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MEASURE NUMBER: SB 578 STATUS: B Engrossed
SUBJECT: Creates crime of subjecting another person to involuntary servitude.
GOVERNMENT UNIT AFFECTED: Department of Justice, Oregon Judicial Department, Criminal
Justice Commission, Department of Corrections, Public Defense Services Commission
PREPARED BY: Tim Walker
REVIEWED BY: Doug Wilson, Robin LaMonte
DATE: June 16, 2007

2007-2009 2009-2011
EXPENDITURES:
See Comments

EFFECTIVE DATE: On passage.

GOVERNOR’S BUDGET: This bill is not anticipated by the Governor’s recommended budget.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT MANDATE: This bill does not affect local governments' service levels or
shared revenues sufficient to trigger Section 15, Article XI of the Oregon Constitution.

COMMENTS: This bill creates the crime of subjecting another person to involuntary servitude as a
class B and class C felony depending upon the circumstances; allows the victim to seek restitution;
includes involuntary servitude and human trafficking within Oregon’s racketeering statute; and allows a
victim to raise the defense of duress when the victim was forced to commit a crime.

The Criminal Justice Commission (CJC) estimates this bill may result in 5 new cases annually resulting
in 24 month prison sentences and 36 months of post prison supervision in each case. The Department of
Corrections (DOC) estimates a prison bed impact of $163,180 in the 2007-09 biennium and $520,057 in
the 2009-11 biennium. There would also be a post prison supervision cost of $29,401 in 2009-11. DOC
used $79.06 per day to calculate the prison bed impact and $9.31 per day to calculate the post prison
supervision costs. The prison bed impact would peak at $530,000 per biennium in the 2011-13 biennium.

The Oregon Judicial Department (OJD) and the Public Defense Services Commission (PDSC) anticipate
the increased costs to be minimal. The average cost per felony case for OJD is $511 and for PDSC it is
$2,561 for a class B felony and $1,866 for a class C felony. Depending upon how these cases are
charged, it may cost OJD and PDSC an additional $27,000 per biennium.


