

February 13, 2012

The Hon. Phil Barnhart, Co-Chair The Hon. Vicki Berger, Co-Chair House Revenue Committee Oregon State Capitol Salem, OR 97301

RE: SB 1529-A

Dear Co-Chairs Barnhart and Berger, and Committee members:

On behalf of the NAIOP Oregon Chapter's 163 members, I wish to express our strong support for SB 1529-A and the important changes that it will make to the method of property tax calculation for warehouse and distribution facilities built after 2008. We have been working closely with the other stakeholders in this issue since very early in the 2011 legislative session to craft a workable solution that might be able to gain support from all involved—we believe that SB 1529 and the accompanying amendments have achieved that goal.

We urge you to send SB 1529-A to the House floor with a "do pass" recommendation for the following reasons:

- It creates a more equitable treatment for changed investor grade industrial properties;
- It eliminates disincentives to development of industrial properties; and
- It supports job growth and economic development in Oregon

Thank you for your consideration of this legislation—please let me know if we can provide any additional information.

Sincerely,

Dietra Stivahtis 2012 Chapter President

12725 SW 66th Avenue, Suite 107 Portland, OR 97223

OR 97223 Tel: (

Tel: (503) 223-1766

Fax: (503) 597-3668

Officers

President, Dietra Stivahtis Fidelity National Title

Pres.-Elect, Dave Kotansky Colliers International

Treasurer, Benjamin Chessar Pacific Realty Associates LP

Secretary, Kirk Olsen DP Partners

Past-Pres., Mike Wells CBRE, Inc.

Board of Directors

Steve Barragar Harsch Investment Properties

Mike Bernatz Langley Investment Properties

Gordon Childress Howard S. Wright Constructors

Mark Clemons Group Mackenzie

Eric Castle Shorenstein Realty Services, LP

Jonny Holz PECI

Sue Kems ZGF Architects LLP

Dana Krawczuk Perkins Cole LLP

Scott MacLean Noms Beggs & Simpson

Brad Miller Ball Janik LLP

Joe Mollusky Port of Portland

Jim Rodrigues Prologis

Vanessa Sturgeon TMT Development

Ann Young US Bank

Executive Director

Kelly Ross