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74th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2007 Regular Session

HOUSE AMENDMENTS TO
HOUSE BILL 2240

By JOINT COMMITTEE ON WAYS AND MEANS
April 13

On page 1 of the printed bill, line 2, after “673.730” insert “; limiting expenditures; and declaring
an emergency”.

Delete lines 4 through 26 and insert:

“SECTION 1. ORS 673.685 is amended to read:

“673.685. (1) [The fees for licenses and registrations issued, renewed, reactivated or otherwise, and
for examinations under ORS 673.605 to 673.740 shall be prescribed byl The State Board of Tax
Practitioners [but shall not exceed the following] shall adopt by rule fees for:

“[(1] (a) [For] Application for examination for a tax consultant's licensel, $70].

“[(2)] (b) [For] Application for examination for a tax preparer's licensel, $40].

“[(3)] (¢) [For] Issuance or renewal of a tax consultant's license[, $75].

“[(4)] (d) [For] Issuance or renewal of a tax preparer's license[, $65].

“[(5)] (e) [For] Issuance or renewal of a tax consultant's inactive license[, $50].

“[(6)] (®) [For] Issuance or renewal of a tax preparer's inactive license[, $35].

“[(7)] (g) [For] Reactivation of a tax consultant's inactive licensel, $75; for] or reactivation of
a tax preparer's inactive license[, $65].

“[(8)]1 (h) [For] Restoration of lapsed licensel, $25].

“[(9)] () [For] Issuance or replacement of a duplicate license[, $10].

“[(10)] G) [For] Issuance of a replacement or duplicate tax consultant certificate[, $15].

“[(11)] (k) [For] Registration or registration renewal for a sole proprietorship, partnership, cor-
poration or other legal entity[, $95].

“[(12)] (L) [For] Issuance or renewal of a combined tax consultant's or tax preparer's license
and registration for a sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation or other legal entity[, $120]. El-
igibility for a combined license shall be determined under rules adopted by the board.

“[(13)] (m) [For] Annual registration of a branch office of a sole proprietorship, partnership,
corporation or other legal entity[, $51.

“(2) The fees established by the State Board of Tax Practitioners under this section are
subject to the prior approval of the Oregon Department of Administrative Services and, if
their adoption occurs between regular sessions of the Legislative Assembly, a report to the
Emergency Board. The fees may not exceed the cost of administering the regulatory program
of the State Board of Tax Practitioners pertaining to the purposes for which the fees are
established, as authorized by the Legislative Assembly within the board's budget, as that
budget may be modified by the Emergency Board.”.

On page 2, delete line 15.

In line 16, delete “(4)” and insert “(3)”.

In line 26, delete “(5)” and insert “(4)”.
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1 In line 28, delete “(6)” and insert “(5)”.

2 In line 32, delete “(7)” and insert “(6)” and delete “(6)” and insert “(5)”.

3 In line 36, delete “(8)” and insert “(7)”.

4 In line 37, delete “(9)” and insert “(8)”.

5 In line 40, delete “(10)” and insert “(9)”.

6 In line 43, delete “(11)” and insert “(10)”.

7 After line 44, insert:

8 “SECTION 3. Notwithstanding any other law limiting expenditures, the limitation on
9 expenditures established by section 1, chapter —_____, Oregon Laws 2007 (Enrolled House
10  Bill 5045), for the biennium beginning July 1, 2007, as the maximum limit for payment of ex-
11  penses from fees, moneys or other revenues, including Miscellaneous Receipts, but excluding
12 lottery funds and federal funds, collected or received by the State Board of Tax Practitioners,
13 is increased by $100,549.

14 “SECTION 4. This 2007 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
15 peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2007 Act takes effect
16 on its passage.”.
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