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MEASURE NUMBER: HB 2740 STATUS:. B Engrossed
SUBJECT: Creates crime of aggravated vehicular homicide and expands the crime of assault in the
first degree.

GOVERNMENT UNIT AFFECTED: Department of Corrections, Oregon Judicial Department, Public
Defense Services Commission

PREPARED BY: TimWalker

REVIEWED BY: Doug Wilson, Robin LaMonte

DATE: June 18, 2007

2007-2009 2009-2011
EXPENDITURES:
See Comments

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2008
GOVERNOR’SBUDGET: Thishill is not anticipated by the Governor’s recommended budget.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT MANDATE: Thishill does not affect local governments' service levels or
shared revenues sufficient to trigger Section 15, Article X1 of the Oregon Constitution.

COMMENTS: Thishill createsaclass A felony of aggravated vehicular homicide; expands first degree
assault to include serious physical injury caused by person driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII)
if person has certain record; and sets the presumptive sentence for aggravated vehicular homicide at 240
months. It also specifiesthat 15, 16 or 17 year old defendants who commit aggravated vehicular homicide
areto betried in adult criminal court and not juvenile court.

The Crimina Justice Commission anticipates that there will be, on average, one offender per year, based on
Multnomah County District Attorney’ s Office data from 2006. It should be noted that the prison bed
impact will peak in 2028 at $403,997 per year. The Oregon Judicia Department (OJD) and the Public
Defense Services Commission (PDSC) cannot estimate the incremental costs associated with this bill
because of the difficulty of estimating the frequency with which these crime will be cited, the number of
jury trias, and the number of appeals. OJD incurs, on average, costs of $511 per felony case. PDSC
estimates costs for defense of a class A felony to be in excess of $3,000. Thereisno reliable way to tell
how many cases may be brought to tria that would result in one offender per year being sent to prison.
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