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76th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2011 Regular Session

SENATE AMENDMENTS TO
A-ENGROSSED HOUSE BILL 2543

(INCLUDING AMENDMENTS TO RESOLVE CONFLICTS)

By COMMITTEE ON FINANCE AND REVENUE

June 17

On page 1 of the printed A-engrossed bill, line 4, after “410.422” insert “and section 28, chapter

7, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 301); repealing section 20, chapter 7, Oregon Laws 2011

(Enrolled Senate Bill 301), and section 2, chapter ___, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled House Bill

2693)”.

On page 6, delete lines 20 through 24 and insert:

“(c) If the number of eligible claims described in paragraph (a) of this subsection exceeds the

maximum number determined under paragraph (a) of this subsection, claims shall be granted in as-

cending order based on the ratio that is equal to the real market value of the homestead entered

on the last certified assessment and tax roll divided by the applicable percentage of county median

RMV of the homestead determined under ORS 311.670 (2), until the maximum number determined

under paragraph (a) of this subsection is reached.”.

On page 19, delete lines 6 through 11 and insert:

“ SECTION 24. (1) The amendments to ORS 305.612, 311.356, 311.666, 311.668, 311.670,

311.672, 311.676, 311.679, 311.681, 311.684, 311.686, 311.688, 311.689, 311.691, 311.693, 311.695,

311.700, 311.701, 314.430 and 410.422 by sections 1 to 4, 6 to 18 and 20 to 22 of this 2011 Act

apply to property tax years beginning on or after July 1, 2011.

“(2) The amendments to ORS 311.674 by section 5 of this 2011 Act apply to interest that

accrues on taxes advanced to counties for tax-deferred property for property tax years be-

ginning on or after July 1, 2011.

“(3) A claim for an initial year of deferral, or for continued deferral, under ORS 311.666

to 311.701 may not be filed on or after April 16, 2021, and deferral may not be granted for a

property tax year beginning after July 1, 2021.

“ SECTION 25. If House Bill 3261 becomes law, section 23 of this 2011 Act (amending ORS

305.895) is repealed and ORS 305.895, as amended by section 7, chapter ___, Oregon Laws 2011

(Enrolled House Bill 3261), is amended to read:

“305.895. (1) Except as provided in ORS 314.440 or other jeopardy assessment procedure, the

Department of Revenue shall take no action against a taxpayer’s or transferee’s real or personal

property before issuing a warrant for the collection of [the] tax or an amount payable by a

transferee under ORS 311.695 as provided in ORS 314.430, 320.080, 321.570, 323.390, 323.610 and

324.190.

“(2) At least 30 days before issuing a warrant for collection of any tax collected by the depart-

ment or any amount payable under ORS 311.695, the department shall send the taxpayer or

transferee a written notice and demand for payment. The notice shall:

“(a) Be sent by mail, addressed to the taxpayer or transferee at the taxpayer’s or transferee’s
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last-known address.

“(b) Inform the taxpayer or transferee that, even if the taxpayer or transferee is compliant

with an installment agreement between the taxpayer or transferee and the department and is in

communication with the department, if the tax or any portion of the tax or the amount payable

under ORS 311.695 is not paid within 30 days after the date of the notice and demand for payment,

a warrant may be issued and recorded as provided in ORS 314.430, 320.080, 321.570, 323.390, 323.610

and 324.190.

“(c) Describe in clear nontechnical terms the legal authority for the warrant.

“(d) Contain the name, office mailing address and office telephone number of the person issuing

the warrant and advise the taxpayer or transferee that questions or complaints concerning the

warrant, other than liability for the underlying tax or amount payable under ORS 311.695, may

be directed to that person.

“(e) Include alternatives available to the taxpayer [which] or transferee that would prevent

issuance of the warrant.

“(f) Inform the taxpayer or transferee of possible consequences to the taxpayer or transferee

of noncompliance, and of issuance of a warrant, including garnishment of wages or bank accounts

and seizure and sale of real or personal property.

“ SECTION 26. Section 20, chapter 7, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 301)

(amending ORS 311.689), is repealed.

“ SECTION 27. Section 28, chapter 7, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 301), is amended

to read:

“ Sec. 28. (1) Except as provided in subsections (2) and (3) of this section, the amendments to

statutes by sections 1 to 19 and 21 to 27, chapter 7, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill

301), [of this 2011 Act] apply to transactions or activities occurring on or after January 1, 2011, in

tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2011.

