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FISCAL IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION Measure:  HB 5047 - A 
Seventy-Sixth Oregon Legislative Assembly – 2011 Regular Session 
Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
  

Prepared by:  Susan Jordan 
Reviewed by:  . 
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Measure Description: 
Approves certain new or increased fees adopted by Department of Transportation. 
 
Government Unit(s) Affected:  
 Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) 
 
 
Local Government Mandate: 
This bill does not affect local governments' service levels or shared revenues sufficient to trigger Section 
15, Article XI of the Oregon Constitution. 
 
Analysis: ORS.055(1)(e ) requires all new state agency fees or fee increases adopted after July 
1 of any odd-numbered year to be rescinded on July 1 of the next odd-numbered year, or upon 
adjournment of the regular session of the legislature meeting in that year, whichever is later, 
unless authorized by enabling legislation setting forth the approved fees.  This bill provides the 
enabling legislation necessary to approve the new fees established by the Department of 
Transportation.   
 
Outdoor Advertising Sign Fees:  The 2009 Legislature restructured the outdoor advertising sign 
statute following a ruling by the Oregon Supreme Court that the permit requirement for outdoor 
advertising (off-premise) signs was unconstitutional on freedom of speech because the distinction 
between off-premise and on-premise signs inherently distinguishes between signs based on 
content.  The proposed fees implement the 2009 legislation.  The measure sunsets the outdoor 
advertising sign fee increases June 30, 2013. 
 
The Nonprofit Registration plate surcharge is established in ORS 805.205.  The statute provides 
a range of not less than $2.50 per plate and not more than $16 per plate for the surcharge a 
group may collect.  The 2009 Legislature removed the statutory fee and directed ODOT to 
establish the fee by administrative rule within a specified range. ODOT established the fee of 
$2.50 through the administrative rule process.   
 
In 2009 the Legislature added the Fallen Public Safety Officer license plate to the specialty plate 
selection.  ODOT updated the administrative rule to include the new plate establishing the 
surcharge at $8 consistent with the request of the public safety group supporting the legislation.  
Proceeds from the plate are deposited into a fund managed by the Police Memorial Trust Fund 
and a special committee comprised of law enforcement, fire department, and citizen members. 
 
 
The following fees were established during the 2009-11 biennium through the administrative 
rule process: 
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Fee Title/Description ORS
Increase, 
Establish, 
Decrease

Current 
fee

Proposed 
fee

Proposed 
fee change

Impact on 
2011-13 
revenue

Impact on 
2013-15 
revenue

Outdoor Advertising - Fee paid by C&H permit 
applicants and current permit holders for renwal. 377.992

Eliminate $25-$150 $0 (-$25-$150)
($66,390) 0

Outdoor Advertising - Application and annual renewal 
fees for OAS signs on transit shelters visible to state 
highways. 377.992

Eliminate $10 - $15 $0 (-$25 - $150)
($560) 0

Outdoor advertising sign permit:
Sign permit fee, small 377.992 Establish $125 $200 $75 $150 $150
Sign permit fee, medium 377.992 Establish $300 $500 $200 $400 $400
Sign permit fee, large 377.992 Establish $500 $850 $350 $4,200 $4,200
Sign permit fee largest 377.992 Establish $600 $1,000 $400 $17,600 $17,600
Permit renewal, sma../medium 377.992 Establish $70 $120 $50 $17,900 $17,900
Permit renewal, large 377.992 Establish $80 $140 $60 $64,440 $64,440
Permit renewal, largest 377.992 Establish $90 $160 $70 $123,200 $123,200
Conversion of standing sign permit to relocation 
credit

377.992 Establish $150 $150 $22,500 $22,500
Relocation credit renewal 377.992 Establish $10 $25 $15 $23,820 $23,820

Annual outdoor advertising business license fees:
Erect or maintain sign only 377.992 Establish $500 $850 $350 $2,100 $2,100
Owning 1 to 49 signs 377.992 Establish $375 $650 $275 $26,400 $26,400
Owning 50 to 499 signs 377.992 Establish $1,000 $1,700 $700 $4,200 $4,200
Owning 500 or more signs 377.992 Establish $1,500 $2,500 $1,000 $4,000 $4,000
Aggregation relocation credit 377.992 Establish $500 $500 $4,000 $4,000
Transfer of ownership 377.992 Establish $150 $150 $7,200 $7,200
Replacement Tag 377.992 Establish $100 $100 $5,600 $5,600

Nonprofit Registration plate surcharge 805.205 Establish $2.50 $2.50 $49,855 $49,855
Fallen Public Safety Officer plate fee 805.205 Establish $8.00 $8.00 $8,000 $8,000

Total Impact on Revenues $385,565 $385,565

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


