MEASURE NUMBER:HB 2153STATUS: B EngrossedSUBJECT:Extends the statute of limitations for certain sex crimes under specific circumstances.GOVERNMENT UNIT AFFECTED:Oregon Judicial Department, Criminal Justice Commission,Department of Justice, Department of Corrections, Public Defense Services CommissionPREPARED BY:Tim WalkerREVIEWED BY:Robin LaMonte and Doug WilsonDATE:June 20, 2007

EXPENDITURES:	<u>2007-2009</u>	<u>2009-2011</u>
See Comments		
REVENUES:	<u>2007-2009</u>	<u>2009-2011</u>

See Comments

EFFECTIVE DATE: On passage

GOVERNOR'S BUDGET: This bill is not anticipated by the Governor's recommended budget.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT MANDATE: This bill does not affect local governments' service levels or shared revenues sufficient to trigger Section 15, Article XI of the Oregon Constitution.

COMMENTS: This measure will extend the statute of limitations, from 12 years to 25 years, on certain sex crimes in which the DNA (deoxyribonucleic acid) has been preserved and its characteristics can be tested. It is not possible to know how many cases this may affect. It may result in increased convictions or resolution of unsolved cases, which in turn, would result in an increase in the need for prison beds. The Public Defense Services Commission (PDSC) anticipates that there would be some increased level of prosecution, but it is not possible to quantify how many additional prosecutions would result from this measure. PDSC incurs defense costs of between \$2,561 for a Measure 11 Class A Felony and \$484 for a Class C Felony. The Criminal Justice Commission indicates that it does not expect an unusual increase in the number of beds needed as a result of this measure. The Department of Justice anticipates a minimal fiscal impact to its Defense of Criminal Convictions unit.