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SHRINKING THE PIE - INCREASING THE BITE

Or

How HB 2712 Changed the Iine Structure,

Reduced Revenue to Local Governments,

But Increased Revenue to the State of Oregon

SHERIFE’S CITATIONS TO JUSTICE COURT

Before HB 2712 After HB 2712
The Bite Priority The Bite Priority
The Pie Payment The Pie Payment
Offense (The State’s  asa % of (The State’s  asa % of
Class (The Fine) Priotity Pmt)  the Fine | (The Fine) Priority Pmt.) the Fine
Class D $142 $37 26% $110 $60 54.5%
Class C $190 $37 19.5% $160 $60 37.5%
Class B $287 $37 12.9% $260 $60 23.1%
Class A 472 $37 7.8% $435 $60 13.8%
STATE OFFICER CITATIONS TO JUSTICE COURT
Before HB 2712 After HB 2712
The Pie The Bite Priority The Pie The Bite Priority
Payment Payment
Offense | (The Fine)  (The State’s  asa%of | (TheFine)  (The State’s  asa % of
Class Priority Pmt.)  the Fine Priority Pmt.)  the Fine
Class D $142 $37 26% $110 $85 77.3%
Class C $190 $37 19.5% $160 $110 68.7%
Class B $287 $37 12.9% $260 $160 61.5%
Class A 472 $37 7.8% $435 $247.50 56.9%

Local Governments do not receive any court revenue until the State’s Priority Payment is
paid in full. HFIB 2712 converted any payment to the State into a Priority Payment.
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HB 2857 Summary

THE PROBLEM

¢ The Presumptive Fine and Minimum Fine effectively set the range of the fine that may be
imposed on a traffic offense conviction (to impose a greater fine, a court must hold a
hearing).

e The $60 State levy essentially “swallows™ the fine on most convictions because it is such a
high proportion of the fine. The $60 levy is;
«  100% of the minimum fine for a Class D violation,
= 75% of the minimum fine for a Class C violation,
»  46% of the minimum fine for a Class B violation,
»  27% of the minimum fine for a Class A violation.
= 54.5% of the presumptive fine for a Class D violation,
x  37.5% of the presumptive fine for a Class C violation,
= 23% of the presumptive fine for a Class B violation,
= 14% of the presumptive fine for a Class A violation.

¢ The State will skim from 37.5% to 75% of money paid before the local government gets
anything from the most common local court offense (the Class C violation),.

¢ The present fine structure is thus loaded against local government in favor of generating
revenue to the State.

e Local court funds are paid to the Criminal Fine Account (CFA); about 60% of CFA funds
are paid directly to the State General Fund.

¢ The present $60 State levy actually has a much higher value because of priority status—it
must be paid first—and thus has a “priority premium.” :

WHAT LOCAL COURTS DO

e Local courts adjudicate most of the misdemeanor crimes and violation offenses that are filed
in courts in Oregon (except for Multnomah, Josephine and one or two other counties).

e Local courts have a huge impact upon public safety and the quality of life in nearly all of
Oregon’s communities.

e Local governments pay for all activities associated with citation, arrest, prosecution, trial,
sentencing, probation, incarceration and judgment enforcement in Local Courts and they
pay for the operation of local courts, too.






THE PRIORITY PREMIUM:

How Priority Status Inflates Court Revenue Distributions to the State.

Present law requires that any money collected on a criminal action judgment must first be
applied to satisfy all State obligations before any money is applied to local government obligations.
See, ORS 153.633 to 153.650. Because so many judgments are only partially paid, this priority
scheme heavily loads the distribution of revenue in favor of the State. The tablie below illustrates
the Priority Premium.

Unitary Assessment Offense Surcharge
Amount $37.00 $45.00
Total Distributed $226,430.00 $227,021.00
Value of Single $1 $6,119.73 $5,044.91
Difference $1,164.64
Premium 23%
Premium Value $1.23 $1.00

During the 24-month period, 1/1/10 — 12/31/12, the $37 Unitary Assessment paid almost as
much to the State of Oregon as did the $45 Offense Surcharge. Every $1 of the $37 Unitary
Assessment was worth more to the State—23% more—than every $1 of the $45 Offense Surcharge
was to Linn County. The Unitary Assessment was repealed, but the priority premium now applies
to all distributions to the State.

The $60 State levy imposed on all criminal action convictions, ORS 153.633, now has the
henefit of the Priority Premium. Thus that $60 State levy is worth about $74. In effect, the Prionty
Premium for the State is a priority penalty for local governments. That priority payment is paid at
the expense of the local government operating the justice court or municipal court.

The Priority Premium for State distributions results in a priority penalty for local
governments because the local government paying the cost of operating the justice court or
municipal court does not receive any revenue until the State distribution is fully paid.






OREGON STATE POLICE CITATIONS FILED IN JUSTICE COURT

MINIMUM FINE AMOUNT
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OREGON STATE POLICE CITATIONS

Paid to State Paid to County Fine Amount
Class D $60.00 $60.00 $0.00 $60.00
Class C $80.00 $70.00 $10.00 $80.00
Class B $130.00 $95.00 $35.00 $130.00
Class A $220.00 $140.00 $80.00 $220.00

Paid to State Paid to County Fine Amount
Class D $110.00 $85.00 $25.00 $110.00
Class C $160.00 $110.00 $50.00 $160.00
Class B $260.00 $160.00 $100.00 $260.00
Class A $435.00 5247.50 §187.50 $435.00






OREGON STATE POLICE CITATIONS FILED IN JUSTICE COURT

HB 2857

MINIMUM FINE AMOUNT
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OREGON STATE POLICE CITATIONS - HB 2857

Paid to State Paid to County Fine Amount
Class D $60.00 $52.50 $7.50 560.00
Class C $80.00 $62.50 517.50 $30.00
Ciass B $130.00 $87.50 $42.50 $130.00
Class A $220.00 $132.50 $87.50 $220.00

Paid to State Paid to County Fine Amount
Class D $110.00 $77.50 $32.50 $110.00
Class C $160.00 $102.50 $57.50 $160.00
Class B $260.00 $152.50 $107.50 $260.00
Class A $435.00 5240.00 5195.00 $435.00







SHERIFF CITATIONS FILED IN JUSTICE COURT

MINIMUM FINE AMOUNT
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SHERIEF CITATIONS FILED IN JUSTICE COURT

Paid to State

Paid to County

Fine Amount

Class D $60.00 $60.00 $0.00 $60.00
Class C $80.00 $60.00 $20.00 $80.00
Class B $130.00 $60.00 $70.00 $130.00
Class A $220.00 $60.00 $160.00 $220.00

Paid to State

Paid to County

Fine Amount

Class D $110.00 $60.00 $50.00 $110.00
Class C $160.00 $60.00 $100.00 $160.00
Class B $260.00 $60.00 $200.00 $260.00
Class A $435.00 $60.00 $375.00 $435.00







SHERIFF CITATIONS FILED IN JUSTICE COURT
HB 2857

MINIMUM FINE AMOUNT
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SHERIFF CITATIONS FILED IN JUSTICE COURT - HB 2857

Paid to State Paid to County Fine Amount
Class D $60.00 $45.00 $15.00 $60.00
Class C $80.00 $45.00 $35.00 $80.00
Class B $130.00 $45.00 $85.00 $130.00
Class A $220.00 $45.00 $175.00 $220.00

Paid to State Paid to County Fine Amount
Class D $110.00 $45.00 $65.00 $110.00
Class C $160.00 $45.00 5115.00 5160.00
Class B $260.00 $45.00 $215.00 $260.00
Class A $435.00 $45.00 $390.00 5435.00
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CASCADE LOCKS JUSTICE COURT REVENUE 2000 THROUGH 2013
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CASCADE LOCKS JUSTICE COURT REVENUE 2000 THROUGH 2013

Jun-00 53.52% 46.47% 11.87%
Jun-01 54.42% 45.56% 11.37%
Jun-02 52.94% 47.06% 11.09%
Jun-03 51.50% 48.48% 10.52%
Jun-04 51.20% 48.80% 9.44%
Jun-05 48.28% 50.99% 8.48%
Jun-06 47.63% 51.19% 7.93%
Jun-07 48.02% 44.50% 7.45%
Jun-08 47.92% 50.23% 7.69%
Jun-09 48.12% 50.00% 7.84%
Jun-10 42.98% 55.37% 6.83%
Jun-11 40.55% 57.89% 6.81%
Jun-12 48.59% 51.41% 0.00%
Jun-13 55.68% 44.32% 0.00%







