SENATE AMENDMENTS TO RESOLVE CONFLICTS TO A-ENGROSSED HOUSE BILL 2223

By JOINT COMMITTEE ON WAYS AND MEANS

June 26

On page 2 of the printed A-engrossed bill, after line 42, insert: 1 2 "SECTION 2a. If House Bill 2219 becomes law, section 2 of this 2009 Act (amending sec-3 tion 2, chapter 460, Oregon Laws 1995) is repealed and section 2, chapter 460, Oregon Laws 1995, as amended by section 1, chapter 227, Oregon Laws 2001, and section 1, chapter ____, 4 $\mathbf{5}$ Oregon Laws 2009 (Enrolled House Bill 2219), is amended to read: 6 "Sec. 2. Notwithstanding any other provision of the wildlife laws, during the period beginning 7 January 1, 1996, and ending January 2, 2014, the following provisions apply with regard to the issuance and use of landowner preference tags referred to in ORS 496.146 (4): 8 9 "(1) Landowner preference tags shall be issued for the hunting of deer, elk or antelope. 10 "(2) Landowner preference tags may be used only for hunting on the landowner's property. 11 "(3) Landowner preference tags for the hunting of deer or elk may be transferred to any person 12 of the landowner's choosing and shall be used for the taking of antlerless animals except as au-13 thorized by subsection (6) of this section. 14 "(4) Landowner preference tags for the hunting of antelope are not transferable and may not 15be used for the taking of buck antelope. 16 (5) Each landowner preference tag for the hunting of deer or elk may be used to take two 17 antlerless animals before, during or after the hunting season for which the tags are valid for the 18 purpose of alleviating damage that is presently occurring to the landowner's property, in accordance with such rules as the State Fish and Wildlife Commission may adopt. 19 20 "(6) Landowner preference tags for the hunting of deer or elk that are transferred to a person 21of the landowner's choosing who is not a member of the landowner's immediate family may be used 22to take an antlered animal only as follows: 23"(a) If the landowner receives one preference tag, that tag may not be so used. 24 "(b) If the landowner receives two, three or four preference tags, one of those tags may be so 25used. 26"(c) If the landowner receives five, six or seven preference tags, two of those tags may be so 27used. 28"(d) If the landowner receives eight, nine or 10 preference tags, three of those tags may be so 29used. (7) Landowners must pay a \$30 fee to register for participation in the program. 30 31 "(8) Establishes a \$15 fee for landowners to modify the landowner's tag distribution.". On page 21, after line 26, insert: 32"SECTION 49. If House Bill 2219 becomes law, section 48 of this 2009 Act is amended to read: 33 "Sec. 48. Sections 14 and 17 of this 2009 Act and the amendments to ORS 497.022, 497.032, 34 497.102, 497.112, 497.121, 497.124, 497.132, 497.142, 497.151, 497.153, 497.156, 497.258, 506.462, 508.106, 35

508.116, 508.235, 508.285, 508.495, 508.505, 508.550, 508.700, 508.760, 508.762, 508.765, 508.790, 508.793,
508.796, 508.816, 508.822, 508.825, 508.858, 508.864, 508.867, 508.901, 508.907, 508.910, 508.936, 508.941,
508.949, 508.957 and 508.960 and section 2, chapter 460, Oregon Laws 1995, and section 1, chapter
461, Oregon Laws 2003, by sections 1, 2a to 13, 15 and 18 to 46 of this 2009 Act apply to registra tions made, and licenses, permits, tags and transfers applied for, and catch fees paid, on or after the
effective date of this 2009 Act.".

7