessor as 
provided in Section 4.   
 
Section 12 and 13 In this Residential Rehabilitation program, the applicant can file with the city 
or county anytime (after completion of the rehabilitation).  The changes in this Section make it 
clear that the city or county would then file its notice of approval in conformance with Section 
4.    
 
Section 14 This is an “applicability” section.  It makes the changes in Sections 5 through 13 
apply to tax years beginning on or after July 1, 2014.  Two points of clarification. 1) These 
changes only apply to new applicants seeking their first year of exemption.  For all who are 
already in these programs, as long as there is no annual application required, these persons 
would not be affected.   Nonprofit corporation low income housing has an annual filing 
requirement.  2)  The first time these changes to the notice of approval to the assessor are 
effective is April 1, 2014.  This is the filing deadline for the 2014-15 tax year.   
 
Section 15 and 16 apply to government to government leases.  Issue:  current law has an 
application requirement that local governments often miss.  This has generated special bills in 
previous sessions to address this issue.  The concept here takes a more proactive approach by 
providing an optional alternative notice requirement that allows the government to notify the 
assessor only when a new lease is signed.  This is an alternative to the current law that requires 
an application by the leasing entity.    It also removes the filing deadline and late filing 
provisions.  Applies to existing and future government leases.   
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Sections 17 through 21 strives to bring standardization to the way 
disqualification and additional taxes are calculated. 
 
Section 17 For Nonprofit Corporate Low Income Housing this section makes consistent with 
other programs the way additional taxes are collected.  This is the “10 years or as reduced for # 
of years since left program” method.  
 
Section 18, 19 and 20 For the Vertical Housing program, In Section 18 the language for 
disqualification is removed and that language is pasted into Section 20.  In 20 we are adding the 
disqualification and additional tax language.  For vertical housing there is not currently an 
additional tax assessed upon disqualification.  This program has a low income component so for 
purposes of standardization it seemed reasonable to add that claw back provision similar to 
these other low income housing programs.   
  
Section 21 establishes applicability of these changes to the two programs addressed in section 
17, 18 and 20.  For Section 17, everyone in the program gets the benefit whether approved 
previously or in the future.  For Vertical housing (18 and 20) this makes it applicable only for 
new applicants.  There are not many disqualifications.   
 
Section 22-24   These sections amend the Farm Labor Camp / Child Care Facility exemption 
(page 241 of the Tax Expenditure Report).  Sections 22 and 23 work together to put the 
responsibility for obtaining the confirmation of compliance from OR-OSHA or the State Fire 
Marshal on the applicant rather than on the assessor.   
 
As background, we understand this exemption to have been created in part in response to the 
Oregon Safe Employment Act (OSEA), which created health code requirements for farm labor 
camps related to employment and may have preceded building codes as we know them today.    
  
Section 24 makes the changes applicable to exemption claims filed by April 1, 2014 for the 
2014-15 tax year, and for subsequent years. 
 
Sections 25 - 27 These sections affect “property of a housing authority” where another entity 
owns the housing property but the housing authority is actively involved in the property as 
allowed under ORS 307.092. That exemption currently has no application requirement, but the 
assessors don’t have an automatic way of knowing the property qualifies for exemption 
(because the deed might not indicate the involvement of the housing authority). To be 
consistent with other programs, Section 25 makes the exemption contingent on a one-time 
filing for exemption (under ORS 307.162, by April 1 or as allowed under late filing provisions).  
 
Section 28   Applies to the Alternative Energy Systems exemption.  In 2011 you amended this 
exemption to change the property to which this exemption applies.  In error, we believe, 
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Section 4 of the 2011 amendments placed a sunset on the 2011 amendments not the 
exemption itself.   
 
Oregon Laws Chapter 655 (3 and 4) 2011 
 
 SECTION 3. ORS 307.175 is amended to read: 
 307.175. (1) As used in this section, “alternative energy system” means property [equipped with] 
consisting of solar, geothermal, wind, water, fuel cell or methane gas energy systems for the purpose of heating, 
cooling or generating electricity.[electrical energy shall be exempt from ad valorem taxation in an amount that 
equals any positive amount obtained by subtracting the real market value of the property as if it were not equipped 
with such systems, from the real market value of the property so equipped.] 
 [(2) This section applies to tax years beginning prior to July 1, 2012.] 
 [(3) Except as provided in subsection (4) of this section, this section does not apply to property owned or 
leased by any person whose principal business activity is directly or indirectly the production, transportation or 
distribution of energy, including but not limited to public utilities as defined in ORS 757.005 and people’s utility 
districts as defined in ORS 261.010.] 
 [(4) This section applies to an alternative energy system that is owned or leased by a person whose principal 
business activity is directly or indirectly the production, transportation or distribution of energy if the system is a 
net metering facility, as defined in ORS 757.300, or other system primarily designed to offset onsite electricity use.] 
 (2) An alternative energy system is exempt from ad valorem property taxation if the system is: 
 (a) A net metering facility, as defined in ORS 757.300; or 
 (b) Primarily designed to offset onsite electricity use. 
 (3) Notwithstanding ORS 307.110 and 308.505 to 308.665, any portion of the real property to which an 
alternative energy system is affixed is exempt under this section if: 
 (a) The real property is otherwise exempt from ad valorem property taxation; and 
 (b) The alternative energy system is exempt under this section. 
 (4) Property equipped with an alternative energy system is exempt from ad valorem property taxation 
in an amount that equals any positive amount obtained by subtracting the real market value of the property 
as if it were not equipped with an alternative energy system from the real market value of the property as 
equipped with the alternative energy system. 
 
 SECTION 4. The amendments to ORS 307.175 by section 3 of this 2011 Act apply to tax years 
beginning on or after July 1, 2011, and before July 1, 2018. 
 
Section 28 of this bill then makes it clear that the 2011 amendments apply going forward.  It 
makes the sunset in section (2) apply to the exemption itself and not just the 2011 changes. 
 
Section 29 creates an effective date for this act 91 days following sine die. 
 
 


