PORT OF GARIBALDI

402 S. Seventh St. P.O. Box 10 Garibaldi, OR 97118 (503) 322-3292 Port Office (503) 322-3603 Harbor (503) 322-0029 Fax www.portofgaribaldi.org





1 February 2012

Sen. Jackie Dingfelder, Chair SENATE ENVIRONMENTAL AND NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE 900 Court St. NE Salem, OR 97130

Re: OPPOSITION TO SB1510

Dear Chair Dingfelder and Members of the Committee,

The Port of Garibaldi Board of Commissioners is greatly concerned about SB1510 creating marine reserves off of Cape Falcon. There are four main concerns the commission has about this legislation:

One, the Cape Falcon reserve was highly controversial that failed to generate consensus;

Two, this legislation has no provision for a sunset clause if research and experience show the reserves not to be significantly beneficial to the State;

Three, this legislation does not limit the creation of additional reserves in the absence of scientific results from the existing reserves/marine protected areas; and

Four, this legislation does not include mitigation opportunities for other sustainable fisheries.

Specifically we are concerned about the lack of threshold measurements that can help determine whether the reserves result in any net benefit to the state. Furthermore, the boundary of the Cape Falcon reserve/protected area continues to change from those proposed during the community team process. Lastly, in this difficult economic environment it may be difficult for the state to continue to fund studies related to marine reserves especially if it limits sustainable opportunities for commercial fishing.

As an economic development district in our region, the Port of Garibaldi is working hard to retain jobs and incubate new business in Tillamook County. We see this legislation as hurting our commercial fleet, charter boats, recreational fishing groups and other supporting businesses in the absence of substantiated facts proving a need for a marine reserve at Cape Falcon.

Respectfully,

Val Folkema President Bob Browning Vice President John Luquette Secretary/Treasurer

Kelly Barnett Commissioner Dave May Commissioner