MEASURE NUMBER: HB 5052 STATUS: Original SUBJECT: Makes changes to Clinical Nurse Specialist fee schedule. GOVERNMENT UNIT AFFECTED: Oregon Board of Nursing PREPARED BY: Tim Walker REVIEWED BY: Doug Wilson DATE: February 9, 2007

<u>2007-2009</u>

<u>2009-2011</u>

REVENUES: See Comments

EFFECTIVE DATE: On passage.

GOVERNOR'S BUDGET: This bill is anticipated by the Governor's recommended budget.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT MANDATE: This bill does not affect local governments' service levels or shared revenues sufficient to trigger Section 15, Article XI of the Oregon Constitution.

COMMENTS: This bill changes the fee structure for Certified Nursing Specialists and seeks ratification of changes made administratively during the 05-07 biennium. The 2005 Legislature enacted SB 460 which allowed Clinical Nurse Specialists (CNS) to prescribe medications. Fees were reduced for initial certification and renewal of CNS certification in order to keep fees more equitable with other advanced practice license types. The initial prescriptive authority application and renewal of prescriptive authority were set at the same level as Nurse Practitioners with the same authority. Below is a table that outlines the specific changes and the revenue effect for each change.

	Applications/Biennium	Current Fee	Proposed Fee	Net Change	Revenue Change
Initial Clinical Nurse Specialist Certification	48	\$200	\$150	(\$50)	(\$2,400)
Renewal of Certification without Prescriptive Authority	91	\$100	\$75	(\$25)	(\$2,275)
Renewal of Certification with Prescriptive Authority	91	\$100	\$105	\$5	\$455
Initial Clinical Nurse Specialist Prescriptive Authority					
Application	24	\$0	\$75	\$75	\$1,800
Net change to Revenues 2007-					
09					(\$2,420)