FISCAL: Fiscal statement issued Action: Do Pass and Be Referred to the Committee on Revenue by prior reference Vote: 7 - 0 - 1 Bailey, Bentz, Boone, Gilliam, Jenson, Smith J., Cannon Yeas: Navs: Exc.: Barnhart Beth Patrino, Administrator **Prepared By: Meeting Dates:** 4/14

REVENUE: Revenue statement issued

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: Increases amusement device tax from \$10 to \$20 to fund the Oregon Youth Conservation Corps (OYCC). Applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010 and to taxes due for amusement devices that begin operating on or after July 1, 2010.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- OYCC programs
- Tax established in 1993 to fund OYCC •

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT: No amendment.

BACKGROUND: ORS 320.005(1) defines an "amusement device" as a video lottery game terminal, including but not limited to any electronic, mechanical-electronic or non-mechanical device that displays a ticket through the use of a video display screen; is available for consumer play upon the payment of consideration; determines winners through the element of chance; and displays possible prizes on the device.

The Oregon Youth Conservation Corps (OYCC) was established by the Legislative Assembly to protect, conserve, rehabilitate and improve the natural, historical and cultural resources of Oregon; and to increase educational, training and employment opportunities for youth, for the purpose of improving work skills, instilling a work ethic and increasing employability. Youth corps members work on projects such as: construction of trails, boat docks, disability access ramps, fences and picnic tables; restoration/preservation of wetlands, stream banks, endangered species and other wildlife habitat, and historical and cultural sites; and plantings, water quality testing, removing nonnative plants and weeds, watershed work, managing nurseries, landscaping, mapping, surveying and recycling and community stewardship projects.

OYCC has a nine-member Advisory Committee, three members appointed by the Governor, three appointed by the Senate President and three appointed by the House Speaker.

MEASURE: CARRIER: