
1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

75th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2009 Regular Session

HOUSE AMENDMENTS TO
A-ENGROSSED SENATE BILL 391

By COMMITTEE ON ENVIRONMENT AND WATER

June 1

On page 1 of the printed A-engrossed bill, delete lines 5 through 25 and insert:

“ SECTION 1. ORS 609.305 is amended to read:

“609.305. As used in ORS 609.305 to 609.335 and 609.992, ‘exotic animal’ means:

“(1) Any member of the family Felidae not indigenous to Oregon, except the species Felis catus

(domestic cat);

“(2) Any nonhuman primate;

“[(3) Any wolf (Canis lupus);]

“[(4)] (3) Any nonwolf member of the family Canidae not indigenous to Oregon, except the spe-

cies Canis familiaris (domestic dog); [and]

“[(5)] (4) Any bear, except the black bear (Ursus americanus); and

“(5) Any member of the order Crocodylia.”.

On page 2, delete lines 14 through 30 and insert:

“ SECTION 4. ORS 609.315 is amended to read:

“609.315. (1) The requirements for a permit in ORS 609.319 and 609.335 [shall] do not apply to

the following:

“[(1)] (a) A wildlife rehabilitation center operated under a valid permit issued by the State Fish

and Wildlife Commission pursuant to ORS 497.308.[; or]

“[(2)] (b) A facility operated under a valid license or research facility registration issued by

the United States Department of Agriculture pursuant to the federal Animal Welfare Act of 1970 (7

U.S.C. 2133 or 2136).

“ (c) An exotic animal protection organization, including humane societies and animal

shelters, incorporated under ORS chapter 65, that houses an exotic animal at the written

request of the state or a state agency for a period not to exceed 30 days.

“(d) A law enforcement agency.

“(e) A licensed veterinary hospital or clinic.

“(f) An educational facility that houses a member of the order Crocodylia pursuant to a

written request of the state, a local government or a state agency stating the need to house

the member of the order Crocodylia at the educational facility.

“(g) A person or organization that takes in an exotic animal in an emergency situation

but that does not otherwise qualify for an exemption under this section. The person or or-

ganization may keep the exotic animal for not more than 48 hours during which time the

person or organization must make a good faith effort to contact a law enforcement agency,

the State Department of Agriculture or a wildlife rehabilitation center described in para-

graph (a) of this subsection.

“(h) A person with a disability as defined in 42 U.S.C. 12102(2)(A) who possesses a service
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monkey if:

“(A) The person presents, at the request of the State Department of Agriculture, written

proof from a medical doctor that the person has a disability and that the service monkey

performs specific tasks for the benefit of the person with the disability;

“(B) The service monkey was obtained from, and trained at, a nonprofit organization

whose mission is to improve the quality of life of persons with disabilities; and

“(C) The person complies with any requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act

relating to service animals.

“(2) As used in subsection (1)(h) of this section, ‘service monkey’ means a nonhuman

primate of the genus Cebus that is trained to perform specific tasks for a person with a

disability.”.

On page 3, line 23, delete “Section 8 of this 2009 Act is” and insert “Sections 8 and 9 of this

2009 Act are”.

After line 34, insert:

“ SECTION 9. The State Department of Agriculture may issue a permit to a person to

keep an exotic animal if:

“(1) The person operated a facility under a valid license or research facility registration

issued by the United States Department of Agriculture pursuant to the federal Animal Wel-

fare Act of 1970 (7 U.S.C. 2133 or 2136);

“(2) The person does not renew the person′s license or registration described in sub-

section (1) of this section;

“(3) The person applies for the permit within 90 days after the renewal date of the license

or registration; and

“(4) The person meets the requirements of rules adopted by the department under ORS

609.335.”.
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