CASCADE LOCKS JUSTICE COURT REVENUE SURVEYS 2000-2013

Total State Crt

Court FYE  Total Court Section 6b Unitary Payments Security County Net Revenue % to % to County % to No.of No,of No. ofNo.ofNo. of

Rvenue Assessment fo State Assessment Assessment  to County State Assessment County Viol Crimes Civil FED 8C
Cascade Locks Jun-00 $706,305.19 $156,0652.00  $378,028.57 $0.00 $83,811.00 $328,19212 53.52% 11,.87% 46.47% 8404
Cascade Locks Jun-01 $857,988.14 $214,330.25  $488,728.19 $0.00 $102,138.00 $409,167.45 54.42% 11.37% 45.56% 8831
Cascade Locks Jun-02 $745,146.95 $169,318.25  $394,480.75 $0.00  $82,562.50 $350,666.20 52.84% 11.09% 47.06% 8598
Cascade Locks Jun-03 $912,042.86 $182,517.00  $460,695.27 $0.00  $95,868.00 $442,120.19 51 .50% 10.52% 48.48% 7544
Cascade Locks Jun-04  $1,037,568.50 $191,588.00 $531,277.00 $0.00  $97,923.50 $506,292.50 51 .20% 9.44% 48.80% 7826
Cascade Locks Jun-08 $946,079.56 $158,336.60  $456,730.75 $0.00 $80,22256 $482,367.81 48.28% 8.48% 50.99% 6680
Cascade Lacks Jun-06  $1,1566,441.47 $176,384.00  $550,785.27 $9,122.00 $91,700.94 $591,978.70 47.63% 7.93% 51.19% 7433
Cascade Locks Jun-07  $1,168,263.25 $167,949.00  $561,023.96 $20,655.00 $87,086.00 $519,868.29 48.02% 7.45% 44.50% 6186
Cascade Locks Jun-08 $1,083,620.29 $165,887.00  $524,109.29 $20,214.00  $84,117.00 $549,306.00 47.92% 7.690% 50.23% 5715
Cascade Locks Jun-09 $998,026.29 $155,761.47  $480,257.37 $18,850.00 $78,278.00 $499,000.92 48,12% 7.84% 50.00% 4948
Cascade Locks Jun-10 $596,785.64 $126,876.14  $428,438.62 $16,049.00  $68,041.00 $551,876.02 42.98% 6.83% 55.37% 5383
Cascade Locks Jun-11 $893,581.52 $108,537.27  $362,358.28 $13540.50 $60,839.16 $517,306.74 40.55% 6.81% 57.89% 4226
Cascade Locks Jun-12 $903,387.03 $73,512.30 $438,967.61 $464,419.42 48.59% 0.00% 51.41% 4230

Cascade Locks Feb-13 $462,354.84 $96,604.50 $257,456.28 $204,898.56 55.68% 0.00% 44.32% 2106






JACKSON COUNTY REVENUE 2005 THROUGH 2013
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JACKSON COUNTY REVENUE 2005 THROUGH 2013

June-05 38.74% 50.95% 10.31%
June-06 33.46% 57.23% 9.31%
June-07 29.53% 63.19% 7.28%
June-08 27.13% 65.65% 7.22%
June-09 23.71% 69.59% 6.70%
June-10 21.56% 72.99% 5.45%
June-11 19.22% 75.54% 5.24%
June-12 17.19% 79.12% 3.69%
June-13 31.03% £68.39% 0.58%







JACKSON COUNTY JUSTICE COURT REVENUE SURVEYS 2005-2013

Court FYE  Total Court Unitary Total Payments St Crt Security County  Net Revenue % to % to County “%to No.of No. of

Rvenue  Assessment to State Assessment  Assessment to County State Assessment County Violation Crimes
Jackson Co. Jun-05  $1,140,570.00 $268,037.00 $441,835.00 $0.00 $117,637.00 $581,096.00 38.74% 10.31%  50.95% 12369
Jackson Go. Jun-06 §$1,423,818.C0 $265,977.00 $476,418.00 $20,698.00 $132,538.00 $814,962.00 33.46% 931% 57.23% 11798
Jacksen Co. Jun-07  $1,916,248.00 $309,194.00 $565,595.00 $43,722.00 $439,422.00 $1,210,925.00 29.53% 7.28%  63.19% 15879
Jackson Co. Jun-08  $2,307,106.00 $352,508.00 $625,808.00 $50,217.60 $166,639.00 $1,514,659.00 27.13% 7.22%  85.65% 15208
Jackson Co. Jun-09  $2,484,186.00 $331,701.00 $588,967.00 $55,180.00 $166,382.00 $1,728,837.00 23.71% 8.70%  69.59% 18097
Jacksen Co. Jun-10  $2,302,672.00 $278,412.00 $496,517.00 $47,090.00 $125,385.00 $1,680,770.00 21 .56% 5.45% 72.99% 13764
Jackson Co. Jun-11  $2,466,562.00 $297,636.00 $474,057.00 $51,813.00 $129,158.00 $1,863,347.0C¢ 19.22% 524%  7554% 16236
Jackson Co. Jun-12  $2,161,163.07 $214,693.14 $371,528.70 $35,071.91 $79,753.88 $1,709,869.49 17.19% 368% 79.12% 12515
Jackson Co. Feb-13 $1,443,211.81% $31,619.87 $447 824.41 $4,654 .44 $8,342.09 $987,045.31  31.03% 0.58%  68.38% 8876






TILLAMOOK JUSTICE COURT REVENUE 2004 THROUGH 2013
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TILLAMOOK JUSTICE COURT REVENUE 2004 THROUGH 2013

Jun-04 39.96% 45.71% 14.33%
Jun-05 36.94% 47.66% 15.35%
Jun-06 35.22% 50.80% 13.97%
Jun-07 35.03% 51.59% 13.38%
Jun-08 33.73% 52.85% 13.42%
Jun-09 38.17% 49.66% 12.17%
Jun-10 32.96% 56.29% 10.75%
Jun-11 28.44% 61.02% 10.54%
Jun-12 30.73% 68.35% 0.00%
June-13 39.57% 57.99% 0.00%







TILLAMOOK JUSTICE COURT REVENUE SURVEYS 2004-2013

Court FYE Total Court  Section 6b Unitary Total Payments St Crt Security County Net Revenue % to % to County % fo No. of No.of No.of No. of No. of
Rvenue Assessment to State  Assessment Assessment to County State Assessment County Violation Crimes Civili FED SC

Tillamock Jun-04 $690,251.24 $139,908.75 $275,819.28 $0.00 $88,891.59 $315,540.37 39.96% 14.33% 45.71% 5789 480

Tillamook Jun-05 $509,429.72 $119,678.75 $221,449.25 $0.00  $92,275.98 $285704.49 36.94% 15.39% 47.66% 6026 453

Tillamook Jun-06 $642,365.65 $123,348.42 $226,261.69 $4 687.00 $89,759.46 $326,348.50 35.22% 13.97% 50.80% 6039 315

Tillamook Jun-07 $870,106.22 $169,632.17 $304,828.14 $18.013.55 $116,417.01 $448,861.07 35.03% 13.38% 51.59% 7870 364

Tillamook Jun-08 $803,556.90 $152,343.37 $271,040.58 $16,604.00 $107,803.55 $424,712.77  33.73% 13.42% 52.85% 7221 439

Tillamook Jun-09 $761,078.67 $150,020.08 $260,516.42 $17,338.00 $92,612.57 $377,049.68 38.17% 12.17% 49.66% 7185 680

Tillamook Jun-10 $846,787.07 $142,124.62 $279,120.81 $17,628.00 $91,034.98 $476,631.28 32.96% 10.76% 56.29% 6366 683

Tillamook  Jun-11 $907,889.49 $130,618.20 $258,163.09 $16,832.25 $95719.65 $554,006.75 28.44% 10.54% 61.02% 5635 588

Tilamook Jun-12 $701,342.00  $42,060.00 $215,538.00 $479,369.00 30.73% 0.00% 6B.35% 5069 0 244 73 223

