MEASURE: CARRIER: SB 879 A Rep. Flores

KEVENUE. NO Tevenue impact		
FISCAL: Minimal fiscal impact, no statement issued		
Action:		Do Pass
Vote:		9 - 0 - 0
	Yeas:	Bonamici, Bruun, Cannon, Flores, Gelser, Kotek, Maurer, Richardson, Greenlick
	Nays:	0
	Exc.:	0
Prepared By:		Sandy Thiele-Cirka, Administrator
Meeting Dates:		5/7, 5/15

**REVENUE:** No revenue impact

**WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:** Requires Pain Management Commission to review pain management component of curriculum of certain education institutions. Eliminates responsibility of commission to develop pain management program for providers. Adds dentists, occupational therapists and physical therapists to list of persons to be considered for membership on the commission. Requires dentists, occupational therapists and physical therapists to complete pain management education program.

## **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

- Ability to adequately administer pain management treatments
- The need to revise the scope of controlled substance prescribers
- Curriculum review and development
- Importance of including all disciplines that participate in multidisciplinary teams
- Background on Pain and Symptom Management Task Force
- · Position of the dentists, occupational therapists and physical therapists
- Commission's support to modify administrative rules to reflect concerns regarding the education requirements

## EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT: No amendment.

**BACKGROUND:** Oregon's Pain Management Program was created by 1999 Legislative Assembly to provide connections to information, support groups and other resources to help people manage chronic pain and to raise awareness about chronic pain issues among health care providers, policy makers and the general public.

The Legislative Assembly created the Pain Management Commission with the passage of Senate Bill 885 (2001) to improve pain management in the state to require physicians, nurses, psychologists, chiropractors, naturopaths, acupuncturists and pharmacists to complete pain management education programs developed by the commission. The commission is comprised of 17 members representing various health care professions and the public, as well as two ex-officio legislators.