# SB 338 Task Force Report Senate Committee on Veterans' and Military Affairs February 14, 2012

MILITARY

**VETERANS' &** 

Department of Community Colleges and Workforce Development



### SB 338 Task Force Charge

- Address the issue of tuition waivers for dependents and unremarried spouses of service members who died in active duty, became 100 percent disabled as the result of a military connected disability or died as a result of a military service connected disability.
- Recommend how to align with a similar tuition waiver offered by the Oregon University System.
- The Task Force was composed of the Community College Presidents, staffed by the Department of Community College and Workforce Development, and worked in consultation with the Oregon Department of Veterans Affairs.



### Background

- 2008 Legislature passes SB 1066 creating tuition waiver program intended to have minimal fiscal impact.
- 2009 SB 595 removes Sept. 11, 2011 starting date for eligibility, opening up waivers to a larger group.
- 2010-11 Community Colleges work to make 17 uniform waiver policies.
- 2011 SB 338 passed creating Task Force to examine aligning OUS and community college policies.



#### DEA Higher Education/Training Benefit Education/Training Time Monthly Rate

Full time 3/4 time 1/2 time \$476.00\*\*

less than 1/2 time more than 1/4 time

1/4 time or less \$239.25\*\*

\$957.00

\$718.00

\$476.00

Correspondence - Entitlement charged at the rate of one month for each \$957.00 paid. \*\* Tuition and Fees ONLY. Payment cannot exceed the listed amount.



### Federal Pell Grant Annual Maximum – \$5,550

### Oregon Opportunity Grant Annual Maximum – \$1,800 for a community college student



### 2010-11 Community College Average Cost

### **Tuition - \$3,663** \$1,221 statewide average/15 credit per term tuition

#### Fees - \$463

#### Annualized Tuition and Fees – \$4,126



#### Oregon University System and Community College Waivers Comparison

	OUS	Community Colleges	DEA
KIA	Yes	Yes	Yes
100% Disabled	Yes	Yes	Yes
Death Related to Disability	Yes	Yes	Yes
Dependent Eligibility	Must apply by age 23	Must apply by age 23*	Age 18-26
Spouse Eligibility	Eligible if not remarried	Eligible if not remarried**	10 years from determination
First/Last Dollar	First	Last	NA

\* Blue Mountain and Central Oregon community college policies currently state "must apply by age 24." Clackamas policy states "must be 18-26."

\*\* Clatsop, Columbia Gorge and Clatsop policies state "must apply within 10 years of determination."



### Issues Covered By Task Force

- Overall goal of dependents' tuition waiver is to provide safety net ensuring eligible students have resources needed to go to college.
- Federal and state benefits currently available:
  - ✓ Federal Dependents Education Assistance Program
  - ✓ Federal Pell Grant
  - ✓ Oregon Opportunity Grant
- Additional considerations should be made, such as waiving late fees and allowing students to begin class before federal benefits are received.



## Issues Raised by the Oregon Department of Veterans Affairs

- Tuition waiver-eligible students should not be compelled to apply for federal benefits or aid.
- Waiver should be applied first dollar regardless of other aid.
- Federal Dependence Education Assistance goes directly to students, not college.



### Conclusions of the Task Force

- To answer the question in SB 338, what does it take to align community college tuition waivers with the current Oregon University System tuition waiver, colleges would have to move to a first dollar waiver.
- The Presidents recommend applying federal dollars prior to local resources.
- The policy question before the legislature is whether to apply federal or state/local dollars first.



#### Department of Community Colleges and Workforce Development



For additional information:

Krissa Caldwell **Deputy Commissioner** 503.947.2414 krissa.caldwell@state.or.us

503-378-8648

http://www.oregon.gov/CCWD/



#### VETERANS, SPOUSES AND DEPENDENTS TUITION WAIVERS

a sa ja 1925 ja								
Federal DEA Benefits	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must be 18-26*	10 years from date of death or disability determination.	See rate schedule	45 Months of benefit with 5 additional months if remedial courses are required.	Not applicable.
ous	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must apply by age 23	Eligible if not re-married		Credits needed for Bachelors or Masters Degree.	First Dollar
Blue Mountain	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must be under the age of 24	None		Number of credits for an Associates	Federal/State Aid Applied First
Central Oregon	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must be under the age of 24	None	Covers In-district tuition and fees	Until 135 credits reached or completion of a degree or certificate	Federal/State Aid Applied First
Chemeketa	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must apply by age 23	Eligible if not re-married	Tuition only	2 years of full-time attendance or a degree, whichever comes first	First Dollar
Clackamas	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must be 18-26	None	Tuition only. Eligible for service date after 1990	150% of credits needed for Associates Degree	Federal/State Aid Applied First
Clatsop	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must apply by age 23	Must use within 10 years of death or 100% determination	Tuition only.	135 credits or Associates Degree	Federal/State Aid Applied First
Columbia Gorge	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must initiate prior to age 23	Must initiate within 10 years of the determinate of death or 100% disability.	Tuition only. Limited to space available Must live in district	135 credits or Associates Degree	Federal/State Aid Applied First
Klamath Falls	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must apply by age 23	Must be un-remarried and apply within 10 years of death or 100% determination	Tuition only. Student must be admitted in a degree or certificate program. Must live in district.	135 credits or Associates Degree	Federal/State Aid Applied Firs
Lane	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must apply by age 23	Eligible if not re-married		135 credits or Associates Degree	Federal/State Aid Applied Firs
Linn Benton	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must apply by age 23	Eligible if not re-married	Tuition only.	135 credits or Associates Degree	Federal/State Aid Applied First
Mount Hood	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must apply by age 23	Eligible if not re-married	Tuition only.	120 credits or Associates Degree	Federal/State Aid Applied Firs

Oregon Coast	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must apply by age 23	Eligible if not re-married	Tuition only. Must be admitted to a certificate or degree program.	135 credits or Associates Degree	Federal/State Aid Applied First
Portland	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must apply by age 23	None	Tuition only. Must be admitted to a degree or certificate program.	135 credits or desired degree or certificate	Federal/State Aid Applied First
Rogue	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must apply prior to age 23	Eligible if not re-married. Must apply within 10 years of death or 100% determination.	Must be admitted to a degree or certificate program. Must be in district. Tuition only.	135 credits or Associates Degree	Federal/State Aid Applied First
Southwestern	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must apply prior to age 23	Eligible if not remarried	Must be admitted to a degree or certificate program. Must be in district.	135 credits or Associates Degree	Federal/State Aid Applied First
Tillamook Bay	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must be 23 and under to be eligible	None	Tuition only. Must be in district.	None	Federal/State Aid Applied First
Treasure Valley	Yes	Yes	Yes	Must apply prior to age 23	Eligible if not re-married	Must be admitted to a degree or certificate program. Must be in district. Tuition only.	135 credits or Associates Degree	Federal/State Aid Applied First
Umpqua	Yes	Yes	Yes	For disability, must apply by age 23 and eligibility ends at age 26. Benefit must be used within in 22 years of death.	Eligible if not remarried	Tuition only.	135 credits or Associates Degree	First Dollar

\* In certain circumstance a student may be eligible for DEA benefits outside of the 18-26 age range.