Enrolled

Senate Concurrent Resolution 203

Sponsored by Senator HASS, Representative BARKER; Senator DEVLIN, Representatives KOMP, LINDSAY, READ (Presession filed.)

Whereas the Sisters of Saint Mary of Oregon, which was founded in Sublimity in 1886, will celebrate the closing of the Sisters' Jubilee Year on March 25, 2012; and

Whereas the Sisters of Saint Mary of Oregon built, in 1894, a Motherhouse in Beaverton for the purpose of carrying out the ministries of service to those in need; and

Whereas the Sisters of Saint Mary of Oregon have been on a mission of education since 1903; and

Whereas the educational ministries that the Sisters of Saint Mary of Oregon founded continue today on the Sisters' 43-acre Beaverton campus, at Valley Catholic Early Learning School, Valley Catholic Elementary School, Valley Catholic Middle School, Valley Catholic High School and Valley Catholic Music School; and

Whereas the Sisters of Saint Mary of Oregon are on a mission of elder care, achieved, in part, through the continuous operation of Maryville Nursing Home since 1963, for the purpose of maintaining the health and promoting the dignity of those who have been made infirm by disability or age; and

Whereas the Sisters of Saint Mary of Oregon are women of prayer, living in simplicity and sisterly love; and

Whereas for over 125 years the Sisters of Saint Mary of Oregon have been turning faith into action for the benefit of countless individuals and families throughout the Pacific Northwest and beyond; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-sixth Legislative Assembly, recognize, honor and celebrate on behalf of all Oregonians the Jubilee Year of the Sisters of Saint Mary of Oregon and their 125 years of dedicated ministry and service to Oregon individuals, families and communities; and be it further

Resolved, That a copy of this resolution be presented to Sister Charlene Herinckx, Superior General of the Sisters of Saint Mary of Oregon.

Adopted by Senate February 8, 2012

Robert Taylor, Secretary of Senate

Peter Courtney, President of Senate

Adopted by House February 20, 2012

Bruce Hanna, Speaker of House

Arnie Roblan, Speaker of House