Tillamook Jun-13 $371,291.69 $146,927.18 $215,321.256  38.57% 0.00% 57.99%






LINN COUNTY JUSTICE COURT REVENUE 2000 THROUGH 2013
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LINN COUNTY JUSTICE COURT REVENUE 2000 THROUGH 2013

June-00 39.80% 51.02% 9.18%
June-01 40.31% 50.88% 8.80%
June-02 40.86% 51.00% 8.14%
June-03 35.72% 55.53% 8.75%
June-04 28.72% 63.13% 8.03%
June-05 25.30% 67.27% 7.39%
June-06 25.13% 68.09% 6.78%
June-07 24 .81% 68.90% 6.29%
June-08 21.78% 72.02% 6.15%
June-09 23.40% 70.96% 5.63%
June-10 21.92% 72.45% 5.52%
June-11 21.92% 73.30% 4.76%
June-12 24.78% 72.61% 2.45%
Feb-13 30.23% 69.08% 0.00%







| INN COUNTY JUSTICE COURT REVENUE SURVEYS 2000-2013

Court FYE  Total Court Section &b Unitary Total Payments St Crt Security County  Net Revenue % to % to County % to No.of No.of No.ofNo.of No. of
Rvenue Assessment to State  Assessment Assessment to County State Assessment County fiolation Crimes  Civii FED _ 8C

Linn Co,  Jun-00  $427,476.34 $0.00 $81,084.00 $170,126.60 $0.00 $39,236.25 $218,113.49 38.80% 9.18% 51.02% 2554 351 1 7 1
Linn Co.  Jun-Gi $435,204.58 $0.00 $82,566.50 $175,447 12 $0.00 $38,294.75  $221,462.71 A4031% 8.80% 50.89% 2648 84 1 6 5
Linn Co. Jun-02  $368,603.21 $0.00 $63,023.25 $150,594.66 $0.00  $30,007.00 $188,001.55 40.86% 8.14% 51.00% 1869 101 3 2 5
Linn Co.  Jun-03  $453,896.30 $0.00 $91,944.75 $162,142.12 $0.00 $39,608.00  $252,056.18 3572% 8.75% 55.53% 3628 183 49 10 378
Linn Co.  Jun-04  $453,224.08 $0.00 $83,042.25 $130,165.16 $0.00  $36,402.25 $286,127.67 28.72% 8.03% 83.13% 2711 181 473 5 805
Linn Co. Jun-05  $485,818.00 $C.00 $78,932.25 $122,922.00 $0.00  $35,887.75 $326,820.75 25.30% 7.39% 67.27% 2443 197 466 4 880
Linn Co.  Jun-06 $543,265.58 $0.00 $88,239.00 $136,517.43 $0.00 $36,832.75 $369,915.41 25.13% 6.78% 68.09% 2873 279 523 14 909
Linn Co. Jun-07  $585,441.64 $0.00 $4,174.00 $145,259.50 $9.603.00 $36,803.00 $403,379.14  24.81% 6.29% 68.90% 2579 233 577 10 907
Linn Co.  Jun-08  $648,418.37 $0.00 $77,887.53 $141,255.16 $7.988.00 $39,863.25  $466,997.96  21.78% 8.15% 72.02% 2266 252 333 9t 321
Linn Co.  Jun-09  $975,914.55 $0.00 $13,800.43 $228,322.73 $14,218.00  $54,914.99 $602,492.83  23.40% 563% 70.86% 4319 414 142 247 337
Linn Co.  Jun-10  $1,094,720.88 $0.00  $140,343.92 $239,941.21 $15,276.00  §6D,456.33 $793,084.32 21.92% 552% 72.45% 4311 435 1641 185 363
Linn Co.  Jun-11  $1,181,398.53 $0.00  $138,984.38 $258,966.32 $15,545.01  $56,220.76 $865,966.95 21.92% 4.76% 73.30% 4052 424 193 1863 287
Linn Co.  Jun-12  $803,694.38 §46,237.00 $77,784.35 $223,961.23 $9,842.92 $22,161.00 $656,174.65 24.78% 2.45% 72.61% 3497 354 61 171 122
Linn Co. Feb-13  §546,777.27 $89,6808.75 $9,199.94 $165,289.15 $1,479.48 $0.60 $377,716.90  30.23% 0.00% 69.08% 1917 193 38 111 73






SPRINGFIELD MUNICIPAL COURT REVENUE 1990 THROUGH 2013
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SPRINGFIELD MUNICIPAL COURT REVENUE 1990 THROUGH 2013

Jun-90 8.96% 86.40% 4.64%
Jun-91 9.22% 85.73% 5.05%
Jun-92 14.43% 80.23% 5.34%
Jun-93 19.82% 74.67% 5.50%
Jun-54 18.9%% 75.47% 5.53%
Jun-95 15.55% 78.69% 5.76%
Jun-96 16.59% 77.09% 6.32%
Jun-97 17.12% 76.36% 6.52%
Jun-98 17.50% 76.58% 5.92%
Jun-59 17.60% 76.29% 6.11%
Jun-00 20.81% 72.73% 6.46%
Jun-01 26.81% 66.64% 6.55%
Jun-02 25.86% 67.72% 6.42%
Jun-03 24.80% 69.30% 5.80%
Jun-04 22.09% 72.75% 5.17%
Jun-05 22.60% 72.54% 4.86%
Jun-06 21.52% 73.80% 4.68%
Jun-07 20.98% 74.62% 4.39%
Jun-08 19.64% 76.20% 4.16%
Jun-09 20.53% 75.15% 4.32%
Jun-10 19.85% 76.74% 3.42%
Jun-11 21.04% 74.86% 4.10%
Jun-12 19.41% 78.48% 2.11%
Jun-13 24.10% 74.67% 1.23%







SPRINGFIELD MUNICIPAL COURT REVENUE SURVEYS 1990-2013

Court FYE  Total Court Unitary Total Payments St Crt Security County Net Revenue % to % to County % to No. of No. of
Rvenue Assessment to State  Assessmeni{ Assessment to City State Assessment City Violation Crimes

Springfield Jun-90  $533,453.19 N/A, $47,775.00 $24,764.15 $460,914.04 8.96% 464%  86.40%

Springfield Jun-91 $803,358.59 NiA $74,054.00 $40,551.8C $688,752.79 9,22% 5.05% 85.73%

Springfield Jun-92  §820,323.20 $15,025.50 $118,378.70 $43,768.21 $658,176.29  14.43% 5.34%  80.23%

Springfieid Jun-93  $754,445.73 $76,064.20 $149,536.05 $41,530.59 $563,379.08  19.82% 550%  74.67%

Springfield Jun-g84  $802,352.41 $97,114.25 $152,393.58 $44,398.48 $605,560.35  18.99% 5583%  75.47%

Springfield Jun-85  $766,739.26 $92,603.14 $119,227.40 $44.141.38 $603,370.48  15.55% 576%  78.69%

Springfield Jun-98  $B47,712.59 $108,453.01 $140,643.09 $53,544.06 $653,524.54 16.58% 6.32%  77.09%

Springfield Jun-97  $1,014,958.20 $126,364.50 $173,800.90 $66,179.38 $774,978.92 17.12% 6.52%  76.36%

Springfieid Jun-98  $857,632.64 $110,878.00 $150,095.14 $50,736.21 $656,801.2¢  17.50% 502%  76.58%

Springfield Jun§9  $912,537.48 $123,384.29 $160,631.19 $55,738.64 $606,167.65 17.60% 6.11%  76.28%

Springfield Jun-00  $996,669.12 $178,746.86 $207,425.35 $64,349.46 $724,894.31  20.81% 6.46%  72.73%

Springfield Jun-01  $1,085,453.18 $251,105.55 $285,681.43 $69,769.80 $710,001.85 26.81% 6.55%  66.64%

Springfield Jun-02  $1,150,083.40 $261,857.56 $297,349.18 $73,870.17 $778,844.05  25.88% 6.42%  67.72% 8292 2731

Springfietd Jun-03  $1,188,618.11 $255,574.24 $294,796.49 $70,140.69 $823,680.93  24.830% 590%  68.30% 7850 2608

Springfield Jun-04 $1,081,390.84 $205,607.97 $238,832.38 $55,891.96 $788,666.50 22.08% 517%  72.75% 6633 2711

