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Oregon Debt Collection Practices

Regulatory Background:

The Oregon unlawful debt collection practices act outlines the dos and don’ts of
collecting debts in Oregon. The Oregon act applies to anyone collecting a debt
originating from a consumer transaction. This includes third party debt collectors such as
collection agencies, as well as first party debt collectors such as a business collecting
their own debts. Anyone who “willfully” violates a provision of this act while attempting
to collect a debt is subject to legal action by the debtor for $200.00 or actual damages,
together with attorney fees, costs and disbursements, and potential punitive damages. In
addition, under the provisions of SB328 which was passed into law by the Oregon
Legislature in 2009, the Attorney General has enforcement power over any violation of
this act as an unfair trade practice violation. This subjects debt collectors to civil
penalities of up to $25,000.00 for violations of the act.

The UDCPA was enacted by the Oregon Legislature in 1979, a short time after
Congress enacted the Federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. The federal actis
administered by the Federal Trade Commission, and also contains a right of private
action by a debtor for $1,000.00 or actual damages, together with attorney fees, and costs
and disbursements. There are no punitive damages or injunctive relief available under
the federal act. Collection agencies, debt buyers, and attorneys collecting a debt for
another are the only entities regulated under the Federal Fair Debt Collection Practices
Act. The Oregon Legislature saw the somewhat narrow scope of the federal act as a
shortcoming and enacted the Oregon act to cover anyone collecting a debt from a
consumer transaction. In Oregon, collection agencies, debt buyers, and attorneys are
covered under both the federal act and the state act, while all other persons collecting
consumer debt are covered under the Oregon act only. The original Oregon legislation
was nearly identical to the federal act. Over the years, there have been some changes to
both acts, and the Federal Trade Commission has had evolving interpretations of the
federal act, so that now there are more differences in the acts than existed when the
Oregon act was adopted.

Collection agencies are also registered by the Oregon Department of Consumer and
Business Services. Under the registration act, anyone soliciting debt collection business
from an Oregon company, or collecting consumer debts originated from an Oregon
company, must be registered. Registered Oregon collection agencies must carry a surety
bond in the amount of $10,000.00. There are also requirements for Oregon registered



collection agencies to have an office located in Oregon that is open during regular
business hours, and to keep all their records, trust accounts, and bank accounts in Oregon.
DCBS is authorized to waive these requirements for collection agencies if they deem
appropriate. The Department has waived the requirements for most collection agencies
domiciled outside Oregon who have requested a waiver. Generally, these out of state
collection agencies are required to post a larger bond than in state collections agencies.
Under the registration statutes, collection agencies have duties to remit to clients within
certain periods of time, and to maintain a client trust account. Many of these provisions
were established to protect the clients of collection agencies rather than debtors.
Collection agencies are subject to civil penalties and possible suspension or revocation of
their registration for violation of these provisions. Collection agencies domiciled outside
Oregon, who are only attempting to collect a debt originated outside Oregon, on a debtor
currently in Oregon, generally do not have to register with DCBS, unless their state
would require an Oregon domiciled collection agency to register when collecting an
Oregon originated debt in their state.

The Department is also given authority to suspend or revoke a registration for “any
unlawful or fraudulent activity”. The Department has not used this authority to enforce
the UDCPA, mostly due to staffing concerns, and lack of more direct authority. DCBS
and the Department of Justice meet regularly to discuss enforcement issues.

History of Complaints:

The Department of Justice testified to the House Interim Committee on Consumer
Protection on June 17, 2008 that they received 719 written complaints on collection
agencies and 623 written complaints on “first party” debt collectors in the year 2007. For
2006, they testified they had received 483 written complaints on collection agencies, and
617 written complaints on “first party” debt collectors. Analysis of the complaints on
collection agencies has shown that approximately 90% of the complaints received by the
Department of Justice are on collection agencies domiciled outside Oregon. For the year
2007, we found about 70 complaints on Oregon domiciled collection agencies, out of the
719 received by DOJ. During that year, the Oregon Collectors Association reported 2.5
million debtor contacts by their members, all Oregon domiciled companies. Years prior
to 2006 have shown fewer complaints and many fewer Oregon registered collection
agencies. The number of Oregon registered collection agencies increased from just over
200 agencies in 2001, to over 700 today. The increase followed closely DCBS’s decision
to waive in state office and record requirements for collection agencies domiciled outside
Oregon. This correlation went mostly unnoticed by the regulatory agencies because of
their lack of coordination with one another. The number of Oregon domiciled companies
registered with DCBS has remained more constant, and if anything has fallen, while the
majority of complaints continue to be on creditors located outside Oregon.



Impact of Lawsuits:

Through the right of private action granted to consumers under both the federal
act and the state act, many lawyers have come to specialize in the bringing of lawsuits
against debt collectors. Over the years there have been significant case law established
with respect to the interpretation of both the state and federal provisions as to what
constitutes a violation of the law. These court decisions which have established
precedence in the law, not only come into play in court, but also in negotiations between
plaintiff and defense lawyers in attempting to settle cases. Many of the cases brought
against debt collectors involve technical violations which have caused little damage to the
debtor. In such cases, defendants often settle out of court to avoid the high cost of
defending the claim. In most cases that are settled, the payment of the plaintiff’s attorney
fees by the defendant far exceeds any payment made to the consumer for his damages.
My clients tell me that nearly 90% of these cases are settled out of court. Some of the
more important precedents established by case law are outlined below.

