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AOI opposes HB 2950. To be clear, AOI does not oppose bereavement leave.
In fact, most of our members actually offer paid bereavement leave as part of
their own company employment policies.
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Oregon employers routinely cite OFLA as their biggest HR challenge. Companies that do
business in multiple states regularly single out Oregon’s family leave law as the most complex,
confusing, and difficult to administer. Here’s why:

Oregon is one of only 12 States currently with State Family Leave laws:

Oregon Minnesota Maine
California Wisconsin Massachusetts
Washington New Jersey Vermont
Hawaii Connecticut Rhode Island

Only Four States Require Family Leave for Small Business:
Maine (15 or more)

Vermont (15 or more)

Minnesota (21 or more)

Oregon (25 or more)

No state has a lower threshold for entry:

Oregon (6 mos @ 25 hrs per week)

Washington (680 hours in qualifying year)

Hawaii (6 months — but only for companies with 100+ employees)
Maine (12 mos)

Minnesota (12 mos @ 20 hrs per week)

Vermont (12 mos @ 30 hrs per week)

Oregon has no peer for qualifying leave:

Oregon — 12 weeks/yr each for parental, serious health, pregnancy, sick child
California — 12 weeks/yr for family; 16 weeks/yr maternity — 28 week/yr total
Vermont — 12 weeks/yr each for parental, serious health

Wisconsin — 10 weeks/yr total for all leaves

Connecticut — 16 weeks/2yrs combined

Rhode Island — 13 weeks/2 yrs combined

New Jersey — 12 weeks/2yrs combined

Maine — 10 weeks/2yrs combined

Minnesota — 6 weeks parental/yr

Hawaii — 4 weeks parental/yr

Massachusetts — 24 hrs/yr addition to FMLA




AOI Testimony — HB 2950

House Business & Labor Committee
March 15, 2013

Page 2

No other state has a broader definition of “family” than Oregon:

Oregon — Domestic partners, grandparent, grandchildren, parents-in-law
Vermont — Civil union partner, parents-in-law

Maine — Domestic partners, siblings

Hawaii — Grandparent, parents-in-law

California — Domestic partners

Connecticut — Domestic partners

Wisconsin — Parents-in-law

Rhode Island — Parents-in-law

Other unique features to Oregon’s family leave law:

Oregon stands alone as the only state to offer 12 weeks of leave for children with non-serious
health conditions. In fact, any employee can claim up to three days of “sick child leave” with no
medical verification.

Oregon is one of only a handful of states that does not allow re-instatement to an “equivalent”
position.

Oregon is one of only a few states that bars employers from counting a workers’ comp injury as
time off under OFLA.

Oregon employers are covered under FMLA if they have 50 employees within a 75 mile radius.
Oregon employers are covered under OFLA if they have 25 employees throughout the entire
state.

On top of Oregon’s generous family leave laws, Oregon also grants:
OFLA-type leave protection for workers to address the effects of domestic violence, stalking,
sexual assault, or assault.

An additional 2 weeks per year for families of service members deploying or returning from
deployment.

Access to accrued paid leave while employee utilizes OFLA leave.

Reforms to OFLA that Oreqgon employers would like to see:

1. OFLA sick child leave. No other state offers this. At the very least, employers would like the
ability to seek medical certification starting with the first instance, and not starting with the
fourth.

2. OFLA reinstatement rights. FMLA allows an employer to put an employee in any
comparable position upon a return from leave. OFLA is more strict: It must be the same
position, unless the position was eliminated during the employee’s leave.

3. Intermittent leave. FMLA allows an employer to temporarily reassign an employee on
intermittent leave to a comparable position, in order to make it easier for the employer to
absorb inconsistent attendance patterns. OFLA, however, requires there to be an
agreement with the employer and the employee, which means that few employees are
reassigned.

4. Make OFLA recertification consistent with FMLA recertification at the 1-year mark.
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5. OFLA and FMLA have two different penalties for failure to give timely notice. The result is
employers cannot use either penalty.

6. OFLA does not allow the employer to directly contact the healthcare provider. FMLA allows
for more direct contact and, therefore, better communication regarding issues.

7. FMLA allows for broader questioning regarding leaves, in particular intermittent leave
issues. Under OFLA, an employer cannot deduct salary for partial day absences. FMLA
allows such deductions.

8. OFLA intermittent leave rules consistent with FMLA rules.