Soringfield Jun-05  $747,166.55 $133,304.78 $162,395.96 $63,536.47 $521,234.12  21.73% 8.50%  69.76% 4429 1693

Springfieid Jun-06 $1,353,306.00 $237,626.00 $291,244.00 $63,336.00 $998,726.00 21.52% 4.68%  73.80%

Springfield Jun07  $1,645,669.14 $289,803.42 $345,300.85 $72,318.64 $1,228,040.85 20.98% 4.39%  74.62%

Springfield Jun-08  §1,624,407.40 $253,470.35 $319,105.86 $67,520.22  $1,237,781.32  19.84% 416%  76.20%

Springfield Jun-09  $1,671,056.51 $271,987.11 $343,010.88 $72.205.36 §1,255,840.27 20.53% 432%  75.15% 8427 3017

Springfield Jun-10  $2,025,097.23 $320,686.60 $401,892.80 $69,191.91  $1,554,012.52 19.85% 342%  T76.74% 8226 4119

Springfield Jun-11 $1,931,815.83 $242,662.48 $406,426.17 $70,288.99 $1,446,100.67  21.04% 4,10%  74.86%

Springfield Jun-12  $2,463,278.8% $232,139.09 $476,040.17 $62,201.57 $1,925037.21  19.33% 2.53%  78.15% 8961 5071

Springfield Jun-13  $1,396,857.07 $336,615.35 $17,220.17  $1,043,021.55 24.10% 1.23%  7467%






THE COUNTY ASSESSMENT

The $60 levy that is the subject of Section 1 of HB 2857 was determined by an additive
method: The Unitary Assessment ($37) was added the County Assessment for the Class B
violation ($25) then rounded down to $60. Three levels of error underlie this computation: It
based upon the wrong class of offense; it did not exclude payments to State accounts; it did not
account for the priority disparity between the Unitary Assessmeni (first) and the County

Assessment (last).

The County Assessment (2009 ORS 137.309)
The Base Assessment % of the State’s State’s
Fine Amount Fine Share in § | Share - %
Class D $142 $15 10.5% $4 26.7%
Class C $190 $18 9.5% $5 27.8%
Class B $287 $25 8.7% §7 28%
Class A 472 $30 6.4% 58 26.7%

First, it was assumed that the most common offense was the Class B traffic violation—
this was based upon anecdotal information from Multnomah County. Actually, for most trial
courts, the Class C traffic is the most common offense. Generally, the average judgment m most
trial courts tracks the Presumptive Fine (previously the “Base Fine™ or “Bail”) of the Class C
violation. This error overstated the value of the County Assessment used in the calculation.

Second, the additive calculation did exclude from the County Assessment those amounts
that were paid to State of Oregon accounts. For the Class C violation that amount was $5. Thus,
using that strait additive method, the amount added to the $37 Unitary Assessment would have
been $13 (Class C). Thus, the strait additive total should have been $50.

Finally, the additive calculation falsely assumed that the Unitary Assessment and County
Assessment had identical priorities of distribution—that is that they had the same value, dollar
for dollar. Actually, they did not: The Unitary Assessment had the first priority to payments
made on fines; the County Assessment had the last priority-—the County Assessment was not
paid “until all other fines, fees, and assessments ordered by the court have been paid.” Former,

ORS 137.309(5).

If it had been properly calculated, the corrected additive method would have yielded the
following calculation: To the $37 Unitary Assessment would have been added the amount of the
County Assessment for the Class C violation ($18) minus the State’s share of the County
Assessment ($5); the resulting amount ($13) adjusted to about 3/5°s value to reflect the low
priority of the County Assessment yielding about $8; thus the calculation should have been $37
+ $8 = $45






137.309 County assessment; amount; collection; distribution. (1) Except as provided in
subsection (4) of this section, whenever a circuit or municipal court or a justice of a justice court
imposes a sentence of a fine, term of imprisonment, probation or any combination thereof,
including a sentence imposed and thereafter suspended, as a penalty for an offense as defined in
ORS 161.505, excluding parking violations, an assessment in addition to such sentence shall be
collected.

(2) The assessment is not part of the penalty or in lieu of any part thereof. The amount of the
assessment shall be as follows: ‘

(a) $5, when the fine or forfeiture is $5 to $14.99.

(b) $15, when the fine or forfeiture is $15 to $49.99.

(c) $18, when the fine or forfeiture is $50 to $99.99.

(d) $25, when the fine or forfeiture is $100 to $249.99.

(e) $30, when the fine or forfeiture is $250 to $499.99.

(f) $66, when the fine or forfeiture is $500 or more.

(3) Assessments imposed under subsections (1) to (5) of this section shall be collected as
provided in subsections (6) to (9) of this section.

(4) The court is not required to impose the assessment, or a part of the assessment, if it finds
that the defendant is indigent or that imposition of the assessment would constitute an undue
hardship.

(5) Payment to a court shall not be credited to the assessment described in subsections (1) to
(5) of this section until all other fines, fees and assessments ordered by the court have been paid.

(6) Except as provided in subsections (7) and (8) of this section, amounts paid for the
assessment imposed by this section must be transferred by the court to the county treasurer of the
county in which the court is located not later than the last day of the month immediately
following the month in which the amounts are collected.

(7) Prior to making payment to the county treasurer as provided in subsections (6) and (9) of
this section, the clerk of a circuit, municipal or justice court:

(a) Shall withhold and deposit in the State Treasury to the credit of the State Court Facilities
Security Account the following amounts:

{A) $3, when the assessment is $15.

(B) $4, when the assessment is $18.

(C) $5, when the assessment is $25.

(D) $6, when the assessment is $30.

(E) $7, when the assessment is $66.

(b) May withhold an amount equal to the reasonable costs incurred by the clerk in collection
and distribution of the assessment.

(8) Prior to making payment to the county treasurer as provided in subsections (6) and (9) of
this section, the clerk of a circuit, municipal or justice court:

(a) Shall withhold and deposit in the State Treasury to the credit of the Law Enforcement
Medical Liability Account the following amounts:

(A) $1, when the assessment is $15 or $18.

(B) $2, when the assessment 1s $25 or $30.

(C) $5, when the assessment is $66.

(b) May withhold an amount equal to the reasonable costs incurred by the clerk in collection
and distribution of the assessment.



(9) A city that lies in more than one county shall pay the assessments it collects to each
county in proportion to the percent of the population of the city that resides in each county. [1991

c.778 §§4.5; 1993 ¢.14 §6; 1993 ¢.196 §1; 1993 ¢.637 §§13, 13a; 1999 ¢.1051 §254; 2003 ¢.687
§4; 2005 ¢.804 §6]



LOCAL COURT PAYMENTS TO STATE (95 Biennium - "13 Biennium)
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LOCAL COURT PAYMENTS TO STATE ('95 Biennium - "13 Biennium)

94/95 $10,908,775.91 $45,064,726.42 $55,973,502.33 45.05% $25,217,724.57 $4,914,727.41
.mm\o.\ $13,283,982.67 $59,419,859.81 $72,703,842.48 49.87% $36,254,050.04 $6,624,108.93
98/99 516,786,645.45 571,736,714.06 588,523,359.51 49.12% $43,481,029.71 58,245,288.40
G0/01 $24,314,662.94 $88,378,761.87 $112,693,424.81 52.22% $58,845,462.81 $12,696,460.30
0z/03 $25,873,546.14 $79,853,306.85 5105,726,852.99 70.21% §74,231,646.15 $18,166,018.07
04/05 $26,584,947.31 $86,721,314.13 5113,306,261.44 65.97% $74,752,586.98 $17,539,132.97
06/07 $27,043,593.09 $95,243,855.14 $122,287,448.23 72.65% $88,844,891.02 519,647,847.07
08/09 $27,521,507.44 595,290,046.76 $122,811,554.20 60.53% $74,342,446.51 $15,659,802.15
10/11 $24,847,171.97 %85,500,178.66 5110,347,350.63 56.47% $62,309,178.64 $14,030,304.02
12/13 {proj.) $31,503,496.25 $97,957,224.00 $129,460,720.25 55.13% $71,378,119.25 $17,369,440.77

