## **House Joint Resolution 8**

Sponsored by Representative OLSON; Representatives BAILEY, BARKER, BARNHART, BARTON, BENTZ, BRUUN, BUCKLEY, CAMERON, CLEM, COWAN, C EDWARDS, ESQUIVEL, FREEMAN, GALIZIO, GARRARD, GELSER, GILLIAM, GILMAN, HANNA, HARKER, HOLVEY, HUFFMAN, HUNT, JENSON, KENNEMER, KOMP, KRIEGER, MAURER, READ, RICHARDSON, ROBLAN, SHIELDS, G SMITH, SPRENGER, THATCHER, THOMPSON, WEIDNER, WHISNANT, WINGARD

## SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor's brief statement of the essential features of the measure **as introduced**.

Declares President Abraham Lincoln as Honorary Territorial Governor for February 12, 2009.

 $\frac{1}{2}$ 

## JOINT RESOLUTION

Whereas Abraham Lincoln embodied the essence of the American spirit by guiding this country

through a period that preserved this nation and planning for peace "with malice toward none andcharity for all"; and

5 Whereas Abraham Lincoln, in 1849, was offered the governorship of the Oregon Territory but 6 declined that honor so that he could pursue his law practice; and

7 Whereas the Oregon Territory consisted of what are now the states of Oregon, Idaho, Montana 8 and Washington; and

9 Whereas Abraham Lincoln, although declining the position of Territorial Governor, did become
10 the 16th President of the United States; and

11 Whereas President Abraham Lincoln contributed to the development of Oregon by his support

12 for the Homestead Act, the development of land-grant colleges and the launching of the Transcon-13 tinental Railroad; and

Whereas the Legislative Assembly wishes to honor President Abraham Lincoln on the 200th anniversary of his birth and to bestow upon him the honor he declined to accept in 1849; now, therefore,

17 Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That the Seventy-fifth Legislative Assembly declares President Abraham Lincoln as Honorary
 Territorial Governor for February 12, 2009.

20