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HB 2075
Co-Chairs Berger and Barnhart and Committee members.

My name is Brigadier General Mike Caldwell, Deputy Director of the Oregon Military
Department and Interim Director of the Office of Emergency Management.

HB 2075 was crafted by our agency with the goal in mind of maintaining the equity of
taxation for the 9-1-1 excise tax on all instruments capable of reaching 9-1-1 for
emergency services in Oregon. The current ORS states:

403.200 Imposition of tax; rate. (1) There is imposed on each paying retail subscriber
who has telecommunication services with access to the 9-1-1 emergency reporting
system a tax equal to 75 cents per month,

It goes on to say:

... For cellular, wireless or other radio common carriers, the tax applies on a per
instrument basis and only if the subscriber’s place of primary use, as defined and
determined under 4 U.S.C. 116 to 126, is within this state.

The 9-1-1 tax was initiated to provide for supporting the emergency response system to
the citizens and visitors of Oregon. The use and distribution of these taxes is vital to
those 9-1-1 centers or Public Service Answering Points (PSAP’s) to deliver critical life
safety services. The distribution of the tax as defined in statute, is 60.5% to the PSAP’s,
35% maintained by the Office of Emergency Management to maintain the equipment and
upgrade for future technologies (NEXTGEN), and the remaining 4.5% for administration
(OEM and DOR). Although the distribution is 60.5%, these amounts actually only
support approximately 25-30% of the total cost of providing for a typical 9-1-1
center/PSAP. The remaining costs associated with this function and the dispatch of first
responders is covered by local governments and their local tax base. The 35%
Equipment Replacement Account that OEM manages, pays to maintain the infrastructure
backbone of this statewide system. It is mainly payments to various phone companies for
use of their T-1 lines etc. Approximately 15 to 20%, of this fund is used to replace the
equipment in the 49 separate PSAP’s in Oregon.

When the Legislature adopted the present 75 cent per month tax for all such instruments,
prepaid wireless services were not part of the business model utilized in the market place.
What has occurred since is a significant increase in usage of this particular method of cell
phone communication. Prepaid cell phone usage is now estimated to make up anywhere
between 10% to in excess of 20% of all cell phone use in Oregon. According to our
estimates, the 911 program state wide could conceivably have between $3 to $6 million
dollars of 9-1-1 excise tax revenue per biennium that is not being collected.

After this bill was produced at our request, several of the cell phone carriers approached
me with concerns about the language. The biggest concern was the provision that
requires cell phone companies to collect the tax, as they do presently with the Post Paid



services. We asked the representatives of these companies to meet with us in an attempt
to find a solution that would be workable for all parties. The wireless carrier industry,
who has representatives here today, and will testify later, all indicated they preferred that
the law require Point of Sale collection of the Pre-Paid cell phone tax.

As you might suspect, if the law requires Point of Sale collection, we will then have other
interest groups that will undoubtedly express their opinion to such a process.

The Military Department is concerned that by enacting a Point of Sale tax that not only
will we create some immediate push back from business interests but also we do not have
a fiscal model from the Department of Revenue that we can bring to you today to discuss
the costs of collecting the tax.

With these difficulties in mind, it is my hope that we can offer to you some potential
courses of action that you can consider and then advise us on which of these or perhaps
some other course of action we have not considered so we can work with the stakeholders
to craft a workable solution.

We have four basic options regarding this bill :

1. Point of Sale method: We envision any retailer who sells more than $1,000 per
month of prepaid phones and minutes, based on the retail price, collecting and
remitting the tax. Making use of the point of sale method would entail developing
and putting in place the mechanism to collect the tax and remit the tax to the state,
by a retailer. If we adopt a POS method, which the carriers would prefer, the cost
of collection and compliance is unknown. Based upon The Department of
Revenue’s efforts to gain compliance with the tobacco taxes from the retailers in
the state, they had to employ 8 FTE. I suggest that the number could be greater, in
order to gain compliance from the retailers, as this state has no sales tax, this
would cause POS collection to be that much more difficult. Over time, I suspect
that like the DOR tax collection efforts on tobacco, the number of compliance
officers would diminish, but I don’t have any numbers to present today.

