SENATE AMENDMENTS TO B-ENGROSSED HOUSE BILL 3004 (INCLUDING AMENDMENTS TO RESOLVE CONFLICTS)

By COMMITTEE ON RULES

June 22

1 On <u>page 1</u> of the printed B-engrossed bill, line 3, after "88.070" insert "and section 6, chapter 2 _____, Oregon Laws 2009 (Enrolled Senate Bill 952); repealing section 1, chapter ____, Oregon Laws 3 2009 (Enrolled Senate Bill 952)".

4 On <u>page 3</u>, after line 1, insert:

5 "<u>SECTION 1a.</u> If Senate Bill 952 becomes law, section 1, chapter ___, Oregon Laws 2009
6 (Enrolled Senate Bill 952) (amending ORS 86.755), is repealed and ORS 86.755, as amended by
7 section 1 of this 2009 Act, is amended to read:

"86.755. (1) The trustee shall hold the trustee's sale on the date and at the time and place des-8 ignated in the notice of sale[.], which must be at a designated time after 9 a.m. and before 4 9 p.m., based on the standard of time set forth in ORS 187.110 and at a designated place in the 10 county or one of the counties where the property is situated. The trustee may sell the property 11 in one parcel or in separate parcels and shall sell the parcel or parcels at auction to the highest 12 bidder for cash. Any person, including the beneficiary under the trust deed, but excluding the trus-13 tee, may bid at the trustee's sale. The attorney for the trustee, or an agent that the trustee or the 14 attorney designates, may conduct the sale and act in the sale as the trustee's auctioneer. 15

"(2) The trustee or the attorney for the trustee, or an agent that the trustee or the attorney conducting the sale designates, may postpone the sale for one or more periods totaling not more than 180 days from the original sale date, giving notice of each adjournment by public proclamation made at the time and place set for sale. The trustee, the attorney or an agent that the trustee or the attorney designates may make the proclamation.

"(3) The purchaser shall pay at the time of sale the price bid, and, within 10 days following payment, the trustee shall execute and deliver the trustee's deed to the purchaser.

23 "(4) The trustee's deed shall convey to the purchaser the interest in the property that the 24 grantor had, or had the power to convey, at the time the grantor executed the trust deed, together 25 with any interest the grantor or the grantor's successors in interest acquire after the execution of 26 the trust deed.

"(5)(a) The purchaser at the trustee's sale [shall be] is entitled to possession of the property on 2728 the 10th day [following] after the sale[, and any persons remaining]. A person that remains in 29 possession after [that] the 10th day under any interest, except [one] an interest prior to the trust deed or an interest the grantor or a successor of the grantor created voluntarily [by the grantor 30 31or a successor of the grantor, shall be deemed to be tenants] is a tenant at sufferance. The purchaser 32may obtain possession of the property from a tenant at sufferance by following the procedures set forth in ORS 105.105 to 105.168 or other applicable judicial procedure. [All persons 33 not holding under an interest prior to the trust deed may be removed from possession by following the 34

1 procedures set out in ORS 105.105 to 105.168 or other applicable judicial procedure, provided that a

2 person holding under an interest created voluntarily by the grantor or a successor of the grantor must

3 first receive 30 days' written notice of the intent to remove that person served no earlier than 30 days

4 before the date first set for the sale. Notices under this subsection shall be served by first class mail.

5 'First class mail' for purposes of this section does not include certified or registered mail, or any other

6 form of mail which may delay or hinder actual delivery of mail to the addressee.]

6 "(b) Except as provided in paragraph (c) of this subsection, at any time after the trus-8 tee's sale the purchaser may follow the procedures set forth in ORS 105.105 to 105.168 or 9 other applicable judicial procedure to obtain possession of the property from a person that 10 holds possession under an interest that the grantor or a successor of the grantor created 11 voluntarily if, not earlier than 30 days before the date first set for the sale, the person was 12 served with not less than 30 days' written notice of the requirement to surrender or deliver 13 possession of the property.

"(c) If the property purchased at the trustee's sale is a dwelling unit, as defined in ORS 14 1590.100 (9), that the person holds under a tenancy that the grantor or a successor of the 16 grantor created voluntarily and in good faith, the purchaser may follow the procedures set forth in ORS 105.105 to 105.168 or other applicable judicial procedure to obtain possession if 1718 after the sale the purchaser terminates the tenancy in a written notice given to the person: 19 "(A) At least 60 days before the termination date specified in the notice, if the tenancy 20is a fixed term tenancy, as defined in ORS 90.100, and at least 30 days before the date first 21set for the trustee's sale the person provided the trustee with a copy of the rental agreement 22that established the fixed term tenancy. The provisions of this subparagraph do not apply to 23a purchaser that does not intend to terminate a fixed term tenancy before the date on which the fixed term tenancy ends. 24

