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HB 2543-A8

(LC 1606)

6/15/11 (ASD/ps)

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO

A-ENGROSSED HOUSE BILL 2543

(INCLUDING AMENDMENTS TO RESOLVE CONFLICTS)

On page 1 of the printed A-engrossed bill, line 4, after “410.422” insert

“and section 28, chapter 7, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 301); re-

pealing section 20, chapter 7, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 301),

and section 2, chapter ___, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled House Bill 2693)”.

On page 6, delete lines 20 through 24 and insert:

“(c) If the number of eligible claims described in paragraph (a) of this

subsection exceeds the maximum number determined under paragraph (a) of

this subsection, claims shall be granted in ascending order based on the ratio

that is equal to the real market value of the homestead entered on the last

certified assessment and tax roll divided by the applicable percentage of

county median RMV of the homestead determined under ORS 311.670 (2),

until the maximum number determined under paragraph (a) of this subsection

is reached.”.

On page 19, delete lines 6 through 11 and insert:

“SECTION 24. (1) The amendments to ORS 305.612, 311.356, 311.666,

311.668, 311.670, 311.672, 311.676, 311.679, 311.681, 311.684, 311.686, 311.688,

311.689, 311.691, 311.693, 311.695, 311.700, 311.701, 314.430 and 410.422 by

sections 1 to 4, 6 to 18 and 20 to 22 of this 2011 Act apply to property

tax years beginning on or after July 1, 2011.

“(2) The amendments to ORS 311.674 by section 5 of this 2011 Act

apply to interest that accrues on taxes advanced to counties for tax-
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deferred property for property tax years beginning on or after July 1,

2011.

“(3) A claim for an initial year of deferral, or for continued deferral,

under ORS 311.666 to 311.701 may not be filed on or after April 16, 2021,

and deferral may not be granted for a property tax year beginning af-

ter July 1, 2021.

“SECTION 25. If House Bill 3261 becomes law, section 23 of this 2011

Act (amending ORS 305.895) is repealed and ORS 305.895, as amended

by section 7, chapter ___, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled House Bill 3261),

is amended to read:

“305.895. (1) Except as provided in ORS 314.440 or other jeopardy assess-

ment procedure, the Department of Revenue shall take no action against a

taxpayer’s or transferee’s real or personal property before issuing a warrant

for the collection of [the] tax or an amount payable by a transferee under

ORS 311.695 as provided in ORS 314.430, 320.080, 321.570, 323.390, 323.610 and

324.190.

“(2) At least 30 days before issuing a warrant for collection of any tax

collected by the department or any amount payable under ORS 311.695,

the department shall send the taxpayer or transferee a written notice and

demand for payment. The notice shall:

“(a) Be sent by mail, addressed to the taxpayer or transferee at the

taxpayer’s or transferee’s last-known address.

“(b) Inform the taxpayer or transferee that, even if the taxpayer or

transferee is compliant with an installment agreement between the taxpayer

or transferee and the department and is in communication with the de-

partment, if the tax or any portion of the tax or the amount payable under

ORS 311.695 is not paid within 30 days after the date of the notice and de-

mand for payment, a warrant may be issued and recorded as provided in ORS

314.430, 320.080, 321.570, 323.390, 323.610 and 324.190.

“(c) Describe in clear nontechnical terms the legal authority for the

 HB 2543-A8 6/15/11
 Proposed Amendments to A-Eng. HB 2543 (A to RC) Page 2



1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

warrant.

“(d) Contain the name, office mailing address and office telephone number

of the person issuing the warrant and advise the taxpayer or transferee that

questions or complaints concerning the warrant, other than liability for the

underlying tax or amount payable under ORS 311.695, may be directed to

that person.

“(e) Include alternatives available to the taxpayer [which] or transferee

that would prevent issuance of the warrant.

“(f) Inform the taxpayer or transferee of possible consequences to the

taxpayer or transferee of noncompliance, and of issuance of a warrant, in-

cluding garnishment of wages or bank accounts and seizure and sale of real

or personal property.

“SECTION 26. Section 20, chapter 7, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled

Senate Bill 301) (amending ORS 311.689), is repealed.

“SECTION 27. Section 28, chapter 7, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate

Bill 301), is amended to read:

“Sec. 28. (1) Except as provided in subsections (2) and (3) of this section,

the amendments to statutes by sections 1 to 19 and 21 to 27, chapter 7,

Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 301), [of this 2011 Act] apply to

transactions or activities occurring on or after January 1, 2011, in tax years

beginning on or after January 1, 2011.

“(2) The effective and applicable dates, and the exceptions, special rules

and coordination with the Internal Revenue Code, as amended, relative to

those dates, contained in the Federal Aviation Administration Air Trans-

portation Modernization and Safety Improvement Act (P.L. 111-226), the Pa-

tient Protection and Affordable Care Act (P.L. 111-148), the Preservation of

Access to Care for Medicare Beneficiaries and Pension Relief Act of 2010

(P.L. 111-192), the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010

(P.L. 111-152), the Homebuyer Assistance and Improvement Act of 2010 (P.L.