94/95

$10,908,775.91

$4,914,727.41

96/97

$13,283,982.67

$6,624,108.93

98/99

$16,786,645.45

58,245,288.40

00/01

$24,314,662.94

$12,696,460.30

02/03

$2%,873,546.14

$18,166,018.07

04/05

526,584,947 31

$17,539,132.97

06/07

$27,043,593.09

519,647,847.07

08/09

$27,521,507.44

$16,659,802.15

10/11

$24,847,171.97

$14,030,304.02

12/13

$31,503,496.25

$17,369,440.77







Court Survey Page 1 of 1

Court Survey
Peggy Vernholm [peggy@chavesconsulting.com]

Sent: Tuesday, April 09, 2013 5:54 PM
To:  |emhouse, Jad

Cc: Richard T. Chaves [richard@chavesconsulting.com]

Judge Lemhouse,

We surveyed all of the MAIIC courts on how their tables are structured in order in determine which cases were
misdemeanors and which were violations. The courts were very receptive to our information request. All but
one of our courts responded; the court that didn’t respond just recently closed. The total courts surveyed
included 24 justice courts and 18 municipal courts. For the calendar year 2013 the data is up to and including
2/18/2013. Below is the data we were able to collect:

MISD VIOL

2008 3,232 97,675
2009 3,192 103,685
2010 3,153 97,351
2011 3,060 100,843
2012 2,435 93,142

2/18/2013 280 12,189

15,352 504,885
We hope this data will be helpful to you. If there is anything else you may need, don’t hesitate to contact us.

Regards,

Peggy

Peggy L. Vernholm
Chaves Consulting, Inc.
1650 Dewey Avenue
Baker City, OR 97814
1-800-435-4633

- ‘_‘ .
e JCHAVES CONSLLTING ;ﬁc.-
R

https://owal postoffice.net/owa/?7ae=Item&t=IPM.Note&id=RgAAAACTK1wxAMUmQq... 4/10/2013
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Linn County Courts Misdemeanor Filings
Calendar Years 2008-2011

Court Population | 2008 2009 2010 2011 | Total | % of Filings
Albany 50,158 | 14371 1,163 1,234 1,107 . 4,941 33.2%
Lebanon 15,518 357 420 412 795 | 1,984 13.3%
Sweet Home 8,925 328 248 204 236 | 1,016 6.8%
Harrisburg 3,567 86 85 34 32 237 1.6%
Brownsville 1,668 21 23 32 34 110 0.7%
Circuit Court 116,672 | 1,361 1,307 1,118 1,122 | 4,908 32.9%
Justice Court 116,672 442 446 441 381 1710 11.5%

Population in thousands from 2010 U.S. Census
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MEMORANDUM

TO . Mayar,and Council
FROM : Ed
DATE : 4/3/1 /L

SUBJ : Recommendation to contract with the Umatilla County District Attorney's
Office for the prosecution of all City misdemeanor crimes

Itll““"IllIHIIII“HIENIIIH!U"Il!llll!lll“IIl!ll“lI!!ﬂlHlllllIIIIl[l“]!I'[HI]!liillllillllllilﬂlI'IlIIHIlIi!II]"Iilllli.lﬂ"l”ﬂ"l""lIIII“IH“IIHIHIIIHIHH!IHilillll!"llllil!l]lll

| am reguesting your consideration of a significant change in the way we prosecute
misdemeanor crimes in the City.

Specifically, 1 believe we could provide more comprehensive and effective crime
prosecution by contracting for that function with the County District Attorney's Office.

First, | want to be clear that this in no way reflects on Gary’s performance in his role as City
Prosecutor over these past years. To the contrary, | believe he has always been diligent
and aggressive while being mindful of the budgetary constraints we constantly deal with.

However, the costs associated with prosecution services in the Municipal Courthave grown
at an alarming rate over the past few years {right now my draft 2013-14 budget includes
$95,000 for prosecution services and $95,000 for Public Defender costs). This is partially
due to a rapid rise in the number of cases where the City must pay for a Public Defender
to defend persons who cannot pay for their own legal counsel. It is also a function of Gary
being called upon to perform an expanding number of activities pursuant to his duties as
Prosecutor. He is basically working from a small, generalized practice platform in what is
becoming more and more of a specialized and muiti-service environment.

The District Attorney’s Office is the other side of the same coin-all the attorneys and other
staff in the DA's office do is-- prosecute crime. And they have the advantage of seeing any
given offender's full criminal continuum-without the constraint of city borders or
misdemeanor versus felony jurisdictional issues. They are, if you will, specialists.

It should be noted that as a matter of law the District Attorney is responsible for prosecuting
misdemeanor offenses, period. We or any other city with a municipal court could simply
tell the DA that henceforth we are going to cite all misdemeanor crimes (ie violations which
are not traffic-related or violations of the City Code) into Circuit Court. By State law the DA

would have to take responsibility for these cases.

The problem here, however, is resources and priorities—the DA lacks the manpower to
devote sufficient time to most of these misdemeanor offenses because of the demands of

prosecuting more serious crimes.

And here is where we have a win-win opportunity.



We are proposing to contract with District Attorney Dan Primus’ office to handle all City
misdemeanor crimes. However, we are also proposing to pay his office and the County
$85,000 to hire another full-time attorney to do our work,

We expect that the DA’s office would be handling about 500 misdemeanor cases a year
for us. In terms of an attorney’s time, we believe that would amount to about 3/4 of a full-
time person. However, again, we would not just be getting the services of a dedicated
attorney, butalso a fully-staffed office that handles the full-range of prosecutorial services.

And this is the real reason we believe this could lead to more effective criminal prosecution,
including more comprehensive attention to chronic offenders, which translates to a safer

community.
DA Primus, Jason and Gary will be available to discuss this Monday night.

I am not specifically asking for action on this Monday night, just a good discussion. And if
you ultimately concur in cur recommendation we would like to start fairly soon.

Also, we would like to change the one year term of the contract to three years. We believe
we would need that long to properly evaluate the impacts of the change.

The goal here is more effective prosecution of crimes that are committed in our community.
We cannot be sure that we will achieve that objective with this change, but | do believe
there is enough prospective benefit to give it a try.

ATTACHMENTS:
* Memo from Jason
* Draft contract
* “Cost Considerations” comparison sheet

ce: Jason
Gary



erml St On Hermiston Police Department
o 330 85. 1st Street
\ N e Orecpem Hermiston, OR §7838-2360
' Phone (541) 567-5519 « Fax (541) 567-8469

To: City Manager Ed Brookshier

From: Chief of Police Jason Edmiston

Date: April 2™, 2013

Subject: Contracted Services with Umatilla County District Attorney’s Office

Around October of 2011, | initiated some discussion with Umatilia County District Attorney Daniel
Primus about the parameters in/with some of the frequent chronic offenders we were
experiencing. Over the course of the next 14+ months, that initial conversation led to DA Primus
engaging in similar discussions with other cities about things they were experiencing.

As you know, ! have been very vocal about what | believe to be a “sick” or unhealthy criminal
justice system as it seems a lack of holding these offenders truly accountable, is present at nearly
all levels in the system (us included). Though we have taken steps to address some of these
issues on our end, there is potential for us to assist even further.

The end result or potential | speak of is entering into an agreement for contracted services of all
our crimes with the DA’s office. Aside from any potential financial benefit to the city, | believe we
will experience the following if we were to take this step:

¢ A better picture or knowledge base of what a person’s entire criminal activity is or has
been. Currently a person could be a repetitive offender at the misdemeanor level yet
when that person commits a felony the DA’s office may not know the progressive history.
This impacts how the DA’s office decides to handle that person. if the DA’s office were
handling all criminal activity of that person, the progression could be seen, and decisions
could be made on how best to hold the person accountable.

e Enhanced communication between our agency and the DA’s office. Inevitably an
agreement such as this would strengthen the already existing open lines of
communication between our agency and the DA’s office. As the head law enforcement
entity for our county, this agreement would provide DA Primus a clearer understanding of

what trends may be taking place in our community and our county.

e The district attorney’s office has programs and resources available that we do not.
Currently the available resources needed to try and assist or move a person down a path
of abstention as It relates to criminal activity do not exist in our city. The large scale
programs be it Drug Court, Victim’s Advocacy, Parcle and Probation, etc. are very
expensive and would require an incredible amount of capital {personnel) to put together.



Rather than re-invent the wheel at an incredible expense, a contract with the DA’s office
would immediately make those resources available in our attempt to correct aberrant
behavior.

