MEASURE: CARRIER:

REVENUE: No revenue impact		
FISCAL: Minimal fiscal impact, no statement issued		
Action:		Do Pass the A-Engrossed Measure
Vote:		5 - 0 - 0
Y	eas:	Kruse, Metsger, Morse, Westlund, Walker
N	ays:	0
Ex	xc.:	0
Prepared By:		Dana Richardson, Administrator
Meeting Dates:		5/1

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: Consolidates Sister State Committees into one Sister State Committee. Provides for consolidated committee membership to plan and coordinate committee duties for sister states other than Fujian Province. Removes requirement for committee to visit sister states biennially. Provides for Fujian Sister State Committee membership and activities. Requires Fujian Sister State Committee to visit Fujian Province biennially.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Need for Lieutenant Governor
- Preparation for visits from sister state committees and importance of exchanging gifts

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT: No amendment.

BACKGROUND: Senate Bill 16 (2001) provided for the establishment of sister state committees to interact in sister state relationships. Oregon currently has sister state relationships with four states: Fujian Province, People's Republic of China (1984); Taiwan Provincial Government, Republic of China (1985); Toyama Prefecture, Japan (1991); and Jeollanam-do Province, Republic of Korea (1996). The Legislative Assembly itself also maintains a sister relationship with Honduras (1991) and the Parliament of the German State of Lower Saxony (1991). Sister state committees are authorized to host visiting delegations from the sister state, participate in delegations to the sister state, provide for the exchange of information, and work jointly on projects.

Currently, there is only one active sister state committee, the Fujian Sister State Committee, comprised of 19 members, including the Senate President and House Speaker as co-chairs. Naming committees for the other sister states would require 57 additional appointments, and would be a significant time imposition on the Speaker and President.