111-198) and other federal law amending the Internal Revenue Code apply for
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Oregon personal income and corporate excise and income tax purposes, to the

extent they can be made applicable, in the same manner as they are applied

under the Internal Revenue Code and related federal law.

“(3)(a) If a deficiency is assessed against any taxpayer for a tax year be-

ginning before January 1, 2011, and the deficiency or any portion thereof is

attributable to any retroactive treatment under the amendments to ORS

305.230, 305.494, 305.690, 307.130, 307.147, 308A.450, 310.140, 310.630, 310.800,

[311.689,] 314.011, 315.004, 316.012, 317.010 and 317.097 by sections 11 to 19

and 21 to 25, chapter 7, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 301)

[of this 2011 Act], then any interest or penalty assessed under ORS chapter

305, 314, 315, 316, 317 or 318 with respect to the deficiency or portion thereof

shall be canceled.

“(b) If a refund is due any taxpayer for a tax year beginning before Jan-

uary 1, 2011, and the refund or any portion thereof is due the taxpayer on

account of any retroactive treatment under the amendments to ORS 305.230,

305.494, 305.690, 307.130, 307.147, 308A.450, 310.140, 310.630, 310.800, [311.689,]

314.011, 315.004, 316.012, 317.010 and 317.097 by sections 11 to 19 and 21 to

25, chapter 7, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 301) [of this 2011

Act], then notwithstanding ORS 305.270 or 314.415 or other law, the refund

or portion thereof shall be paid without interest.

“(c) Any changes required because of the amendments to ORS 305.230,

305.494, 305.690, 307.130, 307.147, 308A.450, 310.140, 310.630, 310.800, [311.689,]

314.011, 315.004, 316.012, 317.010 and 317.097 by sections 11 to 19 and 21 to

25, chapter 7, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 301), [of this 2011

Act] for a tax year beginning before January 1, 2011, shall be made by filing

an amended return within the time prescribed by law.

“(d) If a taxpayer fails to file an amended return under paragraph (c) of

this subsection, the Department of Revenue shall make any changes under

paragraph (c) of this subsection on the return to which the changes relate

within the period specified for issuing a notice of deficiency or claiming a
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refund as otherwise provided by law with respect to that return, or within

one year after a return for a tax year beginning on or after January 1, 2011,

and before January 1, 2012, is filed, whichever period expires later.

“SECTION 28. If House Bill 2693 becomes law and House Bill 3261

does not become law, section 22 of this 2011 Act (amending ORS

314.430) is repealed and ORS 314.430, as amended by section 2, chapter

___, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled House Bill 2693), is amended to read:

“314.430. (1) If any tax imposed under ORS chapter 118, 316, 317 or 318

or any portion of the tax is not paid within 30 days after the date that the

written notice and demand for payment required under ORS 305.895 is mailed

(or within five days after the tax becomes due, in the case of the termination

of the tax year by the Department of Revenue under the provisions of ORS

314.440), or any amount payable by a transferee under ORS 311.695 is

not paid as required under ORS 311.686, and no provision is made to se-

cure the payment thereof by bond, deposit or otherwise, pursuant to regu-

lations promulgated by the department, the department may issue a warrant

for the payment of the amount of the tax or amount payable under ORS

311.695, with the added penalties, interest and any collection charge in-

curred. A copy of the warrant shall be mailed or delivered to the taxpayer

or transferee by the department at the taxpayer’s or transferee’s last-

known address.

“(2) At any time after issuing a warrant under this section, the depart-

ment may record the warrant in the County Clerk Lien Record of any county

of this state. Recording of the warrant has the effect described in ORS

205.125. After recording a warrant, the department may direct the sheriff for

the county in which the warrant is recorded to levy upon and sell the real

and personal property of the taxpayer or transferee found within that

county, and to levy upon any currency of the taxpayer or transferee found

within that county, for the application of the proceeds or currency against

the amount reflected in the warrant and the sheriff’s cost of executing the
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warrant. The sheriff shall proceed on the warrant in the same manner pre-

scribed by law for executions issued against property pursuant to a judg-

ment, and is entitled to the same fees as provided for executions issued

against property pursuant to a judgment. The fees of the sheriff shall be

added to and collected as a part of the warrant liability.

“(3) In the discretion of the department a warrant under this section may

be directed to any agent authorized by the department to collect taxes, and

in the execution of the warrant the agent has all of the powers conferred

by law upon sheriffs, but is entitled to no fee or compensation in excess of

actual expenses paid in the performance of such duty.

