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LOCAL GOVERNMENT CIGARETTE TAX RATES & FEES

Most counties and cities do not have their own cigaretie tax rates because they are prohibited by state law,
but there are major exceptions. More than 450 local jurisdictions nationwide have their own cigarette tax
rates or fees, bringing in more than $500 million in annual revenue and working effectively to reduce smoking
rates, especially among youth, and to decrease smoking-caused death, disease, and costs. The following
are some examples, including the focal jurisdictions with the highest local and state-local cigarette tax rates.

City/County (Partial List) Loca(lpi;g;;itl:c’e 'fax Statc: Egg:;itlt(e) Tax. Total S(t::: ;-al(_:cl;(c};al Tax
1. Cook County, llinois $2.00 $0.98 $2.98'
2. New York City, New York $1.50 $4.35 (on 7/1/10) $5.85
3. Anchorage, Alaska $1.452 : $200 - - $3.452
4. Barrow, Alaska $1.00 $2.00 $3.00
5. Matanuska-Susiina Borough, Alaska $1.00 $2.00 ‘ $3.00°
6. Sitka, Alaska ' $1.00 $2.00 ] $3.00
7. Juneau, Alaska ‘ $1.00 $2.00 $3.00
8. Falls Church, Virginia $0.75 $0.30 $1.05.
9. ‘Alexandria, Virginia o : $0.70 $0.30 | $1.00
10. Chicago, lllinois $0.68 $0.98 - . - $2.66
11. Hampton, Virginia $0.65 $0.30 - $0.95 .
12. Newport News, Virginia ’ $0.65 $0.30 $0.95
13. Norfolk, Virginia $0.55 $0.30 $0.85
14. Chesapeake, Virginia $0.50 $0.30 $0.80
15. Fairfax, Virginia : ) $0.50 - $0.30 $0.80
16. Middleburg, Virginia : $0.50 $0.30 1 $0.80
17. Portsmouth, Virginia - $0.50 $0.30 $0.80
18. Suffolk, Virginia . $0.50 ' $0.30 $0.80
19. Virginia Beach, Virginia $0.50 $0.30 $0.80
20. Leesburg, Virginia $0.50 $0.30 $0.80
21. Vienna, Virginia ' $0.50 $0.30 $0.80
22, Franklin, Virginia $0.50 $0.30 $0.80
23. Herndon, Virginia $0.50 $0.30 $0.80
24. Evanston, lllinois $0.50 $0.98 $3.48
'25. Lynchburg, Virginia . ' $0.35 $0.30 $0.65
26. Cuyahoga County, Ohio $0.345 $1.25 $1.595
27. Fredericksburg, Virginia $0.31 $0.30 $0.61
28. Harrisonburg, Virginia $0.30 $0.30 $0.60
29. Haymarket, Virginia : $0.30 $0.30 : $0.60
30. Purcellville, Virginia $0.30 $0.30 $0.60
31. Charlottesville, Virginia’ $0.25 $0.30 $0.55
32. Manassas, Virginia $0.25 $0.30 $0.55
33. Williamsburg, Virginia : $0.25 ' ' $0.30 - $0.55 .
34. Smithfield, Virginia $0.25 . $0.30 $0.55 ?
35. San Francisco, California $0.20° $0.97 _ $1.07
36. Fairbanks, Alaska $0.20 $2.00 $2.20
37. Arlington County, Virginia $0.20 . $0.30 $0.50
Sources: Orzechowski & Walker, Tax Burden on Tobacco, 200%; media reports; state and local tax officials.
' In Chicago ($0.68 per pack} and Evanston ($0.50), which are in Cook County, the total state-local tax is higher.
2 Regulatory fee, not tax, to pay for cigarette litter cleanup. State law prohibits San Francisco from implementing a focal cigarette tax.
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The table does not list all localities with their own cigarette tax or fee. Overall, Alabama (42.5 cents per
pack) has 240 cities and 46 counties with their own cigarette taxes. Three other lllinois cities not in the
above table have their own cigarette taxes, two of which are Cicero (16 cents per pack) and Rosemont (5
cents per pack). Missouri (17 cents per pack) has 120 cities and two counties. Ohio ($1.25 per pack)
has one county with its own tax, Cuyahoga County (34.5 cents per pack). Tennessee (20 cents per pack)
has one city. Virginia (30 cents per pack) has 50 cities and two counties with their own mgarette taxes.

New York City is the only locality with ItS own mgarette tax in New York State. Anchorage s cigarette tax
is annually adjusted for inflation; Fairbanks’ tax is actually 8 percent of wholesale price (about 20 cents
per pack), and no unlisted Alaska cifies have their own cigarette tax. .

The combined cigarette tax rates in the table do not include the federal cigareite tax of $1.01 per pack or
any state or local sales taxes that apply to cigareftes.

The U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) estimates that total smoking-caused heaith
costs and lost productivity totals $10.28 per pack nationwide.

- Some states prohibit localities from having their own cigarette tax rates or limit the maximum amounts.

The average state cigarette tax rate is $1.45 per pack and the highest state-only rate is New York ($4.35
per pack). Currently, 29 states, DC, Puerto Rico, the Northemn Marianas, and Guam have cigarette tax
rates of $1.00 per pack or higher; 14 states, DC, and Guam have cigarette tax rates of $2.00 per pack or
higher, five states and Guam have cigarette tax rates of $3.00 per pack or higher; and one state (NY) has
a cigarette tax rate higher than $4.00 per pack.

Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, June 23, 2013 / Ann Boonn

For more information on cigarette taxes and the many public health and economic benefits from mcreasmg

them please see the Campaign’s website at http:/ftobaccofreekids.org/reportsiprices and
Hp:/fwww tobaccofreekids.orgiresearchifactsheets/index. php7CateqorylD=18.

-For a listing of the highest combined state-local tax rates in the country, see TFK Factéheet‘, Top‘ Combined
State-Local Cigarette Tax Rates (State plus County plus City),
http:/itobaccofreekids.orgfresearch/factsheets/pdfi0267.pdf.




