76th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY – 2012 Regular Session STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY Senate Committee on Rules

MEASURE: SR 201 CARRIER: Sen. Steiner Hayward

FISCAL: No fiscal impact		
Action:		Be Adopted
Vote:		4 - 0 - 1
•	Yeas:	Atkinson, Burdick, Ferrioli, Rosenbaum
]	Nays:	0
]	Exc.:	Beyer
Prepared By:		Erin Seiler, Administrator
Meeting Dates:		2/22

REVENUE: No revenue impact

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: Recognizes, honors and celebrates Oregon's winners of, and distinguished finalists for, 2012 Prudential Spirit of Community Awards.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Recognition of volunteer service of middle and high school students in Oregon •
- National recognition for local students •

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT: No amendment.

BACKGROUND: The Prudential Spirit of Community Awards is a national program that honors young people in middle and high school for outstanding volunteer service in their communities. The Prudential Spirit of Community Awards program is the United States' largest youth recognition program based exclusively on volunteer community service. The program was created in 1995 by Prudential in partnership with the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) to honor middle and high school students for outstanding service to others at the local, state, and national level.

The goal of the program is to recognize young people who are already making a positive difference in their communities and home town, and to inspire others to think about how they might contribute to their communities. Over the past 16 years, more than 310,000 young Americans have participated in the program, and nearly 100,000 of them have been officially recognized for their volunteer work.

Honorees from each state are selected at participating schools and organizations; from these winners, an independent judging organization names the top middle level and high school volunteer in each state and Washington, D.C. The 2012 Prudential Spirit of Community Award winners for Oregon are Alexander Stork of Klamath Falls and Chloe Staten of Medford as Oregon's. The 2012 Prudential Spirit of Community Awards also recognized as distinguished finalists Noelani Gonzales, of Cornelius; Meghana Kalavar, of Portland; Savannah Loberger, of Hillsboro; and Zachary Odegard, of Dallas.