“(4) Until a warrant issued under this section is satisfied in full, the de-

partment has the same remedies to enforce the claim for taxes against the

taxpayer or for amounts payable by the transferee as if the state had

recovered judgment against the taxpayer for the amount of the tax or

against the transferee for the amount payable under ORS 311.695.

“SECTION 29. If House Bill 3261 becomes law, section 2, chapter ___,

Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled House Bill 2693), and section 22 of this 2011

Act (both amending ORS 314.430) are repealed and ORS 314.430, as

amended by section 1, chapter ___, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled House

Bill 3261), is amended to read:

“314.430. (1) If any tax imposed under ORS chapter 118, 316, 317 or 318

or any portion of the tax is not paid within 30 days after the date that the

written notice and demand for payment required under ORS 305.895 is mailed

(or within five days after the tax becomes due, in the case of the termination

of the tax year by the Department of Revenue under the provisions of ORS

314.440), or any amount payable by a transferee under ORS 311.695 is

not paid as required under ORS 311.686, and no provision is made to se-

cure the payment thereof by bond, deposit or otherwise, pursuant to regu-

lations promulgated by the department, the department may issue a warrant

for the payment of the amount of the tax or amount payable under ORS
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311.695, with the added penalties, interest and any collection charge in-

curred. A copy of the warrant shall be mailed or delivered to the taxpayer

or transferee by the department at the taxpayer’s or transferee’s last-

known address.

“(2) At any time after issuing a warrant under this section, the depart-

ment may record the warrant in the County Clerk Lien Record of any county

of this state. Recording of the warrant has the effect described in ORS

205.125. After recording a warrant, the department may direct the sheriff for

the county in which the warrant is recorded to levy upon and sell the real

and personal property of the taxpayer or transferee found within that

county, and to levy upon any currency of the taxpayer or transferee found

within that county, for the application of the proceeds or currency against

the amount reflected in the warrant and the sheriff’s cost of executing the

warrant. The sheriff shall proceed on the warrant in the same manner pre-

scribed by law for executions issued against property pursuant to a judg-

ment, and is entitled to the same fees as provided for executions issued

against property pursuant to a judgment. The fees of the sheriff shall be

added to and collected as a part of the warrant liability.

“(3) In the discretion of the department a warrant under this section may

be directed to any agent authorized by the department to collect taxes, and

in the execution of the warrant the agent has all of the powers conferred

by law upon sheriffs, but is entitled to no fee or compensation in excess of

actual expenses paid in the performance of such duty.

“(4) Until a warrant issued under this section is satisfied in full, the de-

partment has the same remedies to enforce the claim for taxes against the

taxpayer or for amounts payable by the transferee as if the state had

recovered judgment against the taxpayer for the amount of the tax or

against the transferee for the amount payable under ORS 311.695.

“SECTION 30. If House Bill 2693 becomes law and House Bill 3261 does

not become law, section 24 of this 2011 Act is amended to read:
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“Sec. 24. (1) The amendments to ORS 305.612, 311.356, 311.666, 311.668,

311.670, 311.672, 311.676, 311.679, 311.681, 311.684, 311.686, 311.688, 311.689,

311.691, 311.693, 311.695, 311.700, 311.701, 314.430 and 410.422 by sections 1 to

4, 6 to 18 [and 20 to 22], 20, 21 and 28 of this 2011 Act apply to property tax

years beginning on or after July 1, 2011.

“(2) The amendments to ORS 311.674 by section 5 of this 2011 Act apply

to interest that accrues on taxes advanced to counties for tax-deferred prop-

erty for property tax years beginning on or after July 1, 2011.

“(3) A claim for an initial year of deferral, or for continued deferral, un-

der ORS 311.666 to 311.701 may not be filed on or after April 16, 2021, and

deferral may not be granted for a property tax year beginning after July 1,

2021.

“SECTION 31. If House Bill 3261 becomes law, section 24 of this 2011

Act is amended to read:

“Sec. 24. (1) The amendments to ORS 305.612, 311.356, 311.666, 311.668,

311.670, 311.672, 311.676, 311.679, 311.681, 311.684, 311.686, 311.688, 311.689,

311.691, 311.693, 311.695, 311.700, 311.701, 314.430 and 410.422 by sections 1 to

4, 6 to 18 [and 20 to 22], 20, 21 and 29 of this 2011 Act apply to property tax

years beginning on or after July 1, 2011.

“(2) The amendments to ORS 311.674 by section 5 of this 2011 Act apply

to interest that accrues on taxes advanced to counties for tax-deferred prop-

erty for property tax years beginning on or after July 1, 2011.

“(3) A claim for an initial year of deferral, or for continued deferral, un-

der ORS 311.666 to 311.701 may not be filed on or after April 16, 2021, and

deferral may not be granted for a property tax year beginning after July 1,

2021.”.

In line 12, delete “25” and insert “32”.
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