Enrolled

Senate Concurrent Resolution 5

Sponsored by Senator ATKINSON; Senators BATES, STARR, Representative BUCKLEY (at the request of Jason and Andy Atkinson)

Whereas Gene Landsmann passed away on or about February 22, 2008, not far from Mt. Ashland, the mountain he grew to love; and

Whereas Gene Landsmann was born in Tyrol, Austria, and before coming to the United States was a member of the Austrian "B" National Ski Team; and

Whereas Gene Landsmann came to the United States and was employed at a ski school in Sun Valley, Idaho; and

Whereas Gene Landsmann first saw Mt. Ashland in 1974 from the top of the Green Springs Pass; and

Whereas Gene Landsmann first thought Mt. Ashland was a small mountain and not much of a challenge to an expert skier; and

Whereas Gene Landsmann, after skiing Mt. Ashland, fell in love with the mountain and the City of Ashland; and

Whereas Gene Landsmann was hired in 1974 by the Mt. Ashland Ski School and was the race department director until he became Mt. Ashland's marketing director in 1988; and

Whereas Gene Landsmann earned a degree in geography from Southern Oregon State College in 1980 and took post-graduate courses in geology at the University of Michigan; and

Whereas Gene Landsmann loved to share his vast knowledge of the Siskiyou Mountains and was particularly interested in the exact ages of the glaciations in the Siskiyou Mountains and Mt. Shasta; and

Whereas Gene Landsmann loved to ski race, mountain bike, hike and live his life in the mountains; and

Whereas Gene Landsmann spoke perfect English with a charming Austrian accent; and

Whereas Gene Landsmann was an intelligent and gracious gentleman whose love of skiing endeared him to all skiers at Mt. Ashland; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-fifth Legislative Assembly, mourn the passing of Gene Landsmann and honor his love of Mt. Ashland and his dedication to the skiing community.

Adopted by Senate March 3, 2009

Secretary of Senate

President of Senate

Adopted by House May 26, 2009

Speaker of House