“(2) The effective and applicable dates, and the exceptions, special rules and coordination with

the Internal Revenue Code, as amended, relative to those dates, contained in the Federal Aviation

Administration Air Transportation Modernization and Safety Improvement Act (P.L. 111-226), the

Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (P.L. 111-148), the Preservation of Access to Care for

Medicare Beneficiaries and Pension Relief Act of 2010 (P.L. 111-192), the Health Care and Education

Reconciliation Act of 2010 (P.L. 111-152), the Homebuyer Assistance and Improvement Act of 2010

(P.L. 111-198) and other federal law amending the Internal Revenue Code apply for Oregon personal

income and corporate excise and income tax purposes, to the extent they can be made applicable,

in the same manner as they are applied under the Internal Revenue Code and related federal law.

“(3)(a) If a deficiency is assessed against any taxpayer for a tax year beginning before January

1, 2011, and the deficiency or any portion thereof is attributable to any retroactive treatment under

the amendments to ORS 305.230, 305.494, 305.690, 307.130, 307.147, 308A.450, 310.140, 310.630,

310.800, [311.689,] 314.011, 315.004, 316.012, 317.010 and 317.097 by sections 11 to 19 and 21 to 25,

chapter 7, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 301) [of this 2011 Act], then any interest or

penalty assessed under ORS chapter 305, 314, 315, 316, 317 or 318 with respect to the deficiency or

portion thereof shall be canceled.

“(b) If a refund is due any taxpayer for a tax year beginning before January 1, 2011, and the

refund or any portion thereof is due the taxpayer on account of any retroactive treatment under the

amendments to ORS 305.230, 305.494, 305.690, 307.130, 307.147, 308A.450, 310.140, 310.630, 310.800,

[311.689,] 314.011, 315.004, 316.012, 317.010 and 317.097 by sections 11 to 19 and 21 to 25, chapter
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7, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 301) [of this 2011 Act], then notwithstanding ORS

305.270 or 314.415 or other law, the refund or portion thereof shall be paid without interest.

“(c) Any changes required because of the amendments to ORS 305.230, 305.494, 305.690, 307.130,

307.147, 308A.450, 310.140, 310.630, 310.800, [311.689,] 314.011, 315.004, 316.012, 317.010 and 317.097

by sections 11 to 19 and 21 to 25, chapter 7, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 301), [of

this 2011 Act] for a tax year beginning before January 1, 2011, shall be made by filing an amended

return within the time prescribed by law.

“(d) If a taxpayer fails to file an amended return under paragraph (c) of this subsection, the

Department of Revenue shall make any changes under paragraph (c) of this subsection on the return

to which the changes relate within the period specified for issuing a notice of deficiency or claiming

a refund as otherwise provided by law with respect to that return, or within one year after a return

for a tax year beginning on or after January 1, 2011, and before January 1, 2012, is filed, whichever

period expires later.

“ SECTION 28. If House Bill 2693 becomes law and House Bill 3261 does not become law,

section 22 of this 2011 Act (amending ORS 314.430) is repealed and ORS 314.430, as amended

by section 2, chapter ___, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled House Bill 2693), is amended to read:

“314.430. (1) If any tax imposed under ORS chapter 118, 316, 317 or 318 or any portion of the

tax is not paid within 30 days after the date that the written notice and demand for payment re-

quired under ORS 305.895 is mailed (or within five days after the tax becomes due, in the case of

the termination of the tax year by the Department of Revenue under the provisions of ORS

314.440), or any amount payable by a transferee under ORS 311.695 is not paid as required

under ORS 311.686, and no provision is made to secure the payment thereof by bond, deposit or

otherwise, pursuant to regulations promulgated by the department, the department may issue a

warrant for the payment of the amount of the tax or amount payable under ORS 311.695, with the

added penalties, interest and any collection charge incurred. A copy of the warrant shall be mailed

or delivered to the taxpayer or transferee by the department at the taxpayer’s or transferee’s

last-known address.

“(2) At any time after issuing a warrant under this section, the department may record the

warrant in the County Clerk Lien Record of any county of this state. Recording of the warrant has

the effect described in ORS 205.125. After recording a warrant, the department may direct the sheriff

for the county in which the warrant is recorded to levy upon and sell the real and personal property

of the taxpayer or transferee found within that county, and to levy upon any currency of the tax-

payer or transferee found within that county, for the application of the proceeds or currency

against the amount reflected in the warrant and the sheriff’s cost of executing the warrant. The

sheriff shall proceed on the warrant in the same manner prescribed by law for executions issued

against property pursuant to a judgment, and is entitled to the same fees as provided for executions

issued against property pursuant to a judgment. The fees of the sheriff shall be added to and col-

lected as a part of the warrant liability.

“(3) In the discretion of the department a warrant under this section may be directed to any

agent authorized by the department to collect taxes, and in the execution of the warrant the agent

has all of the powers conferred by law upon sheriffs, but is entitled to no fee or compensation in

excess of actual expenses paid in the performance of such duty.