¢ legal defense fees. With all criminal activity {less traffic infractions and city code
violations} being handled through the DA’s office, the fees incurred for legal defense
would fall upon the state, not the city. | am not in a position to estimate what this means
financially, but | do befieve there would be long-term cost savings.

I would like to say | firmly believe Gary Luisi has done an incredible job in his role as City
Prosecutor with the resources made available to him. Though it would be difficult to see his
office close, | think the long-term impacts and gains the city will experience, will justify it.
Additionally, the increased accountability especially for those chronic offenders should {in theory)
be enhanced by having the already mentioned resources available to steer a person down the

right path.



INTERGOVERNMENTAL AGREEMENT
BETWEEN
UMATILLA COUNTY AND
CITY OF HERMISTON
CONCERNING
MISDEMEANOR PROSECUTION

This agreement is between Umatilla County District Attorney
and Umatilla County, Oregon (“District Attorney’”), and the City of
Hermiston (“City”), regarding prosecution of misdemeancr criminal
matters committed within the boundary limits of City. The
supervising representative for the District Attorney is Dan Primus,

and for the City, e -

I. RECITALS

1. As provided by ORS 221.339, the City of Hermiston has
exercised its jurisdiction to prosecute misdemeanors committed or
triable in the City, through its municipal court and prosecuted by

the City Attorney.

2. The City has made the decision to cease filing misdemeanors
in its municipal court, and instead to have these matters filed
with and prosecuted by the District RAttorney.

3. The District Attorney is willing to take responsibility for
prosecution of the City misdemeanors.

4. The City is willing to pay to the District Attorney
sufficient funds to cover the additional cost to the District
Attorney’s Office for prosecution of the City misdemeanors.

IT. AGREEMENT
NOW THEREFORE, it is agreed by the parties as follows:

1. Beginning ', 2013, the City will f£file its
misdemeanors with the District Attorney for prosecution in the
Umatilla County Circuit Court.

2. The District Attorney agrees to accept the misdemeanors
for filing and will prosecute these cases to the same extent as
misdemeanors for other areas of Umatilla County.
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3. The City agrees to pay to the District Attorney the sum of
$85,000 per year to assist in the costs associated with the
additional caseload of the District Attorney resulting from the
prosecution of the City misdemeanors.

4. TFor the period from the date of this agreement to June 30,
2013, the City will pay the prorated amount to the District
Attorney within 15 days of the signing of this agreement.

5. For the peried July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014, the City
will pay $85,000 by August 1, 2013.

6. Any action taken by the District Attorney for the
prosecution of City misdemeanors under this agreement will be at
the expense and the liability of the Distriect Attorney.

7. This Agreement is effective as the date of this agreement
until June 30, 2014, or until terminated. Either party may
terminate this Agreement by giving sixty days advance written
notice of its intent to terminate, such notice being provided in
person or by certified mail, Any funds paid and not utilized
(based on a daily rate of $233) will be refunded.

8. Both parties to this Agreement are responsible for the
acts, errors, omissions and negligence of its own officers,
employees, or agents and each will indemnify and hold harmless the
other party with regard to all damages and claims resulting from
the actions of its officers, employees, or agents to the extent
allowed and limited by the Oregon Constitution and Oregon law.

DATED this day of , 2013,

DISTRICT ATTORNEY CITY OF HERMISTON

Daniel R. Primus

UMATILL.A COUNTY

W. Lawrence @Givens, Chair
Board of Commissioners
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RETEST: ) ATTEST:
office of County Rocords

Reoords Officer Lity Retordex
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PROSECUTION OF CITY MISDEMEANORS
BY THE UMATILLA COUNTY DISTRICT ATTORNEY’S OFFICE

COST CONSIDERATIONS
SAVINGS:
* Public Defender (reduced to 20% of *13-14 budget)): $76,000
* City Prosecutor (reduced to 20% of *13-14 budge?): 76,000
* Court {elimination of PT position): 28.000
Total: . $180,000
COSTS:
* Loss of 25% of Court Revenues: £100,000
* Contract with DA’s Office: 85,000
* Additional Police OT: 10.000
Total: $195,000

NET COST: +-$15,000



Traffic Offense Distribution Repealed by HB 2712

153.630 Disposition of moneys collected by courts. (1) Costs and one-half of all fines collected
in traffic offense cases by any court having jurisdiction of the traffic offense shall be paid as
follows:

(a) If collected in a circuit court, to be credited and distributed under ORS 137.293 and
137.295, as a monetary obligation payable to the state.

(b) If collected in a justice court, to be credited and distributed under ORS 137.293 and
137.295 to the treasurer of the county in which the offense occurred, as a monetary obligation
payable to the county.

(¢) If collected in a municipal court, to be credited and distributed under ORS 137.293 and
137.295 to the city treasurer, as a monetary obligation payable to the city.

(2) The other half of such fines shall be paid as follows:

(a) If resulting from prosecutions initiated by or from arrests or complaints made by a
member of the Oregon State Police, to be credited and distributed under ORS 137.293 and
1377.295, as a monetary obligation payable to the state.

(b) If resulting from prosecutions initiated by or from arrests or complaints made by a motor
carrier enforcement officer, to be credited and distributed under ORS 137.293 and 137.295, as a
monetary obligation payable to the state.

(c) If resulting from prosecutions initjated by or from arrests or complaints made by a city
police officer, including a city marshal or a member of the police of a city or municipal or quasi-
municipal corporation, to be credited and distributed under ORS 137.293 and 137.295:

(A) To the treasurer of the city or municipal or quasi-municipal corporation by which such
police officer is employed, as a monetary obligation to that political subdivision of the state if the
offense occurred within the boundaries of the city or municipal or quasi-municipal corporation;
or

(B) As a monetary obligation payable to the state if the offense occurred outside the
boundaries of the city or municipal or quasi-municipal corporation.

{d) If resulting from prosecutions initiated by or from arrests or complaints made by a sheriff,
deputy sheriff or county weighmaster, to be credited and distributed under ORS 137.293 and
137.295 fo the treasurer of the county in which the offense occurred, as a monetary obligation
payable to that county and to be credited to the general fund of that county.

(e) If resulting from prosecutions for parking in a winter recreation parking location, to be
credited and distributed under ORS 137.293 and 137.295, as 2 monetary obligation payable to
the state.

(f) In other cases, to be credited and distributed under ORS 137.293 and 137.295, as a
monetary obligation to the same entity to which payment is made of the half provided for in
subsection (1) of this section.

(3) If provisions of subsection (2)(b) or (e) of this section are applicable, and if the fine or
penalty imposed is remitted, suspended or stayed, or the offender against whom the fine or
penalty was levied or imposed serves time in jail in lieu of paying the fine or penalty or a part
thereof, the committing judge or magistrate shall certify the facts thereof in writing to the State
Court Administrator in the case of a circuit court or the Department of Revenue in the case of a
justice or municipal court not later than the 10th day of the month next following the month in
which the fine was remitted or penalty suspended. If any part of the fine is thereafter paid, it shall



be remitted to the judge or magistrate who imposed the fine or penalty, who shall distribute it as
provided in subsections (1) and (2) of this section.

(4) If a fine is subject to division between two entities under this section and a sentence to
pay a fine is imposed by the court, any remittance, suspension or stay of the fine portion of the
sentence must be aftributed on ar equal basis to both of the entities entitled to a share of the fine.

(5) Distribution of fines and costs collected in a justice or municipal court under this section
must be made not later than the last day of the month immediately following the month in which
the fines and costs are collected.

(6) All fines collected as a result of citations issued for a violation of ORS 813.095 and
credited and distributed to the state under subsections (1)(a) and (2)(a) of this section shall be
deposited in the State Police Account established in ORS 181.175 to be used by the Department
of State Police for the enforcement of laws concerning driving while under the influence of
intoxicants. [Formerly 484.250; 1981 s.s. ¢.3 §107; 1983 c.164 §1; 1983 ¢.763 §47; 1985 ¢.16
§452; 1987 ¢.905 §17; 1991 ¢.67 §31; 1993 ¢.741 §102; 1999 ¢.1051 §81; 1999 ¢.1095 §7; 2003
¢.301 §1; 2003 c.687 §5; 2003 ¢.814 §5; 2009 ¢.614 §3]



Traffic Offense Distribution Enacted by HB 2712

153.633 Distribution to state. (1) In any criminal action in which a fine is imposed, the lesser of
the following amounts is payable to the state before any other distribution of the fine is made:

(a) $60; or

(b) The amount of the fine if the fine is less than $60.