25

"(B) At least 30 days before the termination date specified in the notice, if:

"(i) The tenancy is a month-to-month tenancy or week-to-week tenancy, as those terms are defined in ORS 90.100, and at least 30 days before the date first set for the trustee's sale the person provided the trustee with a copy of the rental agreement that established the tenancy or with other written evidence of the existence of a rental agreement, if the person cannot provide the rental agreement; or

"(ii) The tenancy is a fixed term tenancy for which the person has provided notice to the trustee as provided in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and the purchaser intends to occupy the property that is subject to the fixed term tenancy as the purchaser's primary residence.

"(d) A purchaser may not commence a proceeding under ORS 105.105 to 105.168 that is
 authorized under this subsection before the later of:

37

"(A) The 10th day after the trustee's sale;

38 "(B) The date specified in a written notice of the requirement to surrender or deliver 39 possession of the property if the notice is required by and is given to the person in accord-40 ance with paragraph (b) of this subsection;

41 "(C) The date specified in a written notice of the purchaser's intent to terminate a
42 tenancy if the notice is required by and is given to the person in accordance with paragraph
43 (c) of this subsection; or

44 "(D) The date on which the term of a fixed term tenancy ends, if the property is a 45 dwelling unit and the purchaser has not terminated the tenancy in accordance with para1 graph (c) of this subsection.

2 "(e) For the purposes of this subsection:

"(A) A month-to-month tenancy or a week-to-week tenancy that a grantor or a successor
of the grantor first created after a notice of sale was served under ORS 86.750 is presumed
not to be a tenancy created in good faith.

6 "(B) A fixed term tenancy that a grantor or a successor of the grantor created after a 7 notice of sale was served under ORS 86.750 is not a tenancy created in good faith.

8 "(6) A purchaser shall serve a notice under subsection (5) of this section by first class 9 mail and not by certified or registered mail or a form of mail that may delay or hinder actual 10 delivery of mail to the addressee. The notice is effective three days after the notice is mailed. 11 "(7)(a) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (5)(c) of this section and except as

provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection, the purchaser is not a landlord subject to the
 provisions of ORS chapter 90 unless the purchaser:

"(A) Accepts rent from the person who possesses the property under a tenancy described
 in subsection (5)(c) of this section;

16 "(B) Enters into a new rental agreement with the person who possesses the property 17 under a tenancy described in subsection (5)(c) of this section; or

"(C) Fails to terminate the tenancy as provided in subsection (5)(c) of this section within
30 days after the date of the sale.

"(b) The purchaser may act as a landlord for purposes of terminating a tenancy in ac cordance with the provisions of ORS 90.396.

"(8)(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection, the purchaser is not liable
to the person who possesses the property under a tenancy described in subsection (5)(c) of
this section for:

25 "(A) Damage to the property or diminution in rental value; or

26 "(B) Returning a security deposit.

27 "(b) A purchaser that is a landlord under the provisions of subsection (7)(a) of this sec-28 tion is liable to the person who possesses the property under a tenancy described in sub-29 section (5)(c) of this section for:

"(A) Damage to the property or diminution in rental value that occurs after the date of
 the trustee's sale; or

32

"(B) Returning a security deposit the person pays after the date of the trustee's sale.

"[(6)(a)] (9)(a) Notwithstanding subsection (2) of this section, except when a beneficiary has participated in obtaining a stay, foreclosure proceedings that are stayed by order of the court, by proceedings in bankruptcy or for any other lawful reason shall, after release from the stay, continue as if uninterrupted, if within 30 days after release the trustee sends amended notice of sale by registered or certified mail to the last-known address of the persons listed in ORS 86.740 and 86.750 (1).

38 "(b) In addition to the notice required under paragraph (a) of this subsection, the trustee shall 39 send amended notice of sale:

40 "(A) By registered or certified mail to:

41 "(i) The address provided by each person who was present at the time and place set for the sale42 that was stayed; and

43 "(ii) The address provided by each member of the Oregon State Bar who by registered or certi-44 fied mail requests the amended notice of sale and includes with the request the notice of default or 45 an identification number for the trustee's sale that would assist the trustee in identifying the prop1 erty subject to the trustee's sale and a self-addressed, stamped envelope measuring at least 8.5 by

2 11 inches in size; or

3 "(B) By posting a true copy or a link to a true copy of the amended notice of sale on the trus-4 tee's Internet website.

