600 NE Grand Ave. Portland, OR 97232-2736

MEASURE: SCR

DATE: 2-7-12

PAGES: 7

2012 SESSION S ENV. & NAT. RESOURCES

SUBMITTED BY: Tom Hughes

Metro | Making a great place

7 February 2012

Sen. Jackie Dingfelder, Chair Senate Committee on Environment and Natural Resources **Oregon State Capitol** Salem, OR 97301

Sen. Dingfelder and Members of the Committee,

The Metro Council strongly supports Senate Concurrent Resolution 207 and thanks you for providing this opportunity to honor Gail Achterman for her extraordinary service to the state.

Throughout her career, Gail worked to bridge the academic, legal and governance realms in which she served, bringing legal insights to conservation issues and sustainability ethics to transportation policy. Her breadth of knowledge and experience made her a highly valued participant around virtually any table.

Among other things, Gail was an advocate for scientific research and technological innovation as the essential foundation for solving our most pressing public issues. Gail was especially interested in new technology that could help reduce the impact of transportation on the environment. In her capacity as Chair of the Oregon Transportation Commission, she participated in many events promoting the use of "smart" transportation solutions to make better use of our existing transportation system.

Gail was also a powerful advocate for providing meaningful transportation alternatives to driving, from improving bikeways and sidewalks to providing better access to transit and more reliable services for the elderly and disabled. Her leadership in expanding transportation choices gave advocates in Oregon a real champion and voice at the OTC. Gail also saw the need to change the way we spend our transportation dollars, and to find more practical, affordable solutions to the many transportation needs across Oregon.

Gail brought a fierce determination to everything she did, providing a fearless example for many women and men who followed her into public service. She made Oregon a better place and will be sorely missed.

Sincerely,

m thesher

Tom Hughes, Council President

Councilor Carlotta Collette, District 2

Councilor Kathryn Harrington, District 4

Noberte

Councilor Barbara Roberts, District 6

Shirly R. Gadded Councilor Shirley Craddick, District 1

Hith

Councilor Carl Hosticka, District 3

Councilor Rex Burkholder, District 5