## 75th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY - 2009 Regular Session STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY **House Committee on Rules**

House Committee on Rules	
REVENUE: No revenue impact FISCAL: No fiscal impact	
Action:	Be Adopted
Vote:	8 - 0 - 0
Yeas	Berger, Edwards C., Garrard, Gelser, Jenson, Nolan, Read, Roblan
Nay	: 0
Exc.	0
Prepared By:	Jerry Watson, Administrator
Meeting Dates:	2/2

**MEASURE:** 

**CARRIER:** 

HJR 8

**Rep.** Olson

## REV FISC

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: Declares President Abraham Lincoln as Honorary Territorial Governor for February 12, 2009.

## **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

- President Zachary Taylor's offer of Oregon Territorial governorship to Abraham Lincoln in 1849
- Abraham Lincoln's involvement in the development of the Oregon Territory
- Recognition of Abraham Lincoln's contribution to state and nation ٠
- Parallel resolutions introduced in other state legislative bodies

## EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT: No amendment

**BACKGROUND:** In 1849 President Zachary Taylor offered Abraham Lincoln, the then future 16<sup>th</sup> President of the United States, the governorship of the Oregon Territory. Abraham Lincoln declined that honor. Proponents of HJR 8 assert that President Abraham Lincoln contributed to the development of Oregon by his support of the Homestead Act, the development of land-grant colleges, and the launching of the Transcontinental Railroad. Proponents further assert that it is appropriate to honor President Lincoln on the 200<sup>th</sup> anniversary of his birth (1809) by declaring him to be Honorary Territorial Governor for February 12, 2009. The Oregon Territory consisted of what are now the states of Oregon, Idaho, Montana, and Washington. Similar resolutions have been introduced in the legislative bodies of those states.