5 "[(7)] (10) The amended notice of sale must:

6 "(a) Be given at least 20 days prior to the amended date of sale;

"(b) Set an amended date of sale that may be the same as the original sale date, or date to which
the sale was postponed, provided the requirements of this subsection and ORS 86.740 and 86.750 are
satisfied;

10 "(c) Specify the time and place for sale;

11 "(d) Conform to the requirements of ORS 86.745; and

12 "(e) State that the original sale proceedings were stayed and the date the stay terminated.

13"[(8)] (11) If the publication of the notice of sale was not completed before the date the fore-14 closure proceedings were stayed by order of the court, by proceedings in bankruptcy or for any 15other lawful reason, after release from the stay, in addition to complying with the provisions of 16 subsections [(6) and (7)] (9) and (10) of this section, the trustee shall complete the publication by 17 publishing an amended notice of sale that states that the notice has been amended following release 18 from the stay and that contains the amended date of sale. The amended notice must be published in 19 a newspaper of general circulation in each of the counties in which the property is situated once 20a week for four successive weeks, except that the required number of publications must be reduced 21by the number of publications that were completed before the effective date of the stay. The last 22publication must be made more than 20 days before the date the trustee conducts the sale.

"<u>SECTION 1b.</u> If Senate Bill 952 becomes law, section 6, chapter ____, Oregon Laws 2009 (En rolled Senate Bill 952), is amended to read:

"Sec. 6. Section 4, chapter ___, Oregon Laws 2009 (Enrolled Senate Bill 952), [of this 2009
Act and] the amendments to ORS 86.745 [and 86.755 by sections 1 and 2 of this 2009 Act] by section
2, chapter ___, Oregon Laws 2009 (Enrolled Senate Bill 952), and the amendments to ORS
86.755 by section 1a of this 2009 Act apply to notices given under ORS 86.740 on or after the effective date of chapter ___, Oregon Laws 2009 (Enrolled Senate Bill 952), [this 2009 Act] and to
proceedings or actions under ORS 105.105 to 105.168 that begin on or after the effective date of
chapter ___, Oregon Laws 2009 (Enrolled Senate Bill 952), [this 2009 Act].

32 "SECTION 1c. The amendments to ORS 86.755 by section 1a of this 2009 Act become op 33 erative on the effective date of chapter ___, Oregon Laws 2009 (Enrolled Senate Bill 952).".
 34 Delete lines 25 through 31 and insert:

³⁵ "(1) If, under ORS 86.705 to 86.795, a trustee sells property covered by a trust deed, the trustee's ³⁶ sale forecloses and terminates the interest in the property that belongs to a person that received ³⁷ notice of the sale under ORS 86.740 and 86.750 or to a person that claims an interest by, through ³⁸ or under the person that received notice. A person whose interest the trustee's sale foreclosed and ³⁹ terminated may not redeem the property from the purchaser at the trustee's sale. A failure to give ⁴⁰ notice to a person entitled to notice does not affect the validity of the sale as to persons that were ⁴¹ notified.".

42 In line 37, after the semicolon insert "or".

43 Delete lines 38 through 44 and insert:

44 "(b) Any other note, bond or other obligation secured by a residential trust deed for, or mort-45 gage on, the property that was subject to the trustee's sale or the foreclosure when the debt, of 1 which the note, bond or other obligation is evidence:

2 "(A) Was created at the same time as the note, bond or other obligation secured by the fore-3 closed residential trust deed; and

4 "(B) Is owed to the beneficiary in the residential trust deed that was subject to the trustee's sale 5 or the foreclosure.".

6 On page 4, delete lines 16 through 25 and insert:

"SECTION 3. ORS 88.070 is amended to read:

8 "88.070. (1) When real property is sold pursuant to a judgment foreclosing a mortgage and the 9 proceeds of the sale are not adequate to satisfy the amounts secured by the mortgage, all judgment 10 remedies for collection of the unsatisfied amounts expire when the sale is made if:

"[(1)] (a) The mortgage was given to a seller to secure the unpaid balance of the purchase price of real property; or

"[(2)] (b) The mortgage was given after September 13, 1975, to a person other than a seller to secure not more than \$50,000 of the unpaid balance of the purchase price of real property used by the purchaser as the primary or secondary single family residence of the purchaser.

"(2) If a purchaser gives more than one mortgage to a seller or a single lender to finance the purchase of real property that the purchaser uses as the purchaser's primary single family residence and the seller or lender or a subsidiary, affiliate or successor of the seller or lender continues to hold the mortgages at the time of foreclosure, judgment remedies for the collection of unsatisfied amounts that the grantor owes to the seller or lender or the subsidiary, affiliate or successor of the seller or lender on notes secured by the mortgages expire when the real property is sold in accordance with the foreclosure.".

23 In line 26, after "1" insert "of".

24

7