## Vehicle Emissions Testing Changes HB 3443-2 Rep. John Davis

DEQ operates a Vehicle Inspection Program in the Portland and Rogue Valley areas of Oregon. In these areas, an emissions test is required when registering or renewing a vehicle with <u>Oregon DMV</u>. HB 3443-2 requires the Environmental Quality Commission to prepare revisions to Oregon's State Implementation Plan by July 1, 2014. The revisions would change the initial vehicle emissions testing requirement from the first vehicle re-registration (usually at four years) to exempting vehicles until they are more than six years old. Within 60 days of EPA acting on the plan submittal, DEQ must report to the Legislature in the manner provided by ORS 192.245. If EPA approves the revisions, DEQ shall make recommendations for legislation that it deems advisable. This bill takes effect on April 1, 2014. The bill exempts vehicles from the initial emissions test until they are more than six years old.

## **DEQ Vehicle Inspection Results:**

### How many vehicles does DEQ VIP test each year?

During the 2012 calendar year, VIP tested 556,130 vehicles (see table)

#### What percent of vehicles fail?

The overall failure rate in 2012 was 6.79%. Failure rate for vehicles 2008 and newer was 0.00%-0.74%.

Year	Pass	Fail	Total	Fail %
1975	168	157	325	48.31%
1976	344	335	679	49.34%
1977	421	330	751	43.94%
1978	644	532	1,176	45.24%
1979	483	380	863	44.03%
1980	441	238	679	35.05%
1981	433	196	629	31.16%
1982	643	219	862	25.41%
1983	620	257	877	29.30%
1984	1,372	480	1,852	25.92%
1985	1,317	516	1,833	28.15%
1986	2,427	746	3,173	23.51%
1987	2,084	627	2,711	23.13%
1988	3,712	886	4,598	19.27%
1989	3,534	921	4,455	20.67%
1990	6,505	1,152	7,657	15.05%
1991	5,759	1,030	6,789	15.17%
1992	10,123	1,435	11,558	12.42%
1993	9,384	1,276	10,660	11.97%
1994	16,210	1,729	17,939	9.64%
1995	14,344	1,502	15,846	9.48%
1996	18,745	2,393	21,138	11.32%
1997	18,096	2,326	20,422	11.39%
1998	28,308	2,582	30,890	8.36%
1999	23,805	2,066	25,871	7.99%
2000	36,906	2,746	39,652	6.93%
2001	25,986	2,281	28,267	8.07%
2002	39,328	2,465	41,793	5.90%
2003	28,526	1,642	30,168	5.44%
2004	43,387	1,559	44,946	3.47%
2005	30,030	957	30,987	3.09%
2006	45,033	978	46,011	2.13%
2007	29,611	397	30,008	1.32%
2008	37,234	279	37,513	0.74%

0.65%	14,918	97	14,821	2009
0.30%	7,794	23	7,771	2010
0.41%	6,839	28	6,811	2011
0.35%	2,889	10	2,879	2012
0.00%	112			2013
*6.79%	556,130	37,773	518,357	Total
至1998年後, <u>第1998年</u> 後期,1999年後月1日,1998年後,1998年後月	三、有""。"这些"我们们们"。"你们我们的是是是不是	전문 지정 것은 전망에서 감독했다. 전 400명 전 400명 전 400명		IUldi

What Are Other States Doing?

# Colorado emission testing rules - new vehicle exemption to change from 4 years to 7 years in 2015

http://www.thedenverchannel.com/news/local-news/colorado-emission-testing-rules-new-vehicle-exemption-to-change-from-4-vears-to-7-vears-in-2015

## Posted: 12/20/2012

DENVER - A state commission has approved changes in the emission testing program in Colorado.

The program, operated along much of the Front Range, requires most vehicles to pass an annual or biennial emissions test, depending on the age of the vehicle, prior to registration renewal.

Under new rules to start in 2015:

- New vehicles will be exempt from emissions testing for seven years instead of four
- Visual inspection for 1996-and-newer vehicles will be eliminated
- On-board diagnostics testing will be used for the two inspection cycles following the expiration of the model year exemption

"We continually evaluate the vehicle inspection program so that improvements can be made that balance customer convenience and air quality benefits," said Will Allison, director of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment's Air Pollution Control Division."These changes will do just that."

The changes will create the longest exemption period of any similar emissions program in the country, officials said. As for the on-board diagnostics, vehicles manufactured since the mid-1990s are equipped with on-board diagnostics, which refers to the self-diagnostic and reporting capability of the vehicle's onboard computer. Trained technicians can plug vehicles into a testing computer to check for trouble codes related to emissions. With this change, most vehicles will not need to submit to the well-known treadmill-style test at one of the area's Air Care Colorado testing facilities for the first 11 years.

The changes are scheduled for 2015 to allow time for the required legislative and U.S. Environmental Protection Agency approvals.

The Colorado Department of Revenue also will need to make significant alterations to the vehicle registration system to accommodate the changes.

## Washington

# In Our View: Rewards of Clean Air

Vehicle emissions tests will be phased out in Washington state by 2020

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

http://www.columbian.com/news/2011/aug/23/in-our-view-rewards-of-clean-air/

Washington state is getting out of the vehicle emissions testing business for the best of reasons: The tests are becoming increasingly unnecessary.

The phased-out change won't be complete until 2020, but at least the process has begun. And it disproves the timehonored complaint that, once government starts doing something (particularly if it involves taking our money), the government won't ever stop. To the contrary, in the next eight years vehicles will have moved into such wide compliance with tougher emissions standards enacted in 2009 that emissions tests will no longer be needed.

The state Department of Ecology made the announcement on Friday, and John Raymond, a longtime veteran in the state's emissions program, told KIRO-TV in Seattle: "The air quality has improved considerably since the program started, and the vehicles are much cleaner than they used to be. The Legislature, believe it or not, does not want to keep irritating people forever." This news is well-received in Clark County, one of the five most-populated counties where the tests are required. (The others are King, Pierce, Snohomish and Spokane.) Each year about 1 million vehicles are tested. Gradually, though, the testing will end and by 2020 Washingtonians will no longer have to endure the inconvenience and the expense (\$15) of the emissions test. Vehicle owners will know they're being phased out of the program when they stop receiving test notices through the mail. Total savings statewide will be about \$15 million by 2020; the tests are required every other year, so individual savings will be \$15 every two years.