What is Willful?

The Oregon Supreme Court has defined “willful” as “no more than proof of
ordinary negligence by a defendant in not knowing, when it should have known” State ex
rel Redden v. Discount Fabrics, Inc., 289 Or. 375, 615, P.2d 1034, 1039 (1980). The
standard of ordinary negligence therefore applies to this act, and debt collectors who
violate the act through ordinary negligence by not knowing something it is determined
they should have known are liable under the act. This is a much lower threshold than
existed at the time the law was enacted by the legislature.

The federal act provides for strict liability on the part of a covered debt collector,
but also provides a “bonafide error” defense.

When is legal action a violation?

The Oregon Supreme Court has also ruled that the filing of a lawsuit (even for an
incorrect amount or for a debt not owed) is not a violation of the unfair debt collection
practices act in and of itself. Porter v. Hill, 314 Or. 86, 838 P.2d 45 (1992). The Porter
versus Hill case involved an attorney, Charles Porter, suing a former client for
$26,000.00 in attorney fees. The former client alleged he did not owe the debt. The
Court found in this case that filing a legal action resolves issues surrounding the debt in a
proper manner, not duplicitously or coercively. This allows for the fact that the amount
of a debt, or indeed the very existence of the debt, can be legitimately in dispute, and that
our legal system can and should be a venue open to parties to resolve those disputes.




HB 2826

The Oregon Collectors Association supports meaningful solutions where a
problem can be shown to exist but those solutions should be balanced so as to minimize
their impact on legitimate businesses who are trying to follow the rules. HB 2826 fails
this test in that many of its provisions will do little or nothing to solve any problem, while
creating major problems for honest debt collectors attempting to collect legitimate debts
owed to Oregon businesses.

Section 1 of HB 2826 attempts to regulate debt buyers by requiring them to send a
notice to a debtor 30 days before taking legal action against the debtor. This notice, and
the many components required to be in the notice, will cause delays and problems for
debt buyers, collection agencies collecting purchased debt, and attorneys. The bill
requires that the original account number of the debt be included in the notice whether or
not known to the collector. This original account number may not even exist. It also
requires the collector to include a statement regarding the statute of limitations and the
effect of making a payment relative to the statute of limitations that is not an accurate
description of Oregon law on this matter. Additionally the collector of a purchased
account would be required to obtain affidavits from the original creditor and any previous
owners or sellers of the debt, which in many might be impossible to obtain. These
affidavits would be required to be submitted with an initial pleading. The list of
requirements is substantial both in the 30 day notice and attachments required with the
pleading. Most are entirely unnecessary. These requirements will make the collection of
legitimate debts impossible in many cases that would otherwise be collectable.

Section 1 of the bill also would limit the amount of interest that could be charged
on a judgment obtained by a debt buyer to an amount that does not exceed the weekly
average one-year constant maturity Treasury yield that the Board of Governors of the
Federal Reserve System publishes in the calendar week that precedes the date of the
judgment. Many of these debts might arise from a contract that specifies a different rate
of interest than the one prescribed by the bill, and in those cases this provision will be in
conflict to other Oregon statutes prescribing interest charges in such cases. For debts
arising from other kinds of transactions, Chapter 82 of the Oregon Revised Statutes
prescribes the legal rate of interest as 9% for all open accounts and judgments. This
interest provision in HB 2826 will also be in conflict with the legal rate provision in
Chapter 82.

The bill also makes changes to the unlawful debt collection practices act that will
apply to anyone collecting a debt in Oregon.

Section 2 of the bill contains a provision that would require much of the same
information required of debt buyers to be given to debtors by all debt collectors.

This section also would prohibit a debt collector from asking for a payment on a
debt in which the statute of limitations has expired. Currently expiration of the statute of



limitations prohibits enforcement of the debt through legal means, but does not prohibit
asking for payment. This provision is in conflict with other Oregon statutes.

Section 3 of the bill makes a substantial change to the availability of attorney fees
in unlawful debt collection cases. Currently when a debtor sues a debt collector for an
alleged violation of the act, the court may award reasonable attorney fees to a prevailing
party. Under the provisions of the bill, there is no provision to allow attorney fees to a
defendant in these cases.

Section 3 of the bill also changes the statute of limitations for unlawful debt
collection cases from the present one year from the date of the injury, to the later of two
years from the date of the discovery of the injury or two years from the date of a court
dismissal or entry of judgment. The new language could mean that this statute of
limitations would run for many years, and would create more litigation of these matters.

Section 3 of the bill also increases the statutory damage provision of the unlawful
debt collection practices act from the present $200.00, to $1,000.00. We believe this
increase is excessive.

We urge the committee to vote no on this overreaching bill. It will create many
problems for debt collectors attempting to collect legitimate debts, while not really
solving any problem.