(2) A justice or municipal court shall forward the amount prescribed under subsection (1) of
this section to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Criminal Fine Account. {2011 ¢.597

§6b]
153.635 [Formerly 484.260; 1989 ¢.934 §1; repealed by 2011 ¢.597 §118]

153.640 Disposition of fines for traffic offenses; circuit court. (1) If a circuit court enters a
judgment of conviction for a traffic offense, the full amount of the fine imposed under the
judgment is payable to the state if the conviction resulted from a prosecution arising out of an
arrest or complaint made by an officer of the Oregon State Police or by any other enforcement
officer employed by state government, as defined in ORS 174.111.

(2) If a circuit court enters a judgment of conviction for a traffic offense and the conviction
resulted from a prosecution arising out of an arrest or complaint made by a sheriff, deputy
sherifT, city police officer or any other enforcement officer employed by a local government, as
defined in ORS 174.116:

(a) The amount prescribed by ORS 153.633 (1) is payable to the state and must be deposited
in the Criminal Fine Account;

(b) One-half of the amount remaining after any payment required by paragraph (a) of this
subsection is payable to the local government that employs the enforcement officer; and

(c) One-half of the amount remaining after any payment required by paragraph (a) of this
subsection is payable to the state. [2011 ¢.597 §47]

153.645 Disposition of fines for traffic offenses; justice court. (1) If a justice court enters a
judgment of conviction for a traffic offense and the conviction resulted from a prosecution
arising out of an arrest or complaint made by an officer of the Oregon State Police or by any
other enforcement officer employed by state government, as defined in ORS 174.111:

(a) The amount prescribed by ORS 153.633 (1) is payable to the state and must be forwarded
to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Criminal Fine Account;

(b) One-half of the amount remaining after any payment required by paragraph (a) of this
subsection is payable to the county in which the justice court 1s located; and

(c) One-half of the amount remaining after any payment required by paragraph (a) of this
subsection 1s payable to the state.

(2) If a justice court enters a judgment of conviction for a traffic offense and the conviction
resulted from a prosecution arising out of an arrest or complaint made by a sheriff, deputy sheriff
or any other enforcement officer employed by the county:

(a) The amount prescribed by ORS 153.633 (1) is payable to the state and must be forwarded
to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Criminal Fine Account; and

(b) The remaining amount of the fine is payable to the county in which the court 1s located.

(3) If a justice court enters a judgment of conviction for a traffic offense and the conviction
resulted from a prosecution arising out of an arrest or complaint made by an enforcement ofticer



employed by any other local government, as defined in ORS 174.116:

(a) The amount prescribed by ORS 153.633 (1) is payable to the state and must be forwarded
to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Criminal Fine Account;

(b) One-half of the amount remaining after any payment required by paragraph (a} of this
subsection is payable to the local government that employs the enforcement officer; and

(¢) One-half of the amount remaining after any payment required by paragraph (a) of this
subsection is payable to the county in which the court is located. [2011 ¢.597 §48]

153.650 Disposition of fines for traffic offenses; municipal court. (1} If a municipal court
enters a judgment of conviction for a traffic offense and the conviction resulted from a
prosecution arising out of an arrest or complaint made by an officer of the Oregon State Police or
by any other enforcement officer employed by state government, as defined in ORS 174.111:

(a) The amount prescribed by ORS 153.633 (1) is payable to the state and must be forwarded
to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Criminal Fine Account;

(b) One-half of the amount remaining after any payment required by paragraph (a) of this
subsection is payable to the city in which the municipal court is located; and

(c) One-half of the amount remaining after any payment required by paragraph (a) of this
subsection is payable to the state.

(2) If a municipal court enters a judgment of conviction for a traffic offense and the
conviction resulted from a prosecution arising out of an arrest or complaint made by a city police
officer or any other enforcement officer employed by the city:

(a) The amount prescribed by ORS 153.633 (1) is payable to the state and must be forwarded
to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Criminal Fine Account; and

(b) The remaining amount of the fine is payable to the city in which the court is located.

(3) If a municipal court enters a judgment of conviction for a traffic offense and the
conviction resulted from a prosecution arising out of an arrest or complaint made by an
enforcement officer employed by any other local government, as defined in ORS 174.116:

(a) The amount prescribed by ORS 153.633 (1) is payable to the state and must be forwarded
to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Criminal Fine Account;

(b) One-half of the amount remaining after any payment reguired by paragraph (a) of this
subsection is payable to the local government that employs the enforcement officer; and

(c) One-half of the amount remaining after any payment required by paragraph (&) of this
subsection is payable to the city in which the court is located. [2011 ¢.597 §49]

153.675 Transfer of amounts payable to state. (1) Amounts payable to the state under ORS
153.633, 153.645 and 153.650 shall be transferred by the court to the Department of Revenue for
distribution as provided in ORS 305.830. Amounts payable to a local government under ORS
153.640 to 153.680 shall be deposited by the court in the local government’s general fund and
are available for general governmental purposes.

(2) Justice and municipal courts must make the transfer required by subsection (1) of this
section under ORS 153.633, 153.645 and 153.650 not later than the last day of the month
immediately following the month in which a payment on a judgment is received by the court.
[2011 ¢.597 §50]



Priority Scheme Enacted by HB 2712

137.289 Priorities for application of payments on judgments in criminal actions. (1) There
are five levels of priority for application of payments on judgments of conviction in criminal
actions, with Level I obligations having the highest priority and Level V having the lowest
priority. All payments on a judgment of conviction in a criminal action shall be applied first
against the unpaid obligations in the level with highest priority until those obligations have been
paid in full, and shall then be applied against the obligations in the level with the next highest
level of priority, until all obligations under the judgment have been paid in full.

(2) Except as provided in ORS 137.292, if there is more than one person or public body to
whom an obligation is payable under a level, the court shall divide each payment based on each
person’s or public body’s proportionate share of the total amount of obligations in that level.

[2011 ¢.597 §33]

137.290 [1987 ¢.905 §1; 1991 c.460 §14; 1993 ¢.33 §300; 1993 ¢.637 §1; 1993 ¢.770 §§1.3;
1995 ¢.555 §1; 1997 ¢.872 §27; 1999 ¢.1051 §127; 1999 ¢.1056 §1d; 1999 ¢.1095 §6; 2003
c.737 §112; 2003 ¢.819 §11; 2005 ¢.843 §21; 2007 ¢.899 §§1,2; repealed by 2011 ¢.597 §118]

137.291 Level 1 obligations. Compensatory fines under ORS 137.101 are Level I
obligations. [2011 ¢.597 §34]

137.292 Level II obligations. (1) There are two types of Level I obligations:

(a) Type 1 obligations include awards of restitution as defined in ORS 137.103, awards of
restitution under ORS 419C.450 and money awards made under ORS 811.706.

(b) Type 2 obligations include all fines and other monetary obligations payable to the state
for which the law does not expressly provide other disposition, including fines payable to the
state by justice and municipal courts under ORS 153.633, 153.645 and 153.650.

(2) If a judgment contains both types of Level II obligations, the court shall apply 50 percent
of amounts creditable to Level II obligations to Type 1 obligations and 50 percent of the amounts
to Type 2 obligations, until all obligations in one of the two types have been paid in full. All
subsequent amounts creditable to Level II obligations shall be applied against the other type of
obligations until those obligations have been paid in full.

(3) If there is more than one person for whose benefit a Type 1 money award has been made,
the clerk shall pay the moneys credited to Type 1 obligations in the following order of priority:

(a) If the judgment contains a money award payable to the person or persons against whom
the defendant committed the offense, the clerk shall first pay all moneys credited to Type 1
obligations to those persons, and shall continue to do so until all those obligations are paid in
full. If there is more than one person to whom an obligation is payable under this paragraph, the
coutrt shall divide each payment under this paragraph based on each person’s proportionate share
of the total amount of obligations subject to payment under this paragraph.

(b) If the judgment contains a money award payable to the Criminal Injuries Compensation
Account, the clerk shall thereafter transfer moneys credited to Type 1 obligations to the account
until the award is paid in full.