The wireless carriers provided great detail in recommending POS taxing in other
states with a sales tax.

Perhaps they could provide instances where POS tax for prepaid was developed
by states without a sales tax in place?

2. Tax the wholesaler’s: This would entail having any wholesale distributor that
distributes prepaid phones and cards to any retailer for resale within the state. The
distributor would then pay the tax based on 1.5% of the wholesale price and remit
the tax to DOR. This tax would be passed along to the retailers for payment of the
tax by the end user. As the tax would be both on the phones and the “minutes”
cards that are sold, the percentage method was developed The 1.5% tax was



arrived at by dividing the current $0.75 by the wireless industry’s estimate of the
average monthly wireless phone bill. This approach is more manageable from the
Dept of Revenue standpoint as they currently have a working relationship with the
instate Wholesalers/Distributors in regards to the tobacco tax.

We also asked the wireless providers to give us an estimate of the number of
“Wholesalers” they work with to distribute their phones and cards that allow
someone to re-charge the minutes on their Prepaid Phone. They responded that
this was “a difficult question to answer because the distribution models are so
varied and complex.” As the wireless providers themselves distribute their
prepaid cards in bulk to retailers like Wal-Mart, Target, Best Buy, etc. they are the
wholesalers. As well these retailers may also end up “re-selling” these products
to other distributors and wholesalers, we particularly see this possible with Costco
as an example. As such they would be unsure who would be the actual
wholesaler responsible for the collection and payment of the tax.

. Amend the current bill to add % of taxes collected to the industry for
additional costs incurred to collect the Pre-Paid taxes: While the Bill as
written has opposition from the wireless providers, we could offer an amendment
that would allow for some administrative fee support for collecting this tax. As I
understand the system now, no wireless phone can be used without activation by
the wireless carriers. At that time it would seem to me that the tax could be
applied at the time of activation. It would not matter where the phone was
purchased it would be the end user who would have to contact the carrier to have
the phone’s account activated or have minutes added to the account to continue
service. The customer would have to provide the zip code where the phone would
be enabled. If that zip code is in Oregon, then the tax could be applied by the
carriers and remitted to the state.

The carriers make the point that they have no idea where the phone or minutes
card may be sold and have no way of controlling or knowing where the phone or
minutes card will be used. However the carrier’s own spokesperson in a reply
email stated (QUOTE) ““The carrier does not know where the card is sold
until the customer activates the card— by then the money has already
changed hands.” As such the carrier knows exactly where the customer activates
a phone or card and if that location is in the state, then the tax can be applied.

I think the industry will tell you that this will create a significant burden on their
present business model by which if a small percentage of this revenue should be
provided for this additional cost. We have not fully discussed this approach with
the representatives of the industry since we last met but I did give them my
testimony this morning and I suspect they will have a response in their testimony.

The final option is the least desirable but it is an option.



Table the bill and not require a tax on pre-paid wireless. This option essentially
states that if you choose a certain business model for your personal cell phone use, you
are exempt from supporting the Emergency Response system in Oregon. I don’t think

this is the right way to approach this but it is an option to kick this can down the road
another year or two.

I wish I could have come to you today with a solution that not only works with respect to
the complexity of the tax collection system in Oregon but also worked with the industry,
but at this stage we are not able to provide that outcome. I would ask that the committee
give us some direction on how you would like us to proceed, once you have had the
opportunity to listen to the other interested parties. I think there is a way to tackle this
issue and find a workable solution, but we do not have that for you today.

At the end of the day, this is about equity for all users to help sustain the 911 emergency
systems. With more and more Oregonians selecting this business model for their cell
phone use, it is simply unfair for select group of users to not comply with the legislative
intent that phone users will help support this system.

Co-Chairs, this concludes my testimony.



