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76TH OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY MEASURE: HB 2328-A %
STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY : CARRIER:

HOUSE REVENUE COMMITTEE

REVENUE: NO

FISCAL: May : Preliminary
Action:

Vote:

Yeas:
Nays:
Exc.:

MEASURE:

Prepared By: Mazen Malik, Economist
Meeting Dates: April-14

WHAT THE BILL DOES: Creates a vehicle road usage charge to account for road use by motorists
who do not pay a fuel tax.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENTS:

BACKGROUND:

Requires the owners of electric and plug-in electric hybrid vehicles to pay 1.43 cents per mile for Road User
Charge (RUC) use of Oregon highways. Allows for a pilot project {up to 5,000 motor vehicles with a gross
vehicle weight rating of 10,000 Ib or less) that are not electric and plug-in electric hybrids to participate in the
RUC (1.43 cents) program.
Requires ODOT to develop the methods for reporting miles driven and requires at least one method that
does not involve vehicle location technology. The bilf authorizes electronic reporting of the odometer
reading to be one reporting method.
Requires ODOT to adopt rules for a collection system, and to set open system standards for a mileage
reporting method that involves vehicle location technology for the purpose of differentiating between miles
driven within Oregon and miles driven outside the state. Provides for refund of RUC paid for miles traveled
on any private road or private property, and for refund of fuel tax paid by owners of plug-in electric hybrid
. vehicles who have paid RUC.
Revenue distribution follows the formula (50 percent), to counties (30 percent) and to cities (20 percent).
The bill requires monthly reporting, but allows the department to prescribe other reporting periods. Unless
owners report miles driven outside Oregon, the department may assume that all miles were traveled in
Oregon. :
Provides penatties for delinquent payment of RUC and methods of collecting delinguent RUC, and penalties
for tampering with the system used to record the miles. The bill provides for suspension of driving privileges
or right to apply for driving privileges based on unpaid vehicle road usage fees.
Requires the department to report {o the interim transportation committees no later than October 1, 2012 an
the likelihood that the department couid implement the RUC by January 1, 2014.
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