## SENATE AMENDMENTS TO RESOLVE CONFLICTS TO HOUSE BILL 2075

By COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS, TRANSPORTATION AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT

May 24

On page 1 of the printed bill, line 2, before the period insert "and section 2, chapter 111, Oregon 1  $\mathbf{2}$ Laws 2007 (Enrolled House Bill 2076)". 3 On page 3, after line 13, insert: "SECTION 5. Section 2, chapter 111, Oregon Laws 2007 (Enrolled House Bill 2076), is amended 4  $\mathbf{5}$ to read: 6 "Sec. 2. (1) Notwithstanding ORS 671.570, the State Landscape Contractors Board may issue a 7 probationary landscape contractor license to a person who does not meet the training and experience qualifications set forth in ORS 671.570. To obtain a probationary landscape contractor license, 8 9 the person must: 10 "(a) Pay a nonrefundable application fee; 11 "(b) Pay an examination fee; 12"(c) Pay to the board the landscape [contractor's] contractor license fee required by ORS 13 671.650; and "(d) Pass all sections of the examination described in ORS 671.570 within 12 months after first 14 15taking the examination. "(2) Two or more years after receiving a probationary landscape contractor license, a 16 17 probationary landscape contractor may obtain removal from probationary status and issuance of a 18 landscape [contractor's] contractor license if the probationary landscape contractor presents the 19 board with proof that the probationary landscape contractor has done any of the following: 20 "(a) Completed at least 24 months of employment with a licensed landscaping business under the 21direct supervision of a landscape contractor. (b) Provided supervision described in ORS 671.540 (15) or 671.565 (1)(b) for at least 24 months 22as the owner or employee of a licensed landscaping business that, during that period: 2324 "(A) Filed and maintained with the board a bond, letter of credit or deposit in the amount of 25\$15,000; and 26 "(B) Performed landscaping work only on landscaping projects where the amount charged by the 27landscaping business for work on the project during any 12-month period did not exceed \$15,000. 28(c) Actively operated for at least 24 months as a construction contractor licensed under ORS 29chapter 701. "(3) Except as provided in this section and ORS 671.560 and as the board may provide by rule, 30 31 a probationary landscape contractor licensed under this section is for all purposes a landscape contractor licensed under ORS 671.560. 32"SECTION 6. If House Bill 2076 becomes law, section 4 of this 2007 Act (amending ORS 33 671.570) is repealed and ORS 671.570, as amended by section 4, chapter 111, Oregon Laws 2007 34 35(Enrolled House Bill 2076), is amended to read:

1 "671.570. (1) Each person applying for a landscape [contractor's] contractor license must:

2 "(a) Pay a nonrefundable application fee.

3 "(b) Pay an examination fee.

4 "(c) Pay to the State Landscape Contractors Board the landscape [contractor's] contractor li-5 cense fee required by ORS 671.650.

6 "(d) Pass an examination, which the board shall offer at least once each six months, to deter-7 mine the fitness of the applicant for licensing and within 10 years before the day the application for 8 a license is made:

9 "(A) Have at least 24 months of employment with a [landscape contracting] landscaping busi-10 ness; or

11 "(B) Have at least 12 months of employment with a [landscape contracting] **landscaping** business 12 and one full year of training in an area related to landscaping at an accredited school or college.

13 "(e) Be employed by, or own, a landscaping business if performing landscaping work.

"(2) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this section, the board may adopt rules allowing a person who does not meet the education and experience requirements in subsection (1)(d) of this section to substitute other education and experience that demonstrate the fitness of the person for licensing as a landscape contractor.".

18