“(4) Until a warrant issued under this section is satisfied in full, the department has the same

remedies to enforce the claim for taxes against the taxpayer or for amounts payable by the

transferee as if the state had recovered judgment against the taxpayer for the amount of the tax
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or against the transferee for the amount payable under ORS 311.695.

“ SECTION 29. If House Bill 3261 becomes law, section 2, chapter ___, Oregon Laws 2011

(Enrolled House Bill 2693), and section 22 of this 2011 Act (both amending ORS 314.430) are

repealed and ORS 314.430, as amended by section 1, chapter ___, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled

House Bill 3261), is amended to read:

“314.430. (1) If any tax imposed under ORS chapter 118, 316, 317 or 318 or any portion of the

tax is not paid within 30 days after the date that the written notice and demand for payment re-

quired under ORS 305.895 is mailed (or within five days after the tax becomes due, in the case of

the termination of the tax year by the Department of Revenue under the provisions of ORS

314.440), or any amount payable by a transferee under ORS 311.695 is not paid as required

under ORS 311.686, and no provision is made to secure the payment thereof by bond, deposit or

otherwise, pursuant to regulations promulgated by the department, the department may issue a

warrant for the payment of the amount of the tax or amount payable under ORS 311.695, with the

added penalties, interest and any collection charge incurred. A copy of the warrant shall be mailed

or delivered to the taxpayer or transferee by the department at the taxpayer’s or transferee’s

last-known address.

“(2) At any time after issuing a warrant under this section, the department may record the

warrant in the County Clerk Lien Record of any county of this state. Recording of the warrant has

the effect described in ORS 205.125. After recording a warrant, the department may direct the sheriff

for the county in which the warrant is recorded to levy upon and sell the real and personal property

of the taxpayer or transferee found within that county, and to levy upon any currency of the tax-

payer or transferee found within that county, for the application of the proceeds or currency

against the amount reflected in the warrant and the sheriff’s cost of executing the warrant. The

sheriff shall proceed on the warrant in the same manner prescribed by law for executions issued

against property pursuant to a judgment, and is entitled to the same fees as provided for executions

issued against property pursuant to a judgment. The fees of the sheriff shall be added to and col-

lected as a part of the warrant liability.

“(3) In the discretion of the department a warrant under this section may be directed to any

agent authorized by the department to collect taxes, and in the execution of the warrant the agent

has all of the powers conferred by law upon sheriffs, but is entitled to no fee or compensation in

excess of actual expenses paid in the performance of such duty.

“(4) Until a warrant issued under this section is satisfied in full, the department has the same

remedies to enforce the claim for taxes against the taxpayer or for amounts payable by the

transferee as if the state had recovered judgment against the taxpayer for the amount of the tax

or against the transferee for the amount payable under ORS 311.695.

“ SECTION 30. If House Bill 2693 becomes law and House Bill 3261 does not become law, sec-

tion 24 of this 2011 Act is amended to read:

“ Sec. 24. (1) The amendments to ORS 305.612, 311.356, 311.666, 311.668, 311.670, 311.672, 311.676,

311.679, 311.681, 311.684, 311.686, 311.688, 311.689, 311.691, 311.693, 311.695, 311.700, 311.701, 314.430

and 410.422 by sections 1 to 4, 6 to 18 [and 20 to 22], 20, 21 and 28 of this 2011 Act apply to property

tax years beginning on or after July 1, 2011.

“(2) The amendments to ORS 311.674 by section 5 of this 2011 Act apply to interest that accrues

on taxes advanced to counties for tax-deferred property for property tax years beginning on or after

July 1, 2011.

“(3) A claim for an initial year of deferral, or for continued deferral, under ORS 311.666 to
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tax year beginning after July 1, 2021.

“ SECTION 31. If House Bill 3261 becomes law, section 24 of this 2011 Act is amended to read:

“ Sec. 24. (1) The amendments to ORS 305.612, 311.356, 311.666, 311.668, 311.670, 311.672, 311.676,

311.679, 311.681, 311.684, 311.686, 311.688, 311.689, 311.691, 311.693, 311.695, 311.700, 311.701, 314.430

and 410.422 by sections 1 to 4, 6 to 18 [and 20 to 22], 20, 21 and 29 of this 2011 Act apply to property

tax years beginning on or after July 1, 2011.

“(2) The amendments to ORS 311.674 by section 5 of this 2011 Act apply to interest that accrues

on taxes advanced to counties for tax-deferred property for property tax years beginning on or after

July 1, 2011.

“(3) A claim for an initial year of deferral, or for continued deferral, under ORS 311.666 to

311.701 may not be filed on or after April 16, 2021, and deferral may not be granted for a property

tax year beginning after July 1, 2021.”.

In line 12, delete “25” and insert “32”.
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