(c) If the judgment contdins a money award payable to any other victims, as defined in ORS
137.103, the clerk shall thereafter pay the moneys credited to Type 1 obligations to those victims
until those victims are paid in full. [2011 ¢.597 §35]



137.293 [1987 ¢.905 §2: 2011 ¢.597 §123; renumbered 137.288 in 2011]

137.294 Level IXI obligations. Level TIT obligations are fines payable to a county or city.
[2011 ¢.597 §36]

137.295 [1987 ¢.905 §3; 1991 ¢.460 §13; 1993 ¢.33 §301; 1995 ¢.782 §3; 1997 ¢.761 §10;
1999 ¢.1051 §128; 1999 ¢.1064 §1; 2001 ¢.823 §§22,23; 2003 ¢.687 §§2,3; 2005 ¢.564 §§4,5;
2007 ¢.626 §2; 2007 <.899 §§3,4; repealed by 2011 ¢.597 §118]

137.296 Level IV obligations. Level IV obligations are amounts that the law expressly
directs be paid to a specific account or public body as defined in ORS 174.109. {2011 ¢.597 §37]

137.297 Level V obligations. Level V obligations are amounts payable for reward
reimbursement under ORS 131.897. [2011 ¢.597 §3§]

Note: Section 39, chapter 597, Oregon Laws 2011, provides:
Sec. 39. Sections 33 to 38 of this 2011 Act [137.289 {0 137.297] and the repeal of ORS

137.295 by section 118 of this 2011 Act apply to all payments on judgments of conviction of an
offense, without regard to whether the offense was committed before, on or after January 1,

2012. [2011 ¢.597 §39]



153.018 Maximum fines. (1) The penalty for committing a violation is a fine. The law
creating a violation may impose other penalties in addition to a fine but may not impose a term
of imprisonment.

(2) Except as otherwise provided by law, the maximum fine for a violation committed by an
individual is:

(a) $2,000 for a Class A violation.

(b) $1,000 for a Class B violation.

(c) $500 for a Class C violation.

(d) $250 for a Class D violation.

(e) $2,000 for a specific fine violation, or the maximum amount otherwise established by law
for the specific fine violation.

(3) If a special corporate fine is specified in the law creating the violation, the sentence to pay
a fine shall be governed by the law creating the violation. Except as otherwise provided by law,
if a special corporate fine is not specified in the law creating the violation, the maximum fine for
a violation committed by a corporation is:

{a) $4,000 for a Class A violation.

(b) $2,000 for a Class B violation.

(c) $1,000 for a Class C violation.

(d) $500 for a Class D violation. [1999 ¢.1051 §6; 2003 ¢.737 §103; 2011 ¢.597 §7}

153.019 Presumptive fines; generally. (1) Except as provided in ORS 153.020, the
presumptive fines for violations are:

(a) $435 for a Class A violation.

(b) $260 for a Class B violation.

(c) $160 for a Class C violation.

(d) $110 for a Class D violation.

(2) The presumptive fine for a specific fine violation is:

(a) The amount specified by statute as the presumptive fine for the violation; or

(b) An amount equal to the greater of 20 percent of the maximum fine prescribed for the
violation, or the minimum fine prescribed by statute for the violation. [2011 ¢.597 §2]

153.020 Presumptive fines; highway work zones, school zenes and safety corridors. (1)
If an individual is charged with a traffic violation, as defined in ORS 801.557, and the
enforcement officer issuing the citation notes on the citation that the offense occurred in a
highway work zone and is subject to the provisions of ORS 811.230, occurred in a posted school
zone and is subject to the provisions of ORS 811.235, or occurred in a safety corridor and is
subject to the provisions of ORS 811.483, the presumptive fine for the violation is:

(a) $870 for a Class A violation.

(b) $520 for a Class B violation.

(¢) $320 for a Class C violation.

(d) $220 for a Class D violation.

(2) The presumptive fine for a specific fine violation that is subject to this section is an
amount equal to twice the presumptive fine determined for the violation under ORS 153.019 (2}.
[2011 ¢.597 §3]






153.021 Minimum fines. (1) Except as otherwise provided by law, a court may not defer,
waive, suspend or otherwise reduce the fine for a violation that is subject to the presumptive
fines established by ORS 153.019 (1) or 153.020 (1) to an amount that is less than:

(a) $220 for a Class A violation.

(b) $130 for a Class B violation.

(c) $80 for a Class C violation.

(d) $60 for a Class D violation.

(2) Except as otherwise provided by law, a court may not defer, waive, suspend or otherwise
reduce the fine for a specific fine violation to an amount that is less than 20 percent of the
presumptive fine for the violation.

(3) This section does not affect the manner in which a court imposes or reduces monetary
obligations other than fines.

(4) The Department of Revenue or Secretary of State may audit any court to determine
whether the court is complying with the requirements of this section. In addition, the Department
of Revenue or Secretary of State may audit any court to determine whether the court 1s
complying with the requirements of ORS 137.289 to 137.297 and 153.640 to 153.680. The
Department of Revenue or Secretary of State may file an action under ORS 34.105 to 34.240 to
enforce the requirements of this section and of ORS 137.289 to 137.297 and 153.640 to 153.680.
[2011 ¢.597 §4]

153.061 Appearance by defendant. (1) Except as provided in subsections (2} and (3) of this
section, a defendant who has been issued a violation citation must either:

(a) Make a first appearance by personally appearing in court at the time indicated in the
SUMMNOnNs; or

{(b) Make a first appearance in the manner provided in subsection (4) of this section before
the time indicated in the summons.

(2) If a defendant is issued a violation citation for careless driving under ORS 811.135 on
which a police officer noted that the offense contributed to an accident and that the cited offense
appears to have contributed to the serious physical injury or death of a vulnerable user of a
public way, the officer may not enter the amount of the presumptive fine on the summons and
the defendant must make a first appearance by personally appearing in court at the time indicated
in the summons.

(3) If a corporation is issued a violation citation, the police officer may not enter the amount
of the presumptive fine on the summons and the defendant must make a first appearance by
appearing in court at the time indicated in the summons.

(4) Except as provided in this section, a defendant who has been issued a violation citation
may make a first appearance in the matter before the time indicated in the summons by one of
the following means:

(a) The defendant may submit to the court a written or oral request for a trial.

(b) The defendant may enter a plea of no contest by delivering to the court the summons and
a check or money order in the amount of the presumptive fine set forth in the summons. The
entry of a plea under the provisions of this paragraph constitutes a waiver of trial and consent to
the entry of a judgment forfeiting the presumptive fine. A no contest plea under this section is
not subject to the requirements of ORS chapter 135 relating to the entry of pleas and, upon
receipt of the plea, the court may enter judgment against the defendant without taking further
evidence.






(5) The court may require that a defendant requesting a trial under subsection (4) of this
section deposit an amount equal to the presumptive fine established under ORS 153.019 and
153.020 or such other amount as the court determines appropriate if the defendant has failed to
appear in any court on one or more other charges in the past. If the defendant does not deposit
the amount specified by the court, the defendant must personally appear in court at the time
indicated in the summons. The amount deposited by the defendant may be applied against any
fine imposed by the court, and any amount not so applied shall be refunded to the defendant at
the conclusion of the proceedings.

(6) The court may require a defendant to appear personally in any case, or may require that
all defendants appear in specified categories of cases.

(7) If a defendant has entered a no contest plea in the manner provided in subsection (4) of
this section, and the court determines that the presumptive fine is not adequate by reason of
previous convictions of the defendant, the nature of the offense charged or other circumstances,
the court may require that a trial be held unless an additional fine amount is paid by the
defendant before a specified date. Notice of an additional fine amount under this subsection may
be given to the defendant by mail. In no event may the court require a total fine amount in excess
of the maximum fine established for the violation by statute.

(8) If a defendant fails to make a first appearance on a citation for a traffic violation, as
defined by ORS 801.557, fails to make a first appearance on a citation for a violation of ORS
471.430, or fails to appear at any other subsequent time set for trial or other appearance, the
driving privileges of the defendant are subject to suspension under ORS 809.220. {1999 ¢.1051
§17; 2001 c.817 §2; 2007 ¢.784 §5; 2011 ¢.597 §§25,313]






