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FISCAL IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION Measure:  HB 2088 
Seventy-Sixth Oregon Legislative Assembly – 2011 Regular Session 
Legislative Fiscal Office 
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Measure Description: 
Requires person engaging in occupation of inspecting amusement rides, amusement devices or rental 
amusement devices to possess professional qualifications as established by Department of Consumer 
and Business Services. 
 
Government Unit(s) Affected:  
Department of Consumer and Business Services (DCBS), Department of Parks and Recreation 
 

Summary of Expenditure Impact 
 

  2011-13 Biennium 2013-15 Biennium 

Other Funds 105,732 107,201 

Total Funds $105,732 $107,201 

Positions 1 1 

FTE 0.75 0.75 
 

Summary of Revenue Impact 
   2011-13 Biennium 2013-15 Biennium 

Other Funds 129,800 129,800 

Total Funds $129,800 $129,800 
 
 
Local Government Mandate: 
This bill does not affect local governments' service levels or shared revenues sufficient to trigger Section 
15, Article XI of the Oregon Constitution. 
 
Analysis: 
The proposed legislation expands current statute and creates new provisions related to the inspection 
and certification of amusement rides, devices, and rental amusement devises. It requires DCBS to adopt 
rules regarding and for operators to establish and maintain programs for quality control of rides and 
devises. Changes and adds to certification and inspection requirements, expands reasons for denial of 
permit, and defines civil penalties for non-compliance. 
 
The bill creates a more robust certification and inspection program related to amusement rides and 
devices.  Currently DCBS provides an operating permit if the operator has shown proof of insurance and 
an inspection by the insurance carrier within the previous 90 days.  There has been no mechanism, by 
which the qualifications of the inspector are verified, for the verification of permit compliance, or the 
monitoring of ride safety. 
 
To fund the requirements of the proposed legislation, DCBS would increase the current amusement ride 
permit from $25 to $75 and require the permit for inflatable devises.  Quality control plans as required by 
the measure would be charged an annual review fee of $400. 
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In order to accomplish the required inspection work, the agency would require an additional .75 FTE 
structural/mechanical inspector.  This position would be responsible for performing the review of quality 
control manual and performing permit checks and compliance inspections.    
 
Section 4 of the proposed legislation requires that in the case of an accident caused by a ride or device, 
that ride must be taken out of service until repairs are re-inspection is completed.  Oregon Parks and 
Recreation Department believes that this provision could have a negative revenue impact on the agency 
from their operation of the Oregon State Fair. 
 
DCBS does not expect significant revenue or expenditure impacts due to the allowance of civil penalties 
for program violations.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


