MEASURE NUMBER:SB 5514STATUS: A-EngrossedSUBJECT:Department of Consumer and Business Services Fee IncreasesGOVERNMENT UNIT AFFECTED:Department of Consumer and Business ServicesPREPARED BY:Susie JordanREVIEWED BY:DATE:DATE:April 7, 2009

REVENUES:

<u>2009-2011</u>

<u>2011-2013</u>

Department of Consumer and Business Services fees – Other Funds

see comments

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009

GOVERNOR'S BUDGET: This bill is anticipated by the Governor's recommended budget.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT MANDATE: This bill does not affect local governments' service levels or shared revenues sufficient to trigger Section 15, Article XI of the Oregon Constitution.

COMMENTS: The measure ratifies fee increases adopted by administrative rule by the Department of Consumer and Business Services (DCBS) during the 2007 interim and which were approved by the Department of Administrative Services per Oregon Revised Statute 291.055. ORS 291.055(1)(e) requires all new state agency fees or fee increases adopted after July 1 of any odd-numbered year be rescinded on July 1 unless authorized by enabling legislation setting forth the approved fees. This measure provides the enabling legislation necessary to approve the fee increases adopted through Administrative Rule by the DCBS during the 2007-09 interim. The measure is effective on July 1, 2009. The measure modifies fees in the Division of Finance and Corporate Securities' Consumer Finance program in order to fully cover the costs of the program and maintain an appropriate ending balance.

The cumulative revenue fiscal impact of this measure is estimated to be \$111,315 for the 2009-11 and \$114,800 for the 2011-13 biennia. The amount of fee revenue generated by each section of this measure, and by DCBS Division of Finance and Corporate Securities' Consumer Finance program estimated fee revenue is detailed in the table below.

Measure Section	Department of Consumer and Business Services – Division of Finance and Corporate Securities	2009-11 Estimated Fee Revenue	2011-13 Estimated Fee Revenue
§1(1)	Examination or audit hourly rate for mortgage lending, prearranged funeral plans, credit service organizations, collection agencies, consumer finance lenders, debt consolidation agencies, money transmitters and pawnbroker programs (From \$60/hr to \$75/hour)	\$45,473	\$46,230
§1(2)	Consumer finance short-term lender applicant or licensee (From \$520 to \$750)	\$40,434	\$42,274
§1(3)	Consumer finance conventional lender applicant or licensee (From \$520 to \$600)	\$25,408	\$26,296

These fee increases are included in the DCBS' primary budget